We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Steer clear of the buffet” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Jade Garden

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Jade Garden
1109 S Park St, Madison, WI 53715-1713
608-260-9890
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #576 of 772 Restaurants in Madison
Cuisines: Chinese
Restaurant details
Nashville, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Steer clear of the buffet”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

Only eat here if you want to food poison yourself. None of the food on the buffet is fresh. Not sure ordering a plate would be much better. Bad Chinese food.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    2
    5
    0
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“You'll be filled, guaranteed.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Not authentic but the buffet is quite okay. Lots of entrees have a lot of starch in them so it is not so possible to leave unfilled.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, wi
1 review
“Pretty good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Not as big of a selection as other buffets but what they do have is good. Decent price. I sometimes pay an extra 75 cents and get it to go.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Not Worth a Visit”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

I'm not sure how this got a 3/5 unless it is based on their delivery, but we had the buffet yesterday, and it was by far the worst Chinese buffet experience I have ever had. There was no fresh food. It was all cold and unappealing. When you go to a Americanized Chinese buffet, you expect a certain level of bad-for-you food and self disgust, but I must say this was beyond gross. I can't believe I didn't just walk out of there immediately. If anyone DOES know where you can get good Chinese food, please let me know!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Horrible service, I was literally lied to”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Horrible service. Guy at the door asked me about a tip, and looked at his receipt to make sure when I said it was on the card. I decided to actually tip 15% even though the restaurant isn't even a mile away, and I'm regretting that now.
I ordered Vegetable Chow Mein and they gave me a tin of steamed veggies that was mostly lettuce. I called to say they sent me the wrong thing and the woman who answered actually told me "Chow Mein does not come with noodles." So it's the same thing as just steamed vegetables, I asked? She told me yes.
I don't know who thinks Chow Mein is just steamed vegetables with no noodles or spices, but this restaurant is either run by total idiots and/or people who are just being purposely rude. Especially when Chow Mein LITERALLY MEANS "Fried Noodles!" I will never order from them again.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jade Garden also viewed

 

Been to Jade Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jade Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.