We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really good at what they do” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Graze Pub

Graze Pub
1 S Pinckney St, Madison, WI 53703
+1 608-251-2700
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 770 Restaurants in Madison
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $15 - $25
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Madison, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Really good at what they do”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

Graze is a local Madison restaurant that focuses on grass-fed meat in all its forms. I think they have vegetarian options, but really, who goes to a restaurant named graze to eat vegetarian? The head chef is a big proponent of the Eat Local movement and nearly everything on the menu is from the Madison area. They feature a producer every month and you really feel like they care about where the food comes from. They also serve local beer and wine.

Now about the food..... delicious! I went for the first time with friends for a birthday and everyone was super happy with their meals. I shared a vietnamese-inspired pork trio and everything on our plate was fabulous! We also had some traditional Wisconsin bar food for starters: fried pickles and fried cheese curds. The pickles were especially tasty with a panko style breading and dill dip.

If you would like to have a taste of something delicious and local in Madison and you are a fan of meat, this place should be on your itinerary.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    200
    114
    40
    10
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Near Chicago
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Outstanding!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2011

This may sound strange, but Graze is one of the rare restaurants where I can actually have a sandwich! I have a severe allergy to soy & peanuts, and bread is one of the items that I can rarely eat. Almost every type of bread has soy of some sort, whether it's soy flour or soy (vegetable) oil. That means no sandwiches, no bread basket, no burgers (unless I order it without the bun). Anyway, our server told us that the chef at Graze also has a peanut allergy, so they are extremely careful when with allergic diners. They took the time to check out each ingredient, and were able to determine that the bread was safe! On our first lunch at Graze, I had a grilled cheese sandwich. I know that sounds boring, but it really was great! Our second lunch was a braised lamb sandwich with garlic aioli, tomatoes and lettuce. Again, another home run! I have a feeling Graze will soon be one of the top restaurants on TA. We will be back.

Visited July 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best Burger”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2011

Truly a top notch local food resturant that is in a fun and beautiful setting. I only eat meat from FARMS not factories so it was so nice to go here and be able to eat any meat on wanted. The Graze Burger was a bit pricy, but worth the cost. One person in your group should get it so everyone can try this one. All the other entres we had were exceptional. We will be back and will send our friends there too.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Farm to Table”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2011

After running Crazy Legs a few friends and I stopped at Graze to eat. Quick seating in a ceiling to floor glass area, great for pep watching. Ordered a beer flight of local beers and loved trying them all. Local cider vendor was at bar and offered us a taste of his cider, very good! Service was prompt and friendly and food was delish! All organic burger of the day was so good, cooked perfect. Shared a beet salad also tasty. Ordered a few sweets and loved them all. We have been back a few times and every time we have loved our meal and drinks. Keep it up Graze!!!!

  • Visited May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“My favorite farm-to-table style restaurant in Madison.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2011

Creative and classic dishes, great wine and cocktail menu, nice indoor and outdoor atmosphere. My fav. Place in Madison, second only to L'Etoile.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Graze Pub also viewed

 

Been to Graze Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Graze Pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.