We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenience to hospital only good thing” 2 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS InnTowner & the Highland Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS InnTowner & the Highland Club to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS InnTowner & the Highland Club
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2424 University Ave., Madison, WI 53705   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #12 of 63 Hotels in Madison
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Convenience to hospital only good thing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2010

Average mid priced hotel at best. close to UW hospital complex but you would come out ahead by staying a few miles away in an equal or better hotel that would serve you breakfast.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    99
    44
    17
    15
See reviews for
111
40
21
128
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Upper Midwest
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2010

I made the reservation for my recent stay with some concern, given the mixed reviews here.

I decided to stay at this Best Western because it is very close to the UW medical center and campus. My hotel stay was just fine. The staff was helpful, and contrary to review, the shuttle service was on-time and no hassle.

My room was a little small, dated and a little worn. But, the room was clean and smelled fine and the towels were thick and fluffy. The WiFi was free, but a little slow.

Overall, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2010

No real complaint about the room itself, but the advertised airport shuttle is a joke. On a non-football Friday I arrived the airport at 10:33 and when I called for a shuttle I was told it was booked until noon. I took a taxi ($21 including tip). Likewise the wait for the shuttle to campus was longer than the walk (30 minutes).

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BLBCHRM, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS InnTowner & the Highland Club, responded to this review, December 17, 2010
Our shuttle service is an amenity that we offer all of our guests at the hotel. Unfortunately there may be times when it is already booked and you wanted to use it. We ask our guests to sign up ahead of time to reserve the shuttle so that they will not have to wait an extended period. We are sorry that you ended up waiting 30 minutes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pompano Beach, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2010

I rented a handicapped room, which turned out to be a regular room with a handle next to the toilet. I asked for a new room, and that at least had a walk-in shower. The toilet was regular height so I asked for a "riser." They couldn't find one but, but they refused to reimburse me for one that I would purchase. Their solution is that there was no solution. Bed was worn out. Just an unfriendly , uncomfortable place.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2010

got the room with discount bid at half price that made the older standard room a better deal. Our Room was average size and very clean. The pool was one of the cleanest I have ever seen at a hotel , very nice. The location was great with 4 nice small restaruants within a half block. We stayed mid week in June with a quarter full hotel. Things might change with a full motel full of college football fans..... overall a good experience and would stay again. Madison is a neat town with lots to do and see.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2009

I was very dissappointed with the Inntowner. Upon check-in, it was immediately clear that this hotel does not value its customers. The rate was okay--probably a little too expensive, but I've always liked staying at Best Westerns in the past and I thought I was paying for certainty. I was wrong. The rooms were not very clean and the service from the front desk was horrible. There are plenty of hotels in proximity to the University. There is no need to stay at this one.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green bay
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2009

What a great place, we payed extra to stay at the Highland Club well worth it to use. We had free drinks and food. BUT the bed and pillows were to die for. Where do I get one !!!
STAY ON THE FORTH FLOOR . PAY EXTRA JUST FOR THE BED.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS InnTowner & the Highland Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS InnTowner & the Highland Club

Address: 2424 University Ave., Madison, WI 53705
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in Madison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS InnTowner & the Highland Club 3*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This downtown Madison hotel has the ideal location and extra amenities for business and leisure travelers as well as for groups and meeting planners. The BEST WESTERN PLUS InnTowner hotel is in the heart of Madison's picturesque west University of Wisconsin campus area and is located two blocks from the UW Hospital and Clinics, one mile from Camp Randall Stadium, one mile from the Wisconsin Institute of Discovery and close to shopping, local restaurants and the Capitol Square and State St. Amenities include the downtown areas only hot free breakfast buffet for all registered guests; free shuttle service to the airport, campus area, hospital, Monona Terrace Convention Center, Alliant Energy Center and shopping and restaurants within a two mile radius of the hotel; free high speed wireless Internet; a 24/7 Business Center; a 24/7 Grab 'n Go Market; indoor pool, whirlpool and fitness area; restaurant and lounge; cable television with 72 channel choices, and free HBO. For discriminating travelers, the hotel offers a private, key access executive level--The Highland Club--with upgraded amenities including free beverages and appetizers in the evening and two freshly baked homemade signature chocolate chip cookies at turndown service. For guests looking for meeting or banquet space, the InnTowner offers 9 meeting room configurations in 6200 sq. ft of space and on-site catering services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS InnTowner & the Highland Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Inntowner And The Highland Club Hotel Madison
Best Western Madison
Madison Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS InnTowner & the Highland Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.