We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great lunch buffet” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Maharaja Restaurant

Maharaja Restaurant
6713 Odana Rd, Madison, WI 53719-1052
(608) 833-1824
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #251 of 820 restaurants in Madison
Cuisines: Indian
Description: Amazing home-cooked authentic food w/exotic seasonings & curries!! Our family favorite for the past 5 years!!! Friendly, honest staff. Good people. Good customer mix of Madisonian types plus authentic foreigners eating authentic India food.
Restaurant details
Description: Amazing home-cooked authentic food w/exotic seasonings & curries!! Our family favorite for the past 5 years!!! Friendly, honest staff. Good people. Good customer mix of Madisonian types plus authentic foreigners eating authentic India food.
Madison, WI
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Great lunch buffet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Maharaja is my favorite Indian buffet. Lots of choices, and I typically like just about everything on the buffet. They do a good job of keeping the food stocked, and nothing is too spicy. That being said, the Indian people I know like Swagat better. But I will return to Maharaja again and again.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

80% Recommend
    20
    13
    5
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cape Coral, FL
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Good Indian food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Good food, decent prices. Quick service. Gave out towels at the end to clean your hand which is welcome after the spices in the food. It is convenient for travelers staying in the area. I would recommend.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent food- large portions- large variety.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012 via mobile

We love Indian food... The town we live in has none so when we drive through Madison we always stop for some Indian... We have tried other indian restaurants there, but Maharaja is the best so far! This time we had to do carry out since a cake was waiting in the car. We ordered 5 entrees and 5 or 6 orders of naan (many varieties). All food was great but some of our favorites were the mixes grill, chicken korma, and meat stuffed naan! While I waited for the food they brought me a cup of chai and went over whole order wt me before I left to ensure everything was there. The portions for entrees were very large and there was actually enough rice with it, but I did think the naan was expensive for what it came with... Atmosphere isn't perfect (strip mall) but that is much less important to me than the food!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Here n there
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“great service & authentic cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

the staff here is so kind - remembering our family, even after long absences.
The food is varied and tasty. Great for vegans and vegetarians.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Try it, you'll like it!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

As the Buffet King, I was a little sceptical about an "indian" restaurant. I went here for the lunch buffet, and was very happy with what I found there. The food is very colorful and flavorful. The lamb curry was excellent, and the vegetarian items were also very tasty. I'll be going back here soon.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Maharaja Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maharaja Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.