We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Amazing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lao Laan-Xang Restaurant

Lao Laan-Xang Restaurant
1146 Williamson Street, Madison, WI 53703-4841
(608) 819-0140
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #71 of 775 Restaurants in Madison
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Asian, Thai, Vegetarian
Dining options: Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Madison, WI
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

The food here is fantastic.

There is not a single item on the menu that isn't worth eating a great deal of.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    27
    7
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wayne, New Jersey
Top Contributor
237 reviews 237 reviews
184 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
166 helpful votes 166 helpful votes
“It really was excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

During a recent visit to Madison, Lao Laan-Xang was recommended by an extremely helpful local foodie. To quote him, "it's the best Asian food in Madison." Coming back into Madison from the Olbrich Botanical Garden, we stopped for a late lunch. Despite it being less than five minutes before wrapping up lunch and not a soul in the place, they graciously seated us. My wife had the pineapple curry served with rice and a cucumber salad, which she thoroughly enjoyed. I had the chicken with spicy peanut sauce, served with rice. I also had the vegetarian spring roll--crispy, not in the slightest bit oily, and extremely tasty. The chicken dish, which can also be made with tofu, was awesome. Moist chicken, broccoli and mushrooms in a peanut and coconut sauce. Each component of the dish was perfectly cooked, which is helping to drive this rating. The chef obviously takes his craft seriously. Service was great (ok, there was no one else there) and friendly. Great value as well. Will be back.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago 'Burbs, IL
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Yummy & perfect for vegetarians!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

We have been going to Lao Laan-Xang for a few years during our road trips to Madison. I love that there is a whole list of vegetarian options and tofu can be replaced for the meat in most dishes. There is even a vegan soup option!

I love trying different curry dishes with tofu and the portions are large so there is always extra to take home. The server was very friendly to me even though we came near the end of the night and checked back with us in a timely manner. The prices are reasonable and have never had a bad dish here. We will continue to visit this restaurant!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Top Contributor
188 reviews 188 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“There's also Lao Laan-Xang II nearby”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

My husband and I went to Lao Laan-Xang (II) down the street. It was crowded (8 PM on Sat) but we were sat right away and the food was fresh and hot. Service was great - the wait staff all very friendly and efficient. Their basil fried rice with tofu was pretty good. A bit on the more expensive side, especially for Madison, WI but worth it.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
illinois
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Tasty!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

This was our first experience with lao food, and a very positive introduction! The food was very tasty, but not as spicy as we has hoped. With each dish, you choose a spice level. We choose the one just below the spiciest, called adventurous. While not bland, there was not much heat to it. All considered, a yummy meal, but if you like spice ask for "native lao" level.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lao Laan-Xang Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Lao Laan-Xang Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lao Laan-Xang Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.