We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kids love the place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ella's Deli

Ella's Deli
2902 E Washington Ave, Madison, WI 53704-5195
608-241-5291
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #214 of 837 Restaurants in Madison
Cuisines: Delicatessen, Dessert, Kosher
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Bayside
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Kids love the place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

My kids love to go and see all the different items around the restuarant. The food is usually very good but the PRICES are very expensive. The kids meal is meant for maybe kids up to 6 years old. Our kids (both 10) have not eaten off the kids meals for 2 years. The portion sizes are just too small. Having to order a sandwich and soup for kids makes this place much more expensive for a meal out.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    94
    35
    27
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fairport, New York
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A Madison Icon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

GET THE CORNED BEEF! The atmosphere at Ella's is one-of-a-kind, although widely imitated.
Great for kids & families. Always a stop on our itinerary when traveling through Madison. Lots of selections, all the standards + more!
Ice Cream makes the meal & Holy Smokes... a Merry-Go-Round on site!!!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, WI
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Good, but pricy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Go for the entertainment. There are dozens of moving displays, along with each table being themed. We did notice dust on the displays, and the table tops are very worn and scratched, making it hard to see some of the displays in the tables.

Food was average to good, though portion sizes were small for the price. Beware the add ons! When we ordered our sandwiches, we were asked if we wanted fries or another potato. We didn't realize this was an extra $2.75 each until we got the bill. We ordered a Malt to go for $5.30 and got the equivalent of a McD's SMALL for that price. The appetizer sampler for $10 was paltry at best.

Again, food taste was great, just not portion to price.

Service was good.

We had a good time, and will visit again, this time being more careful on what we order. Our lunch (2 adults, 1 child) came to over $50.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Decorated for Young Kids”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Just stayed in Madison two nights and ate dinner here with a small group. Decorations are wacky and kept the 2 and 4 year old diverted somewhat while we waited for the meal. Lots of people there on a Friday night. Large selection of items. Several are vegetarian. I had the veg Ruben Sandwich, which had the normal Ruben items without any meat substitute, served with a pickle spear and very small amount of cole slaw. It was very adequate, but not a huge quantity. Some of the other dishes are quite large. Ask the wait staff if that is important. I also had the veg soup of the day, dill pickle soup. I actually enjoyed it. Capped it off with a dish of their homemade Chitty Chitty Bang Bang premium ice cream. Excellent. Rest of the people in our party enjoyed their meals. The kids took a ride on the outdoor carousel on the way to the parking lot. It costs a dollar each. Not a place I would come back to regularly but interesting as a novelty.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockford, Illinois