We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Favorite Breakfast Sandwich” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marigold Kitchen

Marigold Kitchen
118 S Pinckney St, Madison, WI 53703-3318
608-661-5559
Website
Menu
Update restaurant details
Ranked #45 of 806 restaurants in Madison
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Illinois
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Favorite Breakfast Sandwich”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Can be a little on the pricey side but worth it. I had been there before and my husband hadn’t and it can be a little overwhelming when you first enter. There are specials on the board but finding menus, especially when it’s crowded can be difficult if you don’t know where to look. The staff could be a little more helpful in that area. That said, I love the bacon, egg and cheese breakfast sandwich. It is the best. Also recently tried the chile poached eggs and now I will have to alternate between the two. Oh, and they have orange marmalade, which always is a plus in my book. Really appreciate the fresh take on breakfast.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

85% Recommend
    70
    52
    8
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great breakfast and lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Healthy and SCRUMPTIOUS, food. I have eaten here for years and I have never had anything less than fantastic food here. Get here early or outside of peak breakfast and lunch hours because it's usually very busy.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Busy and noisy, but for a reason”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

A great breakfast and lunch place,but small and noisy. Try to avoid during summer Saturddays when locals visit the farmer's market on the capital square. Waitstaff is excellent and the kitchen will prepare things to order, like egg white omelettes. Wonderful baked goods and specialty coffees.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Outstanding!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Yes, it cost me $14 for breakfast, but it is one of the best breakfasts I have ever had. I got an omelette and a side of yogurt. The table had jam in a jar, spread into the bowl of yogurt - fantastic. The omelette was delicious. If I had known about this place earlier, I would have had breakfast there every morning. Only downside: the place is busy (probably because it is so damn good), so a bit of a lineup and wait for a free table.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manitowoc, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Great Food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

This place is right downtown Madison, just off the square. The food is really good (at least the 2 breakfast items we had). Seems like good fresh ingredients, and well prepared recipes. The price is probably comparable to an average breaksfast style restaurant (Dennys, Ihop). The difference is you place your order at the counter, then sit down. They bring your food to you. Nice place. I would return. If you're in the area and looking for breakfast or lunch, you should stop.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marigold Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Marigold Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marigold Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.