We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Fish Fry on a Friday Night!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Old Fashioned

The Old Fashioned
23 N Pinckney St, Ste 1, Madison, WI 53703-4207
608-310-4545
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 772 Restaurants in Madison
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Dessert, Lunch, Late Night, Takeout
Cumming, Georgia
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Fabulous Fish Fry on a Friday Night!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2015 NEW

Walleye, Perch and Cod equals harmony in the stomach. The meal started off with the best darned cheese curds that I have ever had. Top that with a capital beer and finish it with a fish fry and that is the perfect meal!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

787 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    342
    328
    83
    21
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, Nh
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Fine Wisconsin Fare”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2015 NEW

We had lunch here while visiting family. Everyone was happy with their meal. Cheese curds were tried for the first time and will clearly not be the last time. Soups, sandwiches and the special, fried perch, were all very good. The home made cole slaw and tartar sauce were especially good. The only thing that would improve the food for me would be home made fries. I would definitely go back next time we are visiting.

  • Visited April 2015
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, WI
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Save your money for a place that wants your business.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2015 NEW

I've eaten at The Old Fashioned a number of times for lunch and dinner and always had a good meal and good service. I recently noticed they are now open for breakfast, but I recommend that you not bother.

To put it in a nutshell; the eggs were overcooked, the breakfast-hash consisted of 1 Inch chunks of corned beef with some onions and large chunks of potatoes. Yes, the hash was warm, but I don't know if I would go as far as cooked, steamed more likely. The breakfast potatoes that were served with it where 1/2 slices of a whole potato - again not really cooked to their potential.

The waiter that served us to short to the point of rude not only with us, but with two other patrons that sat at the bar. I believe one of them finally walked out because of the service.

In general, the service was not up to the standards that the Old Fashioned usually has for lunch and dinner, and the food was not good. I will definitely not be going back for breakfast; primarily because the food was not good, but secondarily because the wait staff was abrasive and rude.

Might I recommend that the management of this restaurant teach their staff the difference between busy and b!tchy. I know they sound a little a like, but they aren't the same thing.

  • Visited April 2015
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshkosh, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Excellent Old Fashioneds, of course!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2015

You can order just about any type of Old Fashioned you can imagine here! I just had the normal kind and it was fantasic. Order fish for dinner. This was also very good. We were lucky enough to have breakfast here the next morning also after the Farmers Market. Delicious!! Great atmosphere. Prices are reasonable also

  • Visited April 2015
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Missouri
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Wow!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2015

It's an old fashioned chop house, popular with the state worker lunch crew-- long wood bar with EVERYTHING on tap, wooden floors, dim-ish lighting -great atmosphere. Had the house burger, which is a slab of beef, cheddar, caramelized onions, bacon topped off with a runny egg and served with a mtn of fries for about $10-- wow. I ate it all. Then had to sit and rest for a bit. Let the egg dribble onto the fries. That was great. Of the places I ate it in Madison, this is head and shoulders above the rest. A lot of the student restaurants are just that, student restaurants, for kids not adults. This place is for grown-ups.

Visited April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Old Fashioned also viewed

 

Been to The Old Fashioned? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Old Fashioned, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.