We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dayton Street Grille

Dayton Street Grille
1 W Dayton St, Madison, WI 53703-2519
+1 608-294-3031
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #121 of 837 Restaurants in Madison
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: The Dayton Street Grille is downtown Madison's premier restaurant for fine dining. Conveniently located in the Madison Concourse Hotel, the Dayton Street Grille is just steps away from the Overture Center, State Street and all that downtown Madison has to offer. Voted Best Local Chef by Madison Magazine's Readers Poll, Charles Lazzareschi and an award-winning staff of culinary artists take the season's finest quality ingredients, fresh from your favorite local Wisconsin farms and dairies, and create flavorful Contemporary American Cuisine with a global flair. Our breakfast buffet includes pastries and sweets made right in our kitchen by the Dayton Street Grille's own pastry chef. Our weekday salad bar features fresh, healthful produce and savory treats, assembled by a dedicated salad bar specialist. Our elegant, yet relaxed atmosphere is the perfect place for a pre-show meal, anniversary dinner, or night out with friends.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Good food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Stayed at the Concourse Madison hotel and ate here for breakfast every morning. For $8 they offer a "continental" breakfast, but it's more than just donuts and muffins. Good value and great service!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    13
    6
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great farm to table food, mediocre atmosphere - well worth it if you don't want to leave the hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

They have a great diverse farm to table diverse, and a great beer list. The prices were decent, $4 for a big bowl of Brie and apple soup (a bit heavy, but very tasty) and $9 for a salad, which was also very tasty, but slightly less impressive size wise.

I was tired so didn't feel like walking to some of the other nearby restaurants and was happily surprised. The decor though feels like an average hotel restaurant, not like a cool swanky place where you'd usually find a menu like this.

If the hotel and restaurant could both get a makeover then both could move into top notch status.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
367 reviews 367 reviews
283 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 152 cities Reviews in 152 cities
165 helpful votes 165 helpful votes
“Truly excellent salad bar lunch.....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Based on TA reviews and a glance at the menu, my wife and I decided to lunch at Dayton St. Grill.

We were seated, glanced at the menu, but our eyes were torn away towards the salad bar, which is what we both decided to have. Simply said, this was one of the best salad bar lunches that I have ever eaten, and the best I have ever seen in the Midwest. There were four kinds of soup...tomato basil, beer cheese, vegetarian bean and southwestern beef with rice. The two that i tried were excellent. There were bowls of crispy mixed greens...lots of romaine, and a bowl of spinach leaves, and a number of dressings. There was nice, sliced grilled chicken to put on the salad. There were 4 kinds of marinated, grilled veggies. There were cured meats and salami, and a variety of cheeses. There were bacon bits, sunflower seeds, and several other toppings for the salad, and there were at least 5 kinds of bread and rolls. There were taco chips and a questo cheese sauce. Finally there were a half dozen other salads....pasta salad with chicken in a dill sauce, orzo pasta with grilled veggies, quinoa salad with veggies, cottage cheese, etc. Finally there was dessert.....three kinds of large warm cooking, a cherry crisp, a trifle, a panna cotta with fruit topping, a chocolate and peanutbutter mouse, and a rich little chocolate thingy. All of this for 10 bucks. Simply outstanding...sophisticated preparations and presentations, good service, decent decor.....

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, CA
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

This was one of my favorite restaurants during our twice yearly visits to Madison, but definitely slipped on this trip. My favorite meal, day boat scallops, has been changed, and no longer has parsnip potatoes, shiitake mushrooms, or crispy bacon. Squid ink risotto just doesn't make it! We were there early and they were already out of the lettuce for the salad I ordered. The bread basket, which used to be loaded with a delicious variety of breads, had just onie and a cracker. The sauces are no longer offered, and the service was lackadaisical. The servers were visiting at the desk, even though there were very few diners. My water was never refilled. Such a shame! It seems like they've written off serving dinner.

On the other hand, I had lunch twice and it was great. I had the soup and salad bar both times, and it had six soups to choose from and a huge variety of salad ingredients. I'm sure everyone could find a soup and salad ingredients to their liking. I had the chicken tortilla soup both days, as it was so good I couldn't bring myself to try another.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephanieLaBella, Guest Relations Manager at Dayton Street Grille, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. While it was wonderful to hear that you have been enjoying our lunch service especially the salad bar, we are very sorry that your dinner service was disappointing. We want every guest to have a wonderful meal with exceptional service. We do change the menu seasonally to keep it fresh and incorporate local products. We take the feedback of our guests seriously and never want anyone to leave unhappy. If you would be willing to give us another opportunity to show you that we still are the “hidden gem” you always thought we were, please call me at 608-294-3004 or email me at slabella@concoursehotel.com.
Thank you,
Stephanie LaBella, Director of Guest Engagement
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans
Top Contributor
213 reviews 213 reviews
163 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Great, and not.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Just in on a business trip. Pretty quiet night, pretty empty all over. Service if friendly and supportive, all that it could be. Cocktail, orange old fashioned, pretty much dreadful. Supposed to be an actual cocktail, really just a bourbon and 7 up with a cherry in it and a little funny taste. Not a cocktalian bar, so write that off. Sorry, I'm from New Orleans. Steak - perfect! Could not be better, especially at the price. Came (unexpected) with a huge quantity of fried (Portobello?) mushrooms, fantastic! But far too many, and not enough vegetables. Grew tired of the mushies, hungry for veggies. Ordered a side of smoky garlic mashed potatoes. Far too much smoke, couldn't eat them. In keeping with the brilliant service, the mashed potatoes were dropped. Here for a week, will have to talk to the bartender.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephanieLaBella, Guest Relations Manager at Dayton Street Grille, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are very glad that you enjoyed your steak. We are sorry that you didn’t enjoy the balance of the accompaniments served with the steak. Our Executive Chef, Charles Lazzareschi, uses the feedback that we receive from our guests when designing the menus which change seasonally. We hope that you had a better experience in The Bar during the remainder of your stay with us. You should always be able to expect a finely made cocktail from any of our bartenders. If something does live up to your expectations, we want to do whatever we can to make things right. I’d be very happy to speak with you in greater detail about your experience at our hotel. You can reach me at 608-294-3004 or via email at slabella@concoursehotel.com.

Thank you,
Stephanie LaBella, Director of Guest Engagement
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dayton Street Grille also viewed

 

Been to Dayton Street Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dayton Street Grille, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.