We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sad” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Ella's Deli

Ella's Deli
2902 E Washington Ave, Madison, WI 53704-5195
608-241-5291
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #226 of 850 Restaurants in Madison
Cuisines: Dessert, Delicatessen, Kosher
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast
Stoughton, Wisconsin, United States
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Sad”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

I grew up with Ella's Deli. It was the best place ever as a kid. I took my own kids there because it was such a wonderful treat. the food was great and the decor was entertaining. Sadly, it's really gone downhill. The food is now less than average and the decor is looking worn and tired. The many mechanized toys that were always so fascinating are falling apart. Someone, please, rescue Ella's and restore it to it's former greatness!!!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    103
    38
    28
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin, USA
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“NOT The Real Deal!!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

Ella's isn't a real deli by any stretch of the imagination. The food is mediocre, the portions skimpy and the prices outrageous. And the last time I was there - with two children, ages seven and eight - it took a full hour between being seated and lunch being served. When the situation was brought to the attention of the manager, we were met with cool indifference and tokens for a couple rides on their carrousel.

Ella's is a wonderland for small children, but its abundant negatives far outweigh that positive. Add to that their ever increasing prices and indifferent attitude of management. It has become clear to me that it's time to take my business elsewhere - and I shall.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Excellent for kids”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

Ella's Deli is a "Madison Original" and lives up to that title. An excellent deli serving delicious sandwiches. Also excellent for going out for ice cream. Kids will love all of the decorations everywhere!! You'll see notice something different everytime you go. PERFECT for a birthday party!! Prices are a little more than your $4.99 kids meal...but the atmosphere makes it worth the higher prices...

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deerfield, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great for kids, families”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

This is by far the best family, kid restaurant in Madison. The store is decorated with all sorts of nostalgic toys and things to grab their attention. In the summer there is a carousel. The menu is diverse and there is ice cream/dessert shop too.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Kids & their handlers only”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

If your dream is to eat overpriced mediocre food off a sticky table while small children run around, be my guest.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ella's Deli also viewed

 

Been to Ella's Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ella's Deli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.