We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice decor, okay food” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Kennedy Manor Dining Room/Bar

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Kennedy Manor Dining Room/Bar
1 Langdon St, Madison, WI 53703-1347
(608) 256-5556
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Kennedy Manor Dining Room/Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #124 of 838 Restaurants in Madison
Price range: $5 - $100
Cuisines: Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Wisconsin Ave
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice decor, okay food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

I decided to take my husband to the Kennedy Manor Dinning Room for his birthday. I picked it based on it's history and the fact it was a "hidden gem". The decor was very 1940's and it definitely takes you back it time. When we walked in, the place was empty and the manager struggled to find our reservation forever. I just wanted to scream "Seriously?! The place is empty, just seat us!"
It was very nice of the waitress to start off by asking if we had plans to go anywhere and if we needed to be out of there at a certain time. She was nice enough, but my husband asked me if he had offended her because she was very cold to us.
That being said, as for food: we had bread (good), cesar salad (good), and I had a Manor Kir (good). My husband asked for a specific glass of wine and they brought him something else, which he didn't care for. He had the risotto which he liked and I had the chicken which was just awful - no flavor, rubbery, fatty, and tasted worse than a grocery store chicken. I ended up just taking it home for the cat - which is the most expensive meal she's ever had. By the end, I left with lots of bread, salad, and the side of mashed potatoes in my stomach. We didn't have dessert. Before tip: $67.00. I would go back for just drinks and the experience but not the food, but my husband said he would get the risotto again not the wine.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    5
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Decent food.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

The place was very quiet for a Friday night. We got salad for starter which was very nice. Mains were nice, portions were perhaps a little small. Complimentary bread was also a nice touch.

However the wine was definitely the best part of the meal. Cheap and very good.

I advise anyone to visit the bar for the wine... Maybe not for the food.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“A quiet, elegant dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

If you are really tired of restaurants that have no acoustics and you find yourself yelling over your fish-whatever, do think of this place as a lovely, quiet, white tablecloth restaurant with dependably good food and time to actually talk with your dinner mates. It is what neighborhood restaurants were and, in some cities, still are. Eat at the bar, sit at a lovely table, have as long an evening as you want, and do it as often as you want. For reasons beyond me, it is rarely crowded, call ahead to see if they are open since it is also a venue for weddings, etc. A great place to recruit someone to Madison - and the uproar at the Edgewater across the street will reliably be over by late Fall.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Classic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Vintage roaring 20's vibe and meticulously prepared delicacies await! The chicken and the risotto and the manhattens and cosmos and the antipasto and the rush of unremembered memories of close to a century....If you're reading this, we missed out on the 20's and we'll never really know how cool it was to be Scott and Zelda, to be a flapper, to be out on the town in the heights of America's burgeoning flourishing, our cultural zenith, where men were men and women were first discovering their liberty. The Kennedy Manor is a time capsule you can swallow. And what a lovely swallow it is.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“No lemon for you!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

My wife and I visited The Kennedy Manor for Valentine’s Day. We found the décor and atmosphere to be simple but elegant. There was a musician playing guitar which was a nice touch. We were greeted by an older gentleman who confirmed our reservation. While he was efficient I would not say that he was pleasant. He simply confirmed our reservation by stating, “Yes you are on the list.”

Our waitress also had a very serious demeanor. At times it seemed as if we were being served by our “strict grandmother”. When it came time to bring us bread she brought us four small slices and only brought more after that was finished. We both ordered fish and when I asked for more lemon to put on the fish, that was greeted by a disapproving look. She did bring me lemon but it took quite a long time and when it did arrive they were two very small pieces.

The food itself was average. For an appetizer I ordered soup which was very basic and my wife ordered risotto with spinach which was quite good but unspectacular. We both had Sea Bass for our entrée which was prepared nicely but unremarkable. For desert we both had a chocolate pudding dish with ice cream which was the best part of the meal.

Overall, our waitress’s demeanor made for a tense atmosphere and the food was unspectacular so I would not recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kennedy Manor Dining Room/Bar also viewed

 

Been to Kennedy Manor Dining Room/Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kennedy Manor Dining Room/Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.