We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place, decent pizza” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Paisan's

Paisan's
131 West Wilson, Madison, WI 53715-1043
608-257-3832
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #84 of 770 Restaurants in Madison
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Doing business
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Front Royal, Virginia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Nice place, decent pizza”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

The atmosphere is nice, service was good, but we were disappointed in the pizza. It wasn't terrible by any means but definitely left something to be desired. We ordered a deluxe pizza and a vegetarian pesto. The sausage on the deluxe was fantastic, a little kick to it, very good. The pesto on the veggie was also great. The one thing that really killed it on both of the pizzas for us was the cheese, big lack of flavor, made the pizzas a bit bland. Personally I would use roma or Sun dried tomatoes with pesto and feta cheese and maybe even some pine nuts. I felt like the only thing between the veggie pesto and a regular cheese and tomato pizza was changing marinara for pesto, it didn't really click for me. The salads were good and the sangria wasn't bad either. Overall, not too bad but if you're really in the mood for good pizza I'd look elsewhere.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    42
    30
    16
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“The worst italian food.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

Chiken alfredo was horrible. The pasta overcooked, the salsa directly from the can, no flavor. I asked for spices, but it was impossible to improve the food.
The ravioles were horrible too. We were 4 people and any of the dishes were acceptables. We could not finish the food, not even half of the plate.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Great pizza!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Excellent pizza!! If the weather is cooperative, grab a seat outside so you can watch the world, well the traffic, go by and see the lakes and the boats. Very relaxing. Very good food.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
madison,wi
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A classic that lives on, with a view.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

This place is old school delicious Italian food. The pizza is perfect, the Girabaldi sandwich is my fav from 1967. The ambiance is A+ with great seasonal outdoor seating. Beer and wine and cocktails are al above average.
It's perfect for parties, couples, or families. Seating areas with different ambiance.
Go, you won't be disappointed!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“A Madison Tradition”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

This was my first time at the new Paisan's location and I was not sure what to expect. I adored the original location and was afraid the atmosphere might have changed. I couldn't have been more wrong. Lots of wood, low lighting, a view of Lake Monona... it was GORGEOUS. I took friends visiting from out of town, and after looking at the menu, one commented, "I thought for sure this was going to be a super-expensive place, by the looks of it." Not so. The prices are very reasonable, the portions perfect, service fantastic. Can't wait to go back in warmer weather and make use of their huge outdoor dining patio overlooking the lake. This restaurant has been a part of Madison for a very long time and it is easy to understand why.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Paisan's also viewed

 

Been to Paisan's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paisan's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.