We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding menu, chef and service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dayton Street Grille

Dayton Street Grille
1 W Dayton St, Madison, WI 53703-2519
+1 608-294-3031
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #166 of 847 Restaurants in Madison
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: The Dayton Street Grille is downtown Madison's premier restaurant for fine dining. Conveniently located in the Madison Concourse Hotel, the Dayton Street Grille is just steps away from the Overture Center, State Street and all that downtown Madison has to offer. Voted Best Local Chef by Madison Magazine's Readers Poll, Charles Lazzareschi and an award-winning staff of culinary artists take the season's finest quality ingredients, fresh from your favorite local Wisconsin farms and dairies, and create flavorful Contemporary American Cuisine with a global flair. Our breakfast buffet includes pastries and sweets made right in our kitchen by the Dayton Street Grille's own pastry chef. Our weekday salad bar features fresh, healthful produce and savory treats, assembled by a dedicated salad bar specialist. Our elegant, yet relaxed atmosphere is the perfect place for a pre-show meal, anniversary dinner, or night out with friends.
Rhinelander, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
220 reviews 220 reviews
169 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Outstanding menu, chef and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

I had both dinner and breakfast as I was staying at the Concourse; this is the in-house restaurant. I was eating light so I had soup and a squid appetiser. The squid was NOT fried which was a great change of pace and healthy. The soup was also outstanding. Prices were medium for Madison which was another benefit. I will go back for sure.(in fact, I was going back!)

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    13
    7
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Stratford, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Food is always delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

We've stayed at the Governor's Concourse hotel every year for the past three years and always make a point to eat here at their inhouse restaurant, the Dayton Grille. The food is always delicious and well prepared. We usually enjoy one of the entries which come with 3 dipping sauces of your choice but this time we opted for the special of the night, a blackened chicken pasta. You can always count on your entree being something special.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buxton, North Dakota
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Good Breakfast and lunch buffet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

While staying at the Madison Concourse Hotel, I ate two breakfast's and one lunch at the Dayton Street Grille. Breakfast provided you an option of a continental breakfast for around $8 or to include the hot breakfast items it was around $13. Their were plenty of choices and the breakfast items were very tasty.

I also had the lunch buffet which included salad with all of the fixings and 4 different soups. The soups were excellent, although a bit salty, they had great flavor and were hot! I was attending a meeting in the hotel and it was a great lunch without having to travel far.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Dinner at Dayton Street Grille”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

Everything was perfect. The chef is outstanding!!! The service was great. We dined there with a group of friends and everyone was completely satisfied.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Ohh yeah! Incredible. This place rocks.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

I have eaten here at least 3 times, each time better than the last. The chef is incredible; the choice of sauces sublime and the food always was 5 star. This is a hidden gem just off State Street. Highest recommendation.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dayton Street Grille also viewed

 

Been to Dayton Street Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dayton Street Grille, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.