We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place and staff.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Madison at The American Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Madison at The American Center to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Madison at The American Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5109 W Terrace Drive, Madison, WI 53718   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #15 of 63 Hotels in Madison
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great place and staff.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

I stayed here for three weeks. The staff was great, rooms comfortable and any problem I had was taked care of. I'm not a big drinker but Wednesday Night Happy hour was fun. Great food and choice of beer, wine or soda for free. The owner of the hotel was there to great you and thank you for staying. Very nice person and great Hotel!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Madison at The American Center, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
Thank you for the feedback! We have been receiving an extrememly positive response from the Stay Social hour we have every Wednesday from 5:30pm to 6:50pm. During the Stay Social hour, we host draft beer and house wine and soda. Guests are also welcome to the snacks our chef whips up during that time. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    46
    13
    4
    1
See reviews for
38
33
24
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hillsboro, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

Very nice accomodations and a great place to stay. The staff was excellent. Would definately stay again!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Madison at The American Center, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
Fantastic! I'm glad we lived up to our award-winning reputation! I hope you were able to enjoy our restaurant Geier's Grill and our island-themed pool during your stay. I'll be sure to share your positive feedback with my staff, and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshkosh, Wisconsin
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

We spent one night in this hotel and all I can say positive was that the hotel was clean and the bed was comfortable. As well as having a very good and fast Wi-Fi connection. The negatives were that the walls as thin so we could hear everything going on in the hall and in the rooms around us. There was no microwave in the room and refrigerator was warm, we had to pull it out from under the counter to change the tepature setting as it was located on the back of the fridge.

Even though check out was advertised as noon, we had cleaning staff knocking on our door at 9:00AM and trying to get into our room to clean it.

A caution with this hotel was that they advertise a FREE hot breakfast buffet with the room, but when we went down for breakfast there was a continental breakfast buffet and a hot breakfast buffet that had a sign on it that said the hot buffet was an extra four dollars per person. So we chose to stick with the continental buffet and that only included toast, bagels, small muffins and fruit and as we were finishing our breakfast we were handed a $9.71 dollar bill for breakfast. On the bill I was charged just shy of $3.00 for two pieces of buttered toast, which was horrible and that I could not finish. We complained about the bill and pointed out that the room was to include a free breakfast. We were told “Oh you have to get coupons from the front desk for the breakfast” these coupons were not given to us and we were not told that we had to ask for them. So I watched as several other people at the breakfast buffet were given bills and paid for their breakfast. What a rip off to scam more money out of the guests.

It has been a long time since I stayed at a Holiday in but after them lying to me and trying to scam more money out of me it will be a long time again before I step into another Holiday Inn. I can stay at much nicer hotels for only a few dollars more a night and not be lied to and ripped off.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Madison at The American Center, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
I sincerely apologize for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay. I will be discussing your comments with my staff to evaluate the policies and procedures we have in place regarding our breakfast, and I’d like to assure you that we are not trying to scam or cheat guests out of their hard-earned money. Unfortunately, breakfast is not included at our hotel, but some package rates that include breakfast are available, and our restaurant Geier’s Grill is open every morning.

We do indeed have a 12pm check-out time (11am at most hotels) and a 4pm check-in time. Holiday Inn offers a program called ‘Express Checkout’. At night, a receipt is slipped under the door of occupied guestrooms, allowing guests to bypass the front desk when checking-out in the morning. Consequently, housekeeping does not know which rooms have departed and which rooms are still occupied, so they must knock on doors to find the ‘Express Checkout’ rooms they can enter and clean earlier. Regrettably in this instance, the policy affected your stay, so I understand your frustration and apologize for the trouble. We invite all our guests to utilize the ‘Do Not Disturb’ signs placed in every room. Housekeeping will not attempt to clean those rooms until the sign has been removed or the check-out time has passed.

All our rooms are equipped with a mini-refrigerator, 32” HDTV, hair dryer, coffeemaker, and safe, whereas additional amenities, such as a microwave, business center, convenience store, restaurant, pool, hot tub, and fitness center, can be found on our first floor for public use.

