We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in Madison” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Road Star Inn - Madison

Save Saved
You added Road Star Inn - Madison to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Road Star Inn - Madison
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6900 Seybold Road, Madison, WI 53719   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #47 of 63 hotels in Madison
St. Catharines, Canada
1 review
“Great place to stay in Madison”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Extremely friendly staff that went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable for the evening. The rooms were clean and well maintained. The Inn is conveniently located just off the highway and completely safe as we left our van full of musical gear there overnight with no problems. Will definitely make the Road Star Inn our Madison home away from home in the future.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    9
    5
    4
    0
    5
See reviews for
6
3
4
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Jupiter, Florida
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

I would not stay here again. Needs renovating. Bathrooms need to be be completely redone. Need to provide more towels and better sheets. There was only one handtowel and a washcloth.
The TV is very old as well and difficukt to turn.
There is a microwave and a small refrigerator as well as a ceiling fan.
The building is very old and the walls in the bathroom were exposed. The location is good and it is easy to find. We booked online and were very disappointed and misled. They claimed there would be two queen beds. Instead, there were two full size, much smaller than promised.
We stayed here after a Badger football game. If it was better we would stay again but we won't.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Loved the place. It was a home away from home and very cozy. The location was perfect; near shopping areas; easy to access from the highway.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012 via mobile

I recently stayed at the Road Star, it was disgusting. I was on a family visit with my wife and 1 year old son. The hotel was dirty, smelled and is outdated. It should be condemned. We were unable to let our son walk on the floor let alone touch anything. When we entered the there was still clothing left on the floor from the previous guests and dirty washcloths in the bathroom. The clean towels were worn and one had pubic hair embedded in them. They were more like rags then towels. The sheets were missing any type of thread count and the blankets also had hair on them. It was the last hotel in town for under $250 for a night or else I would have never stayed there. Needless to say I we got no sleep. We kept our bags in the car for fear of placing them on the ground or ant table in the room. I did not have the breakfast because there would be no way after the state of the room would I trust the breakfast. Again it would have been better if I stayed in a tent in my brother inlaw's back yard. Never again

Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Road_Star_Madison, General Manager at Road Star Inn - Madison, responded to this review, June 7, 2012
Please contact me at Madison@roadstarinns.com as I would like the opportunity to check into your stay and correct this issue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012 via mobile

So I had to book a Room at the last minute and I didnt want to spend an arm and a leg so I booked this one. Its cheap, clean. Free breakfast and wifi for $60. Its a VERY old hotel/motel slighty creepy but it was at least clean. Staff was friendly and bed and pillows were comfty. This is def not a luxury hotel but it had everything I needed. The rooms had a fridge, microwave, tv w cable and working a/c w a clean bathroom w free wifi and free continental breakfast. If I was in a tight budget and needed a room I would def stay here again but if you are looking for luxury, this is not the place for you.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

everyone was extremely great!!!!! from manager to housekeeping..... rooms clean and comfortable....Ended up staying longer than anticipated and never had a problem.,will definately stay again when back in town. great deal for the price.... Thanks Road Star Team!!!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2011

We were in Madison overnight for a wedding so we just needed a place to sleep and no frills was fine. Actually, the Road Star more than met that. The staff we met were all friendly and helpful, the heat pump unit worked fine and kept the temperature fairly constant, the bed was very comfortable and the room had a very nice recliner with a light appropriate for reading! There was also a ceiling fan, fridge, microwave and large TV. The property is older - the bathroom door took brute force to close and open it, the room door was a little loose so made noise as other doors in the hallway opened and closed - that was dealt with by stuffing a brochure in the opening to tighten it up. Two lightbulbs were burned out but were cheerfully replaced as soon as I let them know. The internet connection was free, easy and fast. The room had a tub as well as a very nice shower - that's getting to be unusual these days.

Breakfast was about average - fresh fruit (bananas) was a nice addition to the cereal and pastries. And all this for $50? It's right off the Beltline so very convenient, but in an industrial park area. If you are looking for hot tubs, pools, exercise rooms, business centers and landscaping, then go elsewhere. But if you just want a clean room for the night, this is a bargain.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Madison hotels
Fitness center...
Show More
11.7 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites Madison-Northeast
Pets Allowed, W...
Show More
11.7 mi away
Red Roof Inn Madison, WI
Red Roof Inn Madison, WI
#49 of 63 in Madison
3.5 of 5 stars 62 reviews
Free Breakfast...
Show More
9.8 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Madison
Days Inn & Suites Madison
#36 of 63 in Madison
4.0 of 5 stars 200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pool, Free Brea...
Show More
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN West Towne Suites
Budget, Pool, F...
Show More
4.8 mi away
Super 8 Madison South
Super 8 Madison South
#25 of 63 in Madison
4.0 of 5 stars 243 reviews
Free Parking, B...
Show More
2.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Madison West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Road Star Inn - Madison? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Road Star Inn - Madison

Address: 6900 Seybold Road, Madison, WI 53719
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 63 hotels in Madison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Road Star Inn - Madison 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Roadstar Inns offer a clean & comfortable setting at an affordable rate near shopping & restaurants. Fridges, microwaves, laundry facilities, continental breakfast & high speed wireless internet available. Pet and non-smoking rooms also available. Locations in Appleton, Green Bay, La Crosse, Madison & Stevens Point Wisconsin. See you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Road Star Inn - Madison reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Road Star Inn - Madison Hotel Madison
Road Star Hotel Madison

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Road Star Inn - Madison, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.