We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Normal Hotel, Good Staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS InnTowner & the Highland Club

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS InnTowner & the Highland Club to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS InnTowner & the Highland Club
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2424 University Ave., Madison, WI 53705   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #16 of 63 Hotels in Madison
United States
1 review
“Normal Hotel, Good Staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

This hotel was your standard hotel. Simple decor (not a bad thing), showing its age and use a little, and comfortable for a night. It had all of the basic things you need for a business stay. I had no problems. So all in all the place would be pretty unmemorable (not a bad thing for a business stay hotel), but for the staff. They were busy, had a few large groups staying, and things seemed a little hectic (several events were going on at the University). However they always made the effort to be professional, courteous and kind. They were not overly friendly and chatty, which I find to be a good thing. They did their jobs as efficiently as possible so that I could get on with my stay. So I appreciated the fact that they did their jobs well.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick U, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS InnTowner & the Highland Club, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
Steven W,

We're glad your visit was a success. It has certainly been an unexpectedly busy July for our area, but that is all part of what we enjoy about our industry. While we're always ready to rattle of 20 must-visit restaurants and a dozen different ways to spend an afternoon, as a business traveler myself, some days you just need room keys and a bed to sleep in. Just this evening we were already beginning to train additional team members to help maintain an efficient experience at our desk - I'm excited to get them on the front lines and I already know they'll be great assets to our team.

Sincerely,

-Nick U
Front Office Manager
Best Western PLUS InnTowner and the Highland Club
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    89
    44
    16
    15
See reviews for
103
36
20
116
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

This is an excellent Best Western Plus. I thoroughly enjoyed staying there. The breakfast was very good, the room was great, and the on site restaurant had an outstanding chef. i definitely recommend staying here if you are in the Madison, Wisconsin area.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick U, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS InnTowner & the Highland Club, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
552rebertab,

Thank you very much for the review and recommendation! We'll be happy to see you again the next time you are in the area!

Be Well,

-Nick U
Front Office Manager
Best Western PLUS InnTowner and the Highland Club
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burton, Ohio
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

I love it here at this Best Western! I arrived this past Sunday evening and will be departing on Friday. It has been a great place to stay. My room, a standard King, is beautiful, roomy and clean. My bed is super comfortable and I have slept well. With a refrigerator, Keurig Coffee Maker, Hair Dryer, Iron and big flat screen TV and free Wi-Fi, it has been a wonderful experience. Each day, when I return from a long day of class, I am welcomed with bottles of water and fresh chocolate chip cookies in my room. There is also a pool, onsite restaurant (which provides guests with a hot breakfast buffet each morning) and a small fitness center.

Another great extra is the complimentary shuttle that takes me to class at 7:15 each morning and I can call anytime up to 10:45 in the evening to take me anywhere or bring me back. (It is nice to leave a tip for the courteous drivers.) I haven't had to use my car since I have been here, and have not had to pay anything to keep it parked in the lot.

I would recommend this hotel at any time! I would definitely book another stay here! Thank you for being such a great place to stay. My business trip has been a pleasant trip.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick U, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS InnTowner & the Highland Club, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
Susan F,

I'm glad you enjoyed your stay! Truth be told, I don't think I could have written a better listing of our hotel's offerings! As a note for other travelers: it looks you received an upgrade to one of our Highland Club rooms which always receive turn-down service with cookies and water - we do this from time-to-time for longer stays, based on our availability - but all of our rooms have the same great features that you mentioned (except for cookies and water) - Keurig's, 42" flat screens, hair-dryers, wi-fi, etc. We would be honored to have you join us again when you are back in Madison!

Thank You,

-Nick U
Front Office Manager
Best Western PLUS InnTowner and the Highland Club
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
INDIANAPOLIS
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

very good stay , staff was extremely polite room was clean bed was comfortable, breakfast was good. waitress did not speak good English so was hard to order dinner. little far from main interstate but overall very nice.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick U, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS InnTowner & the Highland Club, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Ron S,

We appreciate you taking the time to leave us a review! Clean, comfortable rooms are our top priority here at the InnTowner. I do agree, we are a ways off of the interstate - we regard ourselves as a downtown area hotel in Madison, but I'm glad that the extra distance was worth it! We'll be happy to have you as our guest again when you are in the Madison area again.

