We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great diner for a simple breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Parkway Family Restaurant

Parkway Family Restaurant
1221 Ann St, Madison, WI 53713-2409
608-255-2355
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #393 of 850 Restaurants in Madison
Price range: $3 - $14
Cuisines: Sandwiches, Diner, Continental, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Description: Parkway Family Restaurant has a large menu selection for any time of the day (5:00am to 10:00pm). We offer excellent service and great food and very reasonable prices.Come visit out Website to search for your favorite dish in our online menu and also to register to win a free meal! Truck parking available, see our contact page for details.
Madison, Wisconsin
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great diner for a simple breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

As a long time resident of Madison, I have not loved many of the breakfast joints that are available here. Places range from great but surprisingly pricey to just plain bad. A few years ago we discovered Parkway, and haven't looked back. We go here almost every weekend for breakfast. Good pancakes, great waffles made with malted batter, large omelets, gyro meat with eggs for those of us who love gyro meat. There's never a wait, even on Saturday morning. Excellent and attentive wait staff, prompt service, food served hot, large portions, great prices, restaurant always clean - what's not to love? Far cheaper than other breakfast places in town, and we always leave happy and full. No, it's not high-end, gourmet, or romantic - it's a diner, and a really great one for breakfast.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    7
    0
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin
Top Contributor
237 reviews 237 reviews
169 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“A Nice Family Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

I have only gone for lunch, but food is good and very reasonably priced. They have a salad bar that offers a good choice and their homemade chicken noodle soup is great. Their patty melts are very good too. You can get breakfast all day.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billings, Montana
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Terrific is how we describe this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

What a find this place was. There were lots of choices at this exit, but we preferred a family type restaurant. Service was superb, food was substantial and tasted wonderful. We were informed when we placed our order about how long it would take to prepare which was pretty darn considerate. The soups are to die for...so hearty and good. Don't miss this place.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deocrah, Iowa
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Awesome breakfast!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

Stopped here for breakfast yesterday, and enjoyed the heck out of it. Waitresses and other staff were super-friendly, food was delicious, and the price was right. Can't complain about a thing! Thanks for a yummy and filling start to a busy day in Mad-town!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great service, excellent breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

This a great place to go for a very good, quick breakfast. The service is great and friendly, the coffee endless, and the food hot and well prepared. Best of all, it is a great place to go with old friends and tell stories of what has happened of late.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Parkway Family Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Parkway Family Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Parkway Family Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.