We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Arrive early +bring cash = best brunch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lazy Jane's Cafe & Bakery

Lazy Jane's Cafe & Bakery
1358 Williamson St, Madison, WI 53703-3757
608-257-5263
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 26 Bakeries in Madison
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
162 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Arrive early +bring cash = best brunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Recommended by a local, and well worth the hike north from the capital . . . . Busy at 9:30 and packed with a line outside by 11:00 . . . So arrive early. Plastic (credit cards) not accepted. Still . . . Amazing fresh bakery goods, omlettes, pancakes, great coffee. Just what you'd dream about for a late breakfast. Seating also upstairs.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    44
    10
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“AMazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Its not the biggest of places but thats why i like it!!! The walnut pecan scone is amazing!!! Now if only you can get there early enough to get it...its usually sold out by 9/10am

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
74 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Fabulous breakfast! Cash only.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We found many restaurants in Madison only serve brunch on Sat. and Sun., regardless if it's 8 A.M. or 11 A.M. We wanted breakfast and Lazy Jane's gave us what we wanted-fresh healthy food. We had flavorful whole grain oatmeal with fresh fruit and great coffee. The menu is loaded with fabulous omelettes, pancakes, all sorts of yummy bakery items. The location is a converted two story home with lots of nooks and crannies for seating. I can't rave too much about this place. Cash only, no credit cards.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
40 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great food, unique funky vibe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Lazy Jane's is my favorite breakfast spot on Willy Street. Yes, sometimes there is a long line out the door, but it's worth the wait. If you can get there for lunch, try the avocado grilled cheese sandwich and side-salad with lemon-basil vinaigrette.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, WI, USA
Level Contributor
46 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great food, but noisy and crowded”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

That about sums it up--it can be very crowded. Food is excellent, but difficult to enjoy as you feel rushed to vacate your table. Impossible to read while enjoying a lazy breakfast.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lazy Jane's Cafe & Bakery also viewed

 

Been to Lazy Jane's Cafe & Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lazy Jane's Cafe & Bakery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.