We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous steak, nice wines, comfortable atomosphere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tornado Steak House

Tornado Steak House
116 S Hamilton St, Madison, WI 53703
608-256-3570
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 838 Restaurants in Madison
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Madison, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Fabulous steak, nice wines, comfortable atomosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

If you are in the mood for a great New York Strip or a filet this is the place in Madison. Some nice wines at reasonable prices. This place is not cheap, but everything is a good value. Thick cuts, perfectly prepared with hash browns and a fresh salad, its hard to go wrong. And there is also a rack of lamb, a Bone in Tenderloin and a fine Walleye for the fish lovers. They also have a Friday night fish fry. Make a reservation and try to get a seat in the smaller room which tends to be a little quieter.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    133
    70
    23
    11
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent supper club”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

The atmosphere is great, this is a true Wisconsin supper club place. The food is outstanding as well. I've eaten here 20+ times over the last 8 years and they have yet to disappoint me in any regard.

They steaks are all solid (I think I've had most of them now), but my favorite is the bone in tenderloin. The lamb is also quite good; I really like the way they prepare it.

Friends say the venison is good but I have not tried it.

They also have my favorite thick cut onion rings on earth. They are amazing.

There's a late night menu in the bar and in the Corral Room that cannot be beat, it runs from 10pm - 1am.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Steak!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

From what I remember, when they ask your soup or salad: try the French Onion Soup. I am still kicking myself for getting the salad..

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Good, if noisy, retro fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Went to Tornado after a football game. The place has a great, retro feel. Reminded me of former greats like Jim's Steak House in Cleveland. My steak was cooked to the right temperature and had a nice tangy taste. Solid sides and a good Ceasar salad. Friendly service. The only drawback was the noise level in the small room caused by one "enthusiastic" table and the small room.

I'd go back.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Yummy steak, tiny portions”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

I had the chance to come hang out in the Corral Room of Tornado Steakhouse late night while on a trip to Madison. The service was great, our waitress was so perky and fun. I had heard great things about their steaks, so I was happy they had some on their late night menu. It was delicious! My only qualm is that it was quite small and it didn't come with a side (unless you count the onion ring on top...which I don't). But, that doesn't stop it from being good. I'd try this place again for sure!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tornado Steak House also viewed

 

Been to Tornado Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tornado Steak House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.