I’m glad our free high-speed wireless internet access and clean facilities were positive parts of your stay, which I believe is more characteristic of our ‘Quality Excellence’ award-winning hotel. Please feel free to contact me at timharris@sixtitles.com if you have any other comments or concerns, and I appreciate the time you took writing this review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Normal, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here one night on our way to Minnesota. The staff was nice. The room was nothing special. There was a wedding reception downstairs and we were on the 2nd floor and could hear the music loud and clear until 12:00 am. I wish we were told that this would be going on before we checked in. The room service was way overpriced. Needless to say we are done with Holiday Inn.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Holiday Inn Madison at The American Center, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Hello marimon77. Thank you for this review. I apologize for the difficulties you had during your previous stay, and I'd like to assure you that the problems you encountered are uncharacteristic of my hotel and other Holiday Inn/IHG properties. While events and meetings are a fundamental segment of my hotel’s operations, their negative impact on other guests is unacceptable, and I appreciate you bringing these concerns to my attention so I can address them with my staff to ensure others do not experience the same conditions.

Our restaurant menu features American-style food at prices ranging from $9 for salads and sandwiches to $19 for steaks and ribs. The menu is tailored to suit the lifestyles of our everyday guests who trust Holiday Inn to deliver an exceptional experience for all their travel needs. Convenient room service is offered daily during the regular breakfast and dinner hours, and our friendly servers are always ready for your call.

Again, thank you for your comments, and I hope you will consider Holiday Inn for your future travel needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

This is a top-notch Holiday Inn and we will definately stay here again. The rooms were excellently maintained; the room lighting is bright and cheery (including the bathroom). The Air Conditioning unit functioned exceptionally well and it completely cooled our room (unlike all of the other 6 hotels on our vacation). The beds were in excellent condition and we felt like we were floating on a cloud. Every staff member we interacted with was professional and pleasant.

Last, a few other Holiday Inns we have stayed at have had large bus tour or high school groups that took over the breakfast rooms or restaurants. It made for an unpleasant meal experience. However, this Holiday Inn at the American Center does not suffer from this problem.

Thanks again for a perfect stay!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Holiday Inn Madison at The American Center, responded to this review, July 12, 2012
I am delighted you had such a pleasant experience! Our LG air conditioning units and 32 inch flat screen HDTVs provide the comforting atmosphere guests require when staying for business and leisure. Simmons BeautyRest pillowtop mattresses fill every guestroom, and the rooms offer a choice of one king-size or two queen-size beds. Our caring staff members are always available and have a plethora of local knowledge to help you plan the trip you always wanted.

While group business is an integral part of hotel operation, we do our best to ensure our guests are not affected, and I’m glad we succeeded during your stay. Our restaurant features a long buffet line to minimize the impact of large groups, and the room service option provides an added benefit if you would like to have a meal in the comfort of your own room.

Thanks again for the great review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowie
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

We stayed one night so we could attend an early wedding the following morning. I had never been to Wisconsin before, so I had "modest" expectations of the accommodations and the greater Madison area. I was pleasantly surprised that the hotel was very clean, well kept and the Wi-Fi was free and fast. I even grabbed a bite at the restaurant downstairs -- the cheesy garlic bread and a baked potato -- both of which were simple, but tasty. The service was quick and courteous, also. I am a particular traveler, and the Holiday Inn met my expectations for a 3 star hotel.

Room Tip: IT's in the middle of nowhere (an industrial park), so most of the rooms probably have a similar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Holiday Inn Madison at The American Center, responded to this review, July 12, 2012
Cheesy garlic bread and a baked potato sound like good compliments to our new summer rib special. A full or half rack of ribs comes with fries and coleslaw, and the first round of Bud Light or Shock Top is on us! At the same time, you can utilize the free Wi-Fi in the restaurant as well as the lobby, meeting space, and guestrooms. And with the East Towne Mall only five minutes away, we’re just a hop, skip, and a jump away from shopping and family fun. We hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel for years now. I always enjoy my stay at this Holiday Inn. A clean hotel and the staff is tremendous. Great people all the way around! Will continue to stay at this hotel while traveling for business. Love it!! Business man from Las Vegas.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Madison at The American Center, responded to this review, June 15, 2012
I'm so happy my staff continuously delivers an exeptional experience for you! As an award-winning hotel, we hear positive stories like this all the time, and we love the feedback! I have no doubt we will see you soon and look forward to it! Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Madison at The American Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Madison at The American Center

Address: 5109 W Terrace Drive, Madison, WI 53718
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Madison
#15 Romantic Hotel in Madison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Madison at The American Center 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award Winning Holiday Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Madison at The American Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Madison At The American Hotel Madison
Madison Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Madison at The American Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.