We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Old Fashioned

The Old Fashioned
23 N Pinckney St, Ste 1, Madison, WI 53703-4207
608-310-4545
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 820 restaurants in Madison
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Janesville, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“So good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is a favorite place among my group of friends. The Old Fashioned house burger is so DELICIOUS with a fried egg on top. Also the brandy vinaigrette dressing is so good. It's really busy for dinner and on the weekends so plan on waiting at least 20-30 minutes for a table. And it seems like every time I go here I'm seated by the entrrance so it's super cold and noisy. But overall great place to eat!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

577 reviews from our community

83% Recommend
    255
    229
    70
    15
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Will be going back for Wisconsin Specialities”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Be prepared to wait but worth it.
Liked: really good old fashioneds, mac & cheese with wurst, cheese spreads, friendly and prompt service (did not have to wait too long for a drink even with crowds)
Disliked: two hour wait with no bar space and tight crowd, somewhat cramped eating quarters if by you are by the bar areas

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Screams Wisconsin”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

It's the first place once I get back to Madison. I get some Spotted Cow and the best deep fried cheese curds around. The two things I miss most about Wisconsin. Very very busy on weekends and even on weekdays. Go for lunch or be prepared to wait.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“You have to eat here at least once!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We had breakfast, lunch and brunch at this place and had great food each time. The service wasn't quite as good, since each time our server seemed distracted by other parties, forgot our table or was just plain overloaded. Breakfast during the week was great-one of us had light fluffy pancakes, the other had huevos rancheros (made with egg whites at my request), with Green Bay style chili, which I found out is chili served over pasta. I asked for straight chili-no pasta. It was great. When we tried to order breakfast Sat. morning we found out there's no breakfast Sat. or Sun., it's always brunch, even if it's 8 A.M. So we had a very nice cheese plate (it's Wisconsin after all) with fruit, and a modified eggs benedict dish-hold the sauce. Lunch on another day was a great salad, grilled (not greasy) chicken sandwich and a mountain of crispy salt and peppered french fries. Way too good. They also have a great selection of local beers. This place is always crowded and for good reason.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“The Old Fashioned in Madison WI”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Hey cheeseheads if you are looking for a great time in Madison you have to try Taco Tuesday at the Old Fashioned. The tacos are delicious and the Old Fashions drinks are great. It is a very popular restaurant, so either go early or expect to wait awhile for a table to open. Not to worry because they have two bars to serve you while your waiting.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Old Fashioned? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Old Fashioned, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.