We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Free is Good!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Madison Museum of Contemporary Art

Madison Museum of Contemporary Art
227 State Street, Madison, WI 53703
608-257-0158
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 41 Attractions in Madison
Type: Art Museums, Museums
Attraction details
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Free is Good!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

MMoCA is a must-stop when on State Street. Besides the fact that they have intriguing exhibits (right now, for example, the Ellsworth Kelly Prints show is a wake-up call for your eyes with its bold color!), there’s also a gift shop with a plethora of wallet-tempting items you won’t find anywhere else as well as a rooftop sculpture garden (a terrific urban hideaway!) and restaurant (Fresco). Best of all: admission to the museum is free (though donations are certainly welcomed), and how often can you say that these days?

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    16
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Artsy fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

Intriguing and interesting. I enjoyed the displays and was impressed by the variety and versitility of the museum.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“I'm not "into" art but I definitely enjoyed my visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

First, the location of the museum is just so accessible. We just wandered in from State Street as we were going to UW to watch the fireworks display. The two exhibits were intriguing and well put together.

As I said, I'm not into art, but I might become a convert if I lived in Madison.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orland Park, IL
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
44 attraction reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

A wonderful museum displaying art for various artists. An area for children to learn about art. A rooftop sculpture area with a few pieces on display. Close to the Capital and other attractions. Lots of metered multi level parking garages in the area.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa City, IA
Top Contributor
193 reviews 193 reviews
51 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Exhibit of Cecilia Condit wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

Rocks and water in video and photographs, very nice. What a fine museum right on State Street. Don't miss the lovely gift shop.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Madison Museum of Contemporary Art also viewed

 

Been to Madison Museum of Contemporary Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Madison Museum of Contemporary Art, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.