We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Diego's Mexican Bistro

Diego's Mexican Bistro
118 State Street, Madison, WI 53703
(608) 280-9999
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #83 of 838 Restaurants in Madison
Restaurant details
Tomah, Wisconsin
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

The first time here was Sept 2012 and we went again this year while visiting Madison. It was great and the Bloody Marys are a fun and delicious drink. Servers are friendly and fun. I will be returning here again!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    9
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Amazing food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

I love to eat Mexican food so when we decided to go here I was already excited but a little worried because some Mexican restaurants don't have the greatest quality. I was NOT disappointed at all. The waitress was amazing! She was quick, and always asked us if we were doing fine. We each had a margarita (not the 64oz haha), which was perfect. The food was amazing! Great flavors, and the refried black beans were my favorite. I hope I get to eat there again!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Perty darn tasty.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

I love a good burrito and Diegos has 'em. Fresh taste and outdoor seating. I didn't order a margarita, but the ones I saw looked beautiful.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, WI
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best Mexican in Madison”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

Wow, what a pleasant surprise. We had not heard of Diego's, but happened to spot it while walking down State St. Loved the ambiance and the service was great, but the food was the star. Chips and salsa were good, enchiladas rancheras were outstanding. Ranchera sauce had chunky tomatoes and tasted really fresh. Refried black beans were a nice changed from the normal pinto beans. Plentiful refills on sodas.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Worth a trip downtown for some New Mexican food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Guess they opened in aug 2012. Don't get to state st a ton and was actually heading to Ian's pizza when we saw Diego's. thought we'd check it out. Very pleasantly surprised. Nice interior friendly atmosphere and the food was really good. Chipotle marinated chicken in the tacos, burritos, etc rocks. Refried black beans were new to me and way better than usual refried beans. Taco salad bowl was baked not deep fried and was great. Our son got a burrito and it was in a roasted red pepper tortilla. Very cool. Only downside is regular margaritas come in tiny glasses but large glass prices. They need to fix that. Overall though very nice addition to the Mexican mix.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Diego's Mexican Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Diego's Mexican Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Diego's Mexican Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.