Safe Travels,

-Nick U
Front Office Manager
Best Western PLUS InnTowner and the Highland Club
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

I have stayed at this hotel several times because it is near the University of Wisconsin Hospital and am very satisfied overall. There have been some recent changes and upgrades. The new beds are super high, which is good for tall people but I can barely get onto the bed. On a trip with my mother we asked for a stepstool so she could each the bed. After a long wait, we got a plastic crate. Not very elegant but it worked. I usually like to use the swimming pool/hot tub. The pool is nice but on the small side, so if there is a family splashing around I do not use it. The fitness center is very small and I have never used it. The hot tub could be hotter. The restaurant serves standard fare, but is very convenient. The breakfast buffet offers a good selection of foods, including pancakes, eggs, sausage, fruit, cereal and more. There is shuttle service offered and I have been very satisfied with the courtesy and quick service. I have only used the shuttle to the hospital, but they do travel to other locations within a certain radius.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick U, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS InnTowner & the Highland Club, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Christinen436,

Thank you for the review. The height of our beds was unforseen when we replaced the mattresses a few months ago. We have procured some more "elegant" step stools (we are continuing to look at options for replacing the frames with something shorter) that our guests may use on request. I am glad you enjoyed the breakfast - it is one of my favorite parts of our hotel. Thank you for being our guest!

Best Regards,

-Nick U
Front Office Manager
Best Western PLUS InnTowner and the Highland Club
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Let me begin with saying Leketta a member of the staff working in the breakfast room is real asset to this hotel. She greets you by name and with smile, a very pleasant beginning to one's day. This is one of the nicest Best Westerns I have ever stayed in and being a Best Western Rewards member, I've stayed in quite a few. The staff is excellent and always helpful and they give their assistance with smile. They have a shuttle service that is on par with 4 and 5 star hotels. My wife and were involved in a motorcycle accident and after I was discharged from the hospital, I checked in here while my wife was still in the hospital (wife checked in after her discharge). The location is perfect, 3 minutes away from the UW hospital. The rooms are comfy and spacious, free wifi, and nice Business center, comfy beds. This is just a great place to stay regardless of ones circumstances. If ever I return to Madison, I will stay here.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick U, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS InnTowner & the Highland Club, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Paul W,

I can't thank you enough for your kind words. This was passed along to Leketta the day it was written and she was quite flattered! Our shuttle service is second-to-none in the downtown Madison area and we are very proud of the service we provide. We'll be ready to welcome you the next time you're in Madison.

Safe Travels,

-Nick U
Front Office Manager
Best Western PLUS InnTowner and the Highland Club
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RapidCity SD, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

if an event is there, the parking is terrible especially if one arrives later in the evening!!! The rooms need updating and lightening up the decor!! If you are there for a UW event, the location is fantastic.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kris L, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS InnTowner & the Highland Club, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review The Best Western InnTowner on TripAdvisor! We have one parking spot for every room, however, we did have our containers for the remodel taking up several spaces when you stayed with us. We hope you return to enjoy the renovated rooms the next time you visit Madison. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS InnTowner & the Highland Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS InnTowner & the Highland Club

Address: 2424 University Ave., Madison, WI 53705
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in Madison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS InnTowner & the Highland Club 3*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This downtown Madison hotel has the ideal location and extra amenities for business and leisure travelers as well as for groups and meeting planners. The BEST WESTERN PLUS InnTowner hotel is in the heart of Madison's picturesque west University of Wisconsin campus area and is located two blocks from the UW Hospital and Clinics, one mile from Camp Randall Stadium, one mile from the Wisconsin Institute of Discovery and close to shopping, local restaurants and the Capitol Square and State St. Amenities include the downtown areas only hot free breakfast buffet for all registered guests; free shuttle service to the airport, campus area, hospital, Monona Terrace Convention Center, Alliant Energy Center and shopping and restaurants within a two mile radius of the hotel; free high speed wireless Internet; a 24/7 Business Center; a 24/7 Grab 'n Go Market; indoor pool, whirlpool and fitness area; restaurant and lounge; cable television with 72 channel choices, and free HBO. For discriminating travelers, the hotel offers a private, key access executive level--The Highland Club--with upgraded amenities including free beverages and appetizers in the evening and two freshly baked homemade signature chocolate chip cookies at turndown service. For guests looking for meeting or banquet space, the InnTowner offers 9 meeting room configurations in 6200 sq. ft of space and on-site catering services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS InnTowner & the Highland Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Inntowner And The Highland Club Hotel Madison
Best Western Madison
Madison Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS InnTowner & the Highland Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.