We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay (once again!)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS InnTowner & the Highland Club

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS InnTowner & the Highland Club to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
BEST WESTERN PLUS InnTowner & the Highland Club
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2424 University Ave., Madison, WI 53705   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn a $50 Gift Card
Ranked #26 of 62 hotels in Madison
Roseville, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Excellent stay (once again!)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

We love staying here for Badger games! The lobby is Badger-decorated, top to bottom, and staff is so festive and excited about game day! For us, it's part of an overall great Badger weekend! Love the free shuttle service to/from Camp Randall. Can't imagine staying anywhere else on a game weekend.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belmont2424, Media and Marketing Coordinator at BEST WESTERN PLUS InnTowner & the Highland Club, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Dear Sactomom,

Thanks again for staying with us and posting on Trip Advisor. We love, love, LOVE having our Badger Regulars here with us! As our lobby might have suggested subtly, we are big Badger fans here and are delighted to provide accommodations and shuttles for the fans!

Thanks again and we'll see you next season! Go Bucky!

J. Belmont
BEST WESTERN PLUS InnTowner and the Highland Club
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    91
    51
    30
    15
    12
See reviews for
61
24
13
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Shakopee, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

The free shuttle service and breakfast at this property really add to the value of the hotel. They will take you and pick you up within 2 miles of the hotel. So if coming in for a Badger game, it makes great sense to stay here for the free parking, plus the convenience of the shuttle. The lobby of the hotel is current, however the hotel room decor could be updated.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belmont2424, Media and Marketing Coordinator at BEST WESTERN PLUS InnTowner & the Highland Club, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Dear Nancy,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such kind words about us on Trip Advisor. We have a special place in our hearts for our fellow Badger Fans.

Next season, expect a whole new type of room. We're renovating this February, but we're keeping the breakfast and shuttle, so we really hope to see you next season! :)

Thank you again and Go Badgers!

J. Belmont
BEST WESTERN PLUS InnTowner and the Highland Club
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonduel, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

A few minor details messed up what could have been a nice stay. In-room wifi was unusable. It wouldn't stay connected and for the brief periods it would connect it was too slow to do anything but check email. Couldn't get either my smart phone or laptop to work in my room. The computers in the business center worked fine but I'd rather work from my room. I didn't notice until I got into the shower that we were given 2 containers of conditioner but no shampoo. Didn't have time to screw around asking for shampoo and I didn't have any with me. Ended up having to wash my hair with hand soap. There was a funky sliding bracket that held the shower head to the wall. Bumped it with my elbow and the whole thing fell off the wall. The parts landed in the shower so I was able to put the thing back together and finish my shower. Made sure not to bump it again. Breakfast buffet could have been great. Much nicer selection of food than most continental breakfasts. Too bad both types of potato offered were not just tepid but cold. None of the other hot foods were really hot but at least were acceptably warm. On the plus side, parking was easy. Shuttle to nearby UW Hospital was great. The hotel is generally a bit long in tooth but clean and in very good condition. I understand that they are going to be doing some major renovation in early 2014. All of the staff we encountered were friendly, helpful and efficient. Overall this hotel is a good value especially considering the location.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belmont2424, Media and Marketing Coordinator at BEST WESTERN PLUS InnTowner & the Highland Club, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Dear Marty,

Thank you for taking the time to register such a detailed review. Its only with feedback such as this that we can hope to continue improving our property and our service for you and all of our guests.

On behalf of the entire team, I want to apologize for not exceeding your expectations during your stay. We understand that the inconveniences that you experienced must have been exceptionally frustrating (especially the shower situation) and we are mortified that any of our guests would have to endure that. We're glad that you enjoyed other aspects of your stay, but again we apologize that it wasn't perfect.

We do hope that you will give us another chance, especially after the upcoming renovation in February. Please don't hesitate to contact our General Manager, Joe Baldowin, prior to your return, so we can make sure to really wow you next time.

Thank you again for staying and for your time in review us.

Sincerely,

J. Belmont
BEST WESTERN PLUS InnTowner and the Highland Club
608.233.8778
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

I stayed 3 weeks at this hotel and enjoyed the Highland Club, The customer service was immaculate and hard to beat. If you stay at this hotel get a highland club room and enjoy the highland club, it is worth the premium price. The employees had excellent attitudes and were happy to help and make my stay enjoyable.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belmont2424, Media and Marketing Coordinator at BEST WESTERN PLUS InnTowner & the Highland Club, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a Trip Advisor review. We love getting to know all of our long term guests and we are ecstatic to know that we could make your long stay a pleasant one.

Please don't hesitate to contact us the next time you're in Madison!

Sincerely,

J. Belmont
BEST WESTERN PLUS InnTowner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

The hotel amenities were great. I was in Madison to run the Madison Marathon and this hotel refused to allow a late check out. I would love to be an elite athlete and finish a marathon in under 3 hours, however, when the marathon doesn't start until 8am and the average runner finishes in over 4 hours... the chances of taking a shower without a late check out are zero. Every other hotel I have stayed at in WI after running a marathon has allowed a late check out so the runners could take a shower before heading home.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belmont2424, Media and Marketing Coordinator at BEST WESTERN PLUS InnTowner & the Highland Club, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear Debbie H,

Thank you for completing a TripAdvisor Review regarding your recent stay at our property.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.

I also would like to apologize for the issues that arose regarding your reservations' confirmation and cancellations and check out. We always strive to make every guests' experience, from the minute they make the reservation to after they have left the hotel as comfortable and care-free as possible, and I regret that this did not happen for you on your recent visit for the Marathon.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

If we can provide any assistance, please don't hesitate to contact our General Manager, Joe Baldowin, directly at 608-233-8778 x 533


Sincerely,

J. Belmont
Media and Marketing Coordinator
BEST WESTERN PLUS InnTowner & the Highland Club
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alton, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

The hotel was centrally located in the city close to everything. The hotel staff was top notch! Great hotel for the price! I would recommend this hotel to others, in addition to staying again myself, if I am in the area.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belmont2424, Media and Marketing Coordinator at BEST WESTERN PLUS InnTowner & the Highland Club, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Courtney,

Thank you so much for taking the time to say such kind things on Trip Advisor. We are overjoyed that you enjoyed your stay and shared that with the world.

Please let us know if there is anything we can do, and we look forward to your return trip to Madison!

J. Belmont
BEST WESTERN PLUS InnTowner and the Highland CLub
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Had a great stay at the hotel and it is close to the hospital. Breakfast was very delicious and plentiful. The bed was extremely comfortable as were the pillows. Staff was extremely accommodating too. I asked for a good restaurant nearby as well for lunch and they recommended the Blue Moon which was incredible for their burgers.

Stayed October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belmont2424, Media and Marketing Coordinator at BEST WESTERN PLUS InnTowner & the Highland Club, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Dear Jeff,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a glowing review. We are ecstatic that you enjoyed your stay. We too are huge fans of the Blue Moon Burgers.

Thank you for staying and we hope to see you on your return trip to Madison.

J. Belmont
BEST WESTERN PLUS InnTowner and the Highland Club
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS InnTowner & the Highland Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS InnTowner & the Highland Club

Also Known As:
Best Western Inntowner And The Highland Club Hotel
Best Western Inntowner And The Highland Club Hotel Madison
Best Western Madison
Madison Best Western
Address: 2424 University Ave., Madison, WI 53705
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in Madison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS InnTowner & the Highland Club 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This downtown Madison hotel has the ideal location and extra amenities for business and leisure travelers as well as for groups and meeting planners. The BEST WESTERN PLUS InnTowner hotel is in the heart of Madison's picturesque west University of Wisconsin campus area and is located two blocks from the UW Hospital and Clinics, one mile from Camp Randall Stadium, one mile from the Wisconsin Institute of Discovery and close to shopping, local restaurants and the Capitol Square and State St. Amenities include the downtown areas only hot free breakfast buffet for all registered guests; free shuttle service to the airport, campus area, hospital, Monona Terrace Convention Center, Alliant Energy Center and shopping and restaurants within a two mile radius of the hotel; free high speed wireless Internet; a 24/7 Business Center; a 24/7 Grab 'n Go Market; indoor pool, whirlpool and fitness area; restaurant and lounge; cable television with 72 channel choices, and free HBO. For discriminating travelers, the hotel offers a private, key access executive level--The Highland Club--with upgraded amenities including free beverages and appetizers in the evening and two freshly baked homemade signature chocolate chip cookies at turndown service. For guests looking for meeting or banquet space, the InnTowner offers 9 meeting room configurations in 6200 sq. ft of space and on-site catering services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Best Western, Hotels.com, Agoda and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS InnTowner & the Highland Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS InnTowner & the Highland Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.