We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hampton Inn!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Madison Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Madison Downtown to your Saves list
Hampton Inn & Suites Madison Downtown
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   440 W. Johnson Street, Madison, WI 53703   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Now and Save 15%
Ranked #1 of 63 Hotels in Madison
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best Hampton Inn!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

I have stayed in a lot of Hampton Inns (and hotels in general), and this is the best Hampton Inn anywhere! Great location with easy walking distance around downtown. The hotel itself...does not look like a Hampton Inn.

The room I stayed in was spacious, modern, clean, and very comfortable. They have room service and a restaurant, plus a great lobby and very friendly, helpful staff.

I did not use the fitness center or pool, but the hotel has both as well. Wifi worked very well, stayed connected very well allowing me uninterrupted access to my remote network.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
madcityhampton, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Madison Downtown, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Thank you for putting a smile on my face. I especially liked your comments on our "friendly, helpful staff." We're sure proud to have them! I hope to see you soon for a return stay.

Warm regards,

Laura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

507 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    432
    61
    11
    1
    2
See reviews for
177
113
23
130
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Wantagh, New York
Level Contributor
68 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

This hotel is extremely well located, the free breakfast is convenient and the rooms are both large and clean. However, what sets this hotel apart from others is the exceptional staff. Every employee we dealt with was incredibly friendly and took an interest in the guests. We met Laura and Isabel when we checked in. Every time they saw us, they gave us a big greeting and asked what we did that day. Both of them are major assets to the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
madcityhampton, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Madison Downtown, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Wow, such nice words! I'm so pleased our hotel and staff left such a good impression on you both. I will especially make sure to share your praise with both Laura and Isabel, aren't they great? We hope to see you soon for a return visit!

Warm regards,

Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Stayed here for three nights last week when I decided to surprise my daughter, a UW-Madison Senior. This was my third visit to Madison since she first started and I usually stayed at another hotel. I have never stayed at a Hampton's Inn but it won't be my last time. Mara, was so sweet and so helpful. She made sure to tell me where everything was located in the hotel and all about the free breakfast every morning. She even asked if my room being on the eighth floor was okay (it was :-). The next night Isabel, who also works at the front desk was nice enough to help me with some information I needed.

The room itself was great! I had a suite with a king size bed. Very spacious, nice kitchen area with fridge, microwave and coffee maker. The bathroom has a Water Pik shower head that you can adjust the stream of water and since I am tall I loved the fact that the shower head was up so high. I've found that many hotels shower heads are just a little too low for me, making showering a little awkward. Also in the bathroom, there is a night light that turns on when you turn off the light switch. Makes trips to the bathroom in the middle of the night a lot easier. Plenty of hangers in the closet. An iron and ironing board plus extra pillows and blankets in the closet. TV swivels towards the bed, the desk area or the sofa bed area.

Last but not least I can't say enough great things about the free breakfast. I had read many reviews about the waffles but I was shocked that there were waffle irons that you used to make your own fresh waffles. There were also different kinds of yogurt, hard boiled eggs, scrambled eggs, bacon ot sausage, various kinds of dry cereal, four diffrent kinds of juices, oatmeal, fresh fruit, bagels, sliced bread, English muffins, and various kinds of danish. Oh and let me not forget 24 hour coffee or tea!

I can't say enough good things about this hotel and I really look forward to staying here again next May when our daughter will be graduating.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
madcityhampton, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Madison Downtown, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Yay! Thank you for that thoughtful and generous review! I look forward to sharing this with Mara, Isabel and the breakfast team, especially. We're proud of the hotel and, most of all, our team, but getting feedback like this is really meaningful.
Thank you for taking time to share these thoughts and know that we'll be working hard to make your future stays wonderful.

Warm regards,

Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, New Jersey
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Stayed at the Hampton Inn and Suites in Madison this month - walking distance to the Fluno Center. New hotel so was nice and clean. Suite was nice and nothing negative to note, with the exception of work going on at the entrance. Just power washing but was going on longer than it should have.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
madcityhampton, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Madison Downtown, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Good feedback on the pressure washing, thank you. I agree, actually. We'll review the process and work to come up with a better plan for the future. Great to hear that your stay was a good one. No doubt, we're steps away from the Fluno Center, so I'm glad we were a good base for you.
Travel safely and thank you, again, for sharing that insight on how we can make future stays better.

Warm regards,

Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

I stayed at the Hampton Inn in downtown Madison on 26 June as a solo traveller. For starters, the staff are genuinely welcoming and friendly - not just one or two, but all of them. I had an issue with American Airlines losing my luggage and the hotel helped me out by collecting my suitcase when it was delivered in the middle of the night and while I was waiting, giving me a bunch of toiletries so I could feel human after 20+ hours of travelling - like a toothbrush, toothpaste and some hairspray. I didn't ask for any of these items, they were offered without hesitation. I didn't get the name of the staff member, otherwise I would pass on my thanks to her publicly.

The room itself was clean, fresh and the bed really comfortable. Free wifi is always a bonus when you are an overseas traveller so that was appreciated. Fantastic shower. Not sure you can ask for much else!

All in all, the Hampton Inn is a great place to stay in downtown Madison - everything you would want access to in the downtown area is just a few minutes walk away. The reviews on this site are certainly justified. Really, it was like staying with friends.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
madcityhampton, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Madison Downtown, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Wow, Natalie, that's very generous, thank you! I agree with you about the staff.. we're proud to have what must be the friendliest, smartest, best team anywhere! I look forward to sharing your comments with our team. Please know that we look forward to welcoming you back!

Safe travels and warm regards,

Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We traveled to Madison with our 15 month-old for a wedding and this hotel was perfect. We reserved a two-room whirlpool suite and it was ideal to have the additional room to put her to sleep in while we stayed up. The location is super convenient to the capital and shopping on State St. The staff here was really lovely and helpful and a highlight of our stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
madcityhampton, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Madison Downtown, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
We love babies! Great to hear that your stay with us went so well. Thank you, sincerely, for taking time to share that. Travel safely and Congratulations!

Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

I can't say enough about the friendly staff and customer service at this hotel. Always greeted by a warm smile and offer of assistance, and the rooms were great too. Very clean and well appointed, and the beds were amazing (slept like a log). Great hotel, would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
madcityhampton, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Madison Downtown, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Thank you, Meghan, that's great news! We invest a lot of time focusing on guest service and we're lucky to have the world's best (!) team. I'm very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and would consider us again. Thank you, again.

Warm regards,

Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madison hotels
0.5 mi away
The Edgewater
The Edgewater
#8 of 63 in Madison
4.5 of 5 stars 297 reviews
0.4 mi away
Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Madison
Hyatt Place Madison
#12 of 63 in Madison
4.5 of 5 stars 370 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hilton Madison Monona Terrace
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Madison Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Madison Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Madison Downtown

Address: 440 W. Johnson Street, Madison, WI 53703
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 63 Hotels in Madison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Madison Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of downtown Madison, adjacent to the University of Wisconsin Madison. Our hotel is close to shopping, dining, and leisure options with a free fitness center, indoor swimming pool, and whirlpool. Included in every stay is free hot breakfast, clean and fresh Hampton beds, and free internet! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Odigeo so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Madison Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Madison Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.