We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Favorite outdoor dining in Madtown” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sardine

Sardine
617 Williamson, Madison, WI 53703
608-441-1600
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 821 restaurants in Madison
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Madison, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Favorite outdoor dining in Madtown”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

When the weather is nice, there is no comparison to Sardine's outdoor patio overlooking Lake Monona. This is also an awesome happy hour spot that is great for groups. To get the biggest bang for your buck, share a a duck confit salad and the appetizer portion of moules frites. Best mussels in town!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

85% Recommend
    120
    81
    18
    7
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Chetek, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Loved the grilled rainbow trout”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Excellent PEI oysters and grilled trout with carmelized brussel sprouts. Great waiter, sat at the bar, enjoyed the wine recommendations and choices. Excellent customer service. Would definitely go there again!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Rather Dissapointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We went to Sardine for brunch with high expectations because of good reviews. The location is excellent and the service was good, but we were left dissapointed by an uneven quality of food. Whereas grilled pork sausages and crab, bacon and rock shrimp cakes were fine, the norwegian salmon was oversalted at one edge and sandwich with braised pork was ruined by being soggy. Bloody Mary also appeared to be too strong on the juice. The bill came to a reasonable $65 for a party of four before tips.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
2 reviews
“Really good place for a snack and also for dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

I ate there one of the best burgers I've ever had. The dinner was also very good with way above average vegetables. Prices are moderate.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Stand out in Mad Town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

First trip to Sardine and for sure not the last. From the moment we walked in the door I know it was going to be good. The atmosphere is awesome, the staff is friendly, always smiling and exudes customer service. Our waiter was great, helpfully explained each of the specials very clearly and said he had sampled each and recommended them. I took his advise and was very satisfied. The topper of it all was the "Grapefruit Olive Oil cake" sounded intriguing to say the least but was blown away eating it. Really enjoyable flavored that pleased the palette

If you haven't been to Sardine, it is a must!!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sardine also viewed

 

Been to Sardine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sardine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.