We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always great drinks and dinner” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Toby's Supper Club

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Toby's Supper Club
3717 S Dutch Mill Rd, Madison, WI 53718-4105
608-222-6913
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #129 of 821 restaurants in Madison
Restaurant details
Wisconsin
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Always great drinks and dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

We dine here frequently and it is always consistent in service, food quality and drinks. The staff here really make a difference. There is usually a wait for dinner but that is because it is so great. A Wisconsin Supper Club with a server taking your order while you enjoy drinks at the bar. When your salad is on the table you are seated. Service is great here and the steaks and shrimp are tasty every time, we have never had a bad meal here. i have eaten in large groups or just us two at the bar and the service is always great. During week nights they serve home made cinnamon rolls with dinner. There is a relish dish and soup/salad and great cheesy hash browns. Wow after writing this i may have to go up for dinner tonight! Enjoy.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

80% Recommend
    22
    14
    3
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“They like their regulars, don't care for strangers”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

First of all, the quality of the food (the raw materials) that they use appears to be OK. Not great, by any stretch, but acceptable for a bar-grill (which this is: it is NOT a real 'supper club' in the sense that this term is used in Wisconsin). Low/mid-quality meats (you'll want the A-1) and seafood, cooked without finesse, but far from disgusting..... It's the *service* that makes this place stand out, and not in a good way. You must order at the bar, and you don't get seated until your salad is ready and your food order has been started by the kitchen. Other places work it that way, too, and have some success (it's a way to make the tables turn faster). But at Toby's, the person who takes your order is different from the person who sets up your table with your food, who, in turn, is different from the bartender (who is the person in charge of telling you that your table is ready). So, your table gets set, and your salad gets warm, while you wait for a half hour for someone to realize that you were never seated. Then, because you were not seated in time, your food comes out when you're still only 1/2 way through your (warm, limp) salad. But, see, your food was actually cooked when they seated you (that's how they realized they'd forgotten to seat you). So when you do get your rushed food, it's actually been sitting around, already cooked (presumably under a heat lamp), drying out for 10 minutes. The waitress actually said, "ready or not, here it is!".... If you're a regular, they take good care of you, because they give you their attention. We witnessed much of this while we waited and waited and waited to be seated in the MOSTLY EMPTY restaurant on a Wednesday evening. But beware if you're a stranger. In fact, STAY AWAY if you're a stranger.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Prospect, Illinois
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Twice is a charm.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012 via mobile

This is our second visit to Toby's. Both times we ordered the steak & shrimp. Awesome again. Steak cooked perfectly, fried shrimp was fabulous! We will come again next time we are in town (from Chicago).

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prairie du Chien, WI
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A Step Back in Time - Great Experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2012

The 50's & 60's flourished with Supper Clubs like this - Mom & Pop affairs which served up Good Food at a price that let you take the whole family. They acted as a community center before there were many such. TOBY'S has retained much of what made that era special, with ample servings of "cooked-from-scratch" meals, and friendly service.....and, oh yes, if you get there later than 4:30 on a Friday night, you'll be glad they now have WIFI!
My wife and I now live about 100 miles away, but when visiting MadTown, we always try to squeeze in a visit to TOBY'S.

  • Visited May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Worth the wait”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012 via mobile

Get there early! Food is excellent and the drinks are strong

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Toby's Supper Club also viewed

 

Been to Toby's Supper Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Toby's Supper Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.