We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Arrive early +bring cash = best brunch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lazy Jane's Cafe & Bakery

Lazy Jane's Cafe & Bakery
1358 Williamson St, Madison, WI 53703-3757
608-257-5263
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 823 restaurants in Madison
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Arrive early +bring cash = best brunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Recommended by a local, and well worth the hike north from the capital . . . . Busy at 9:30 and packed with a line outside by 11:00 . . . So arrive early. Plastic (credit cards) not accepted. Still . . . Amazing fresh bakery goods, omlettes, pancakes, great coffee. Just what you'd dream about for a late breakfast. Seating also upstairs.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

89% Recommend
    53
    32
    8
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“AMazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Its not the biggest of places but thats why i like it!!! The walnut pecan scone is amazing!!! Now if only you can get there early enough to get it...its usually sold out by 9/10am

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Fabulous breakfast! Cash only.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We found many restaurants in Madison only serve brunch on Sat. and Sun., regardless if it's 8 A.M. or 11 A.M. We wanted breakfast and Lazy Jane's gave us what we wanted-fresh healthy food. We had flavorful whole grain oatmeal with fresh fruit and great coffee. The menu is loaded with fabulous omelettes, pancakes, all sorts of yummy bakery items. The location is a converted two story home with lots of nooks and crannies for seating. I can't rave too much about this place. Cash only, no credit cards.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great food, unique funky vibe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Lazy Jane's is my favorite breakfast spot on Willy Street. Yes, sometimes there is a long line out the door, but it's worth the wait. If you can get there for lunch, try the avocado grilled cheese sandwich and side-salad with lemon-basil vinaigrette.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, WI, USA
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great food, but noisy and crowded”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

That about sums it up--it can be very crowded. Food is excellent, but difficult to enjoy as you feel rushed to vacate your table. Impossible to read while enjoying a lazy breakfast.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lazy Jane's Cafe & Bakery also viewed

 

Been to Lazy Jane's Cafe & Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lazy Jane's Cafe & Bakery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.