We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Himal” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Himal Chuli

Himal Chuli
318 State St, Madison, WI 53703-2021
(608) 251-9225
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #33 of 820 restaurants in Madison
Cuisines: Vegetarian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Himal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

The quality of the ingredients is high, testified to by my scads of food sensitivities. The Aushak, a favorite of ours, is delicious and the kebobs have whole chunks of meat, instead of the ground meat which some restaurants fill with fat. It's pleasure to dine here!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

89% Recommend
    48
    23
    3
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Midwest
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Better than Nepal iteself”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

I’d walked past Himal Chuli several times on various trips to Madison, but never stopped to eat. On my last trip, my son picked it for our State Street lunch spot. Glad we did – the food was delicious.

My son had the combination platter – momos, samosa, roti and dal soup. I had the palungo saag.

I’ve eaten Nepalese food in Nepal, and I can say our lunch was better than anything I had in Kathmandu or the Khumbu.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Perfect Proportions”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

I got a chicken dish and my husband ordered a beef one. I enjoyed mine and it was the perfect amount of food for me. However, my husband did not enjoy his as much as I did. I think it was just personal preference or lack thereof with the spices that were used in the dish. It was a busy summer night but we still had decent service. I would return here again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Something Unique”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I journeyed into this restaurant after a long day of checking out Madison. We're big fans of Indian food so we thought we'd give it a try. I went Vegetarian while my husband had chicken. All of the food was very fresh and though beans are a prominent ingredient the food felt light and refreshing on a hot summer day. If you're looking to encounter something new give this place a try. The staff was very helpful in pointing us to dishes we could try and even when I decided to journey away from the most popular dishes I was very pleased.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, TN
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“First time for jackfruit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

I always check out the most highly rated vegan friendly restaurants when I travel and this place had some great reviews. It was just a short walk from my hotel on lively State Street. I had to try he curried jackfruit entree, which I had ever had before. My waitress told me that it was a bit like artichoke hearts, which was true, but I thought that it was a bit milder and also the texture somewhat meatier. The spice blend was outstanding. I will definitely be looking to buy and experiment with some jackfruit when I get home!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Himal Chuli also viewed

 

Been to Himal Chuli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Himal Chuli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.