We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place! Local, unique, delicious.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Weary Traveler Incorporated

Weary Traveler Incorporated
1201 Williamson St, Frnt, Madison, WI 53703-4859
608-442-6207
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #34 of 837 Restaurants in Madison
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Madison, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Love this place! Local, unique, delicious.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

I've been to this place several times - I absolutely love the steak, avocado, and quinoa salad. We also had homemade cinnamon ice cream last time we visited, which was incredible. I love this place because all the food is fresh, local, true to Madison, appropriately portioned, and delicious. They also have board games you can play, so the atmosphere is really warm and friendly!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    59
    9
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minnetonka, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A nice little hidden gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We liked the atmosphere and the Bob's Bad Breath Burgers. Nestled on Willie Street, it was a nice, little hidden gem.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deerfield, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Enjoyed it!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

I visited Weary Traveler today, got there right when they opened at 11:30am on a Saturday. The bartender and another employee greeted us warmly and welcomed us to sit wherever we liked, that was nice, I thought. I loved the decor, we choose a small table that sat 2, comfortable chairs, but I could see how it could be pretty tight in there if it were crowded. Our waiter was a nice young man, friendly and helpful. We were given glasses of water, that was nice not having to ask for them and he gave us menus. View their menu on their website, makes it easier to decide before you get there. I ordered the Grilled Walleye Sandwich, it came with thin sliced yukon gold potatoes and a small mixed greens salad. I enjoyed my meal, the potatoes were good, lots of garlic on them :) The grilled walleye was good, though I thought it was a tad bland, maybe it needed more of the housemade tarter sauce, the bun was awesome and the tomato was ripe and perfect. I enjoyed the mixed green salad, the dressing on it was really light and had a zip to it....very good. My husband ordered the Bad Breath Burger, he ordered it medium and it came out perfectly done to medium. I had a bite of his burger, it was really good, and I would order it next time for sure. As reported, you will experience some strong breath afterwards, but it's so worth it. The burger came with the yukon potatoes and mixed green salad just like the grilled walleye sandwich. Be prepared to hunt for a parking spot, although we were the first ones there, the parking is sparse around the building. We will visit again, check it out, you will enjoy it.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“nice menu, great food, good beer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Weary Traveler is a nice place for lunch or casual dinner along Willy Street in Madison. I especially like going here when friends need a mix of foods from vegan to meat or fish sandwiches. The service can be a bit slow, but otherwise a great visit.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“I love Madison and the Weary Traveler”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Bohemian mecca with great drinks. I love the meat and cheese plate here. My husband and I would go here all the time when we owned a summer condo on Lake Monona. We would stay here for hour playing scrabble and other games. I think the board games are the perfect touch that makes this place so special. Everyone that we bring here says that any place where you can play scrabble and get served drinks are is a great combo. Trust me, this place rocks if you dont't feel like the usual sports bar scene. Service can be hit or miss.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Weary Traveler Incorporated also viewed

 

Been to Weary Traveler Incorporated? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Weary Traveler Incorporated, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.