We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS InnTowner & the Highland Club

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS InnTowner & the Highland Club to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS InnTowner & the Highland Club
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2424 University Ave., Madison, WI 53705   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #25 of 63 hotels in Madison
Izmir, Turkey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

I stayed in this hotel with my wife during World Dairy Expo at the begining of Oct. First of all, I have arrived in Madison airport at around 11 pm. The shuttle service ends at 10.45. I called the hotel and told them there was 45 mins delay in my flight from Chicago to Madison. The manager did me a favor and said take a cab and we will pay. It was a suprise for me as I have not experienced any favor like this before. When arrived, the staff was very friendly and gave me every information I needed. The room was clean and the bed was very comfortable. Location is in university area, not very close to where the Dairy Expo took place. But with the shuttle service it was very easy to go and come back without paying anything. Normally I pay for cabs a lot in my business travels. They even arranged shuttle service to me and my wife to the restaurants every evening.The name of the driver was James as far as I remember and he was very polite and a nice person to chat every time he took us to the restaurants. The breakfast was good as well. OK, the hotel is not luxury but you get what you pay for. I recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Madison WI.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belmont2424, Media and Marketing Coordinator at BEST WESTERN PLUS InnTowner & the Highland Club, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear BartuEr,

Thank you so much for visiting us during the World Dairy Expo and taking the time to post such a wonderful TripAdvisor review. We are really glad that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you next year for the Expo after we have completed our renovation.

We do truly appreciate all guest feedback and are so happy we could provide a wonderful stay for you.

Thank you again, and make it a great day!

J. Belmont
BEST WESTERN PLUS InnTowner and the Highland Club
608.233.8778
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    119
    74
    42
    16
    13
See reviews for
81
30
17
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, WA
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

I stayed at this hotel to attend a conference at the University. It was also Homecoming weekend, and so availability of any hotel space and reasonable prices were challenging when I booked in June. The only place that had a room for the weekend anywhere near campus or at an affordable price was the InnTowner. What a pleasant surprise this hotel was!

The hotel is located about a 20 minute walk from the stadium, and there are a couple of excellent neighboorhood bars and srestaurants within a block or two. There is very good bus service as well to any place around Madison. The room was spacious and nice, although there wasn't a lot of room for me to hang up my clothes in the open clothes-hanging area.

The breakfast, which is free, is superb! They apparently are known for their breakfast, and their reputation is well-deserved. I've had breakfasts in 4-star hotels that I paid $20 for that I don't think were as good. They have absolutely anything you could want for breakfast, and if the weather is nice like it was when I was there, you could sit outside and dine while early-morning walkers and joggers passed by. Parking was a little bit tight the Friday night before Homecoming, but that is to be expected, and I did always find room, although I ended up driving kind of an obstacle course that wound around to the back of the property. I am sure any other time of year there is absolutely no problem with parking, because I can't imagine a busier time for a hotel near the stadium than Homecoming.

I will definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: The walls are a little thin, so try to get a top floor or a room off the main drag.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belmont2424, Media and Marketing Coordinator at BEST WESTERN PLUS InnTowner & the Highland Club, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear WindWolfess,

Thank you so much for visiting us and taking the time to post a review about us on TripAdvisor. We love all feedback from our guests, but we really love feedback such as yours.

We are ecstatic that you enjoyed your stay, especially during such a busy and hectic time of year. We are overjoyed that we were able to exceed your expecations.

We hope to see you again after our upcoming renovation where we really hope to wow the socks off of you! :)

Thanks again and make it a great day!

J. Belmont
BEST WESTERN PLUS InnTowner and the Highland Club
608.233.8778
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Stayed at the Best Western in Madison Wisconsin - the "Inn Towner" - and must admit it was surprisingly good. Great room on club floor; superb breakfast included; high speed internet access complimentary; courteous staff. For someone who spends 130 days on the road and 90% in Marriotts - I was stunned at the reasonable price and superb accommodations. I would highly recommend this to anyone visiting Madison Wisconsin

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belmont2424, Media and Marketing Coordinator at BEST WESTERN PLUS InnTowner & the Highland Club, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear John,

Thank you for taking the time to write such kind words about us and our property here on TripAdvisor. We love all feedback from our guests, but it warms our hearts to know that we exceeded a guests expectations and they really enjoyed their stay.

Thank you so much again and we look forward to your next visit here to Madison.

J. Belmont
Media and Marketing Coordinator
BEST WESTERN PLUS InnTowner and the Highland Club
608.233.8778
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

The only thing this hotel has going for it is it's location to the UW Hospital. The staff is also very courteous. Unfortunately, their warmth and smiles can't mask the stained filthy carpets or help the lackluster rooms. If you enjoy labyrinths and mazes you'll love trying to find your room as you step out of the elevator that smells of old cigarettes and burnt food. This hotel is in bad need of a complete overhaul!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belmont2424, Media and Marketing Coordinator at BEST WESTERN PLUS InnTowner & the Highland Club, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear TripAdvisor Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review about us on TripAdvisor. We do apologize that you didn't enjoy every aspect of your stay as you enjoyed our location and service. We are in agreement with you that the hotel does require a renovation, which we begin this December. We do hope that you will give us another chance after that to really exceed your expectations.

If you do decide to visit us again, please contact our General Manager Joe Baldowin in advance so we can ensure you have the best possible stay.

Thank you again for your input, and make it a great day!

J. Belmont
Media and Marketing Coordinator
BEST WESTERN PLUS InnTowner and the Highland Club
608.233.8778
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Standard Best Western, university negotiated $70 night well worth it, mild musty hallway smell did not follow into room, small bathroom, spartan furniture, humming HVAC unit on wall, clean sheets, nice front desk staff, carpet colors and pattern through which a stain would never show.
A solid 2-3 star hotel. Nothing more. The numerous 5 star ratings raise concern about gaming.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belmont2424, Media and Marketing Coordinator at BEST WESTERN PLUS InnTowner & the Highland Club, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear mmmNorthCorlina,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review here on TripAdvisor, and for taking the extra time to post pictures. We appreciate all feedback from guests, and we love it when our guests can see what our reviewers are talking about.

We hope to see you again in Madison, especially after our upcoming renovation this December.

Thank you again and make it a great day!

J. Belmont
Media and Marketing Coordinator
BEST WESTERN PLUS InnTowner and the Highland Club
608.233.8778
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

I strongly advise against staying here. Everything, from the rubble in the parking lot to the cracked tiles in the bathrooom, the single and extremely slow elevator and shabby lobby require quite a bit of work.

We were awakened in the night by a very loud guest who kept us up with screaming and shouting for a prolonged period of time. We looked out to see a policeman in the hall and yet the racket continued. When we tried to call the front desk, we discovered the phone did not work. We called on our cell phone to complain about the lack of a phone and the prolonged noise. We were told that the police were there and we pointed out that they appeared to be doing nothing to quiet things down and asked someone from the hotel to come up. The loud noises continued another 10-15 minutes. We never did get a working phone. When we brought up the incident at checkout the next day, we received a blank stare. We ponted out that we did not feel safe in the hotel at which point, the clerk said that she would "tell the manager." We never could find a manager at any time during our stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belmont2424, Media and Marketing Coordinator at BEST WESTERN PLUS InnTowner & the Highland Club, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear Fivestargirl,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. Should you decide to give us another chance, especially after our upcoming renovation in December, please contact either our General Manager, Joe Baldowin, or our Assistant General Manager, Evan Talbert, so we can ensure your stay is a complete success.

The following is a response to you from our Front Office Manager, Nick Ulrich

Thank you and make it a great day!

J. Belmont
Media and Marketing Coordinator
****************************************************************************************************
Dear fivestargirl,
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review. Our guests’ feedback is extremely important to us and me personally, so that we can continually improve the service we provide to our customers.
As you can imagine, this was a rather serious, albeit rare, situation for our hotel. The safety our guests is of the utmost importance to us, which is why we contacted the police as soon as the situation warranted. Our property is regularly patrolled by our staff overnight and access for non-guests is limited during the late evening and overnight for security purposes.
I have spoken to the front desk agent who you conferred with the following morning and can confidently say that a better course of action will be followed in the future.
The problem with your telephone was addressed promptly that afternoon after check-out.
I do apologize for the disappointments during your stay, but I can assure we will do our utmost to prevent any similar situation from occurring in the future.
Sincerely,
-Nick Ulrich
Front Office Manager
Best Western PLUS InnTowner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
downers grove IL, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Place was sufficient for our family get together visiting our son at University of Wisconsin. Hotel had everything we needed. The extra pull out sleeper was helpful. Beds were very comfortable. We didn't need anything glamorous, It was clean and employees were helpful and pleasant. Lounge area was very nice.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belmont2424, Media and Marketing Coordinator at BEST WESTERN PLUS InnTowner & the Highland Club, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Janice M,

Thank you for writing such a glowing review of our property on TripAdvisor. We love all guest feed back and we were glad that you had such a pleasant stay. We hope you will visit us in the future to see some of the new changes and renovations that we have in store! :)

Thanks and make it a great day!

J. Belmont
BEST WESTERN PLUS InnTowner and the Highland Club
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS InnTowner & the Highland Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS InnTowner & the Highland Club

Address: 2424 University Ave., Madison, WI 53705
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in Madison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS InnTowner & the Highland Club 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This downtown Madison hotel has the ideal location and extra amenities for business and leisure travelers as well as for groups and meeting planners. The BEST WESTERN PLUS InnTowner hotel is in the heart of Madison's picturesque west University of Wisconsin campus area and is located two blocks from the UW Hospital and Clinics, one mile from Camp Randall Stadium, one mile from the Wisconsin Institute of Discovery and close to shopping, local restaurants and the Capitol Square and State St. Amenities include the downtown areas only hot free breakfast buffet for all registered guests; free shuttle service to the airport, campus area, hospital, Monona Terrace Convention Center, Alliant Energy Center and shopping and restaurants within a two mile radius of the hotel; free high speed wireless Internet; a 24/7 Business Center; a 24/7 Grab 'n Go Market; indoor pool, whirlpool and fitness area; restaurant and lounge; cable television with 72 channel choices, and free HBO. For discriminating travelers, the hotel offers a private, key access executive level--The Highland Club--with upgraded amenities including free beverages and appetizers in the evening and two freshly baked homemade signature chocolate chip cookies at turndown service. For guests looking for meeting or banquet space, the InnTowner offers 9 meeting room configurations in 6200 sq. ft of space and on-site catering services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS InnTowner & the Highland Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Inntowner And The Highland Club Hotel Madison
Best Western Madison
Madison Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS InnTowner & the Highland Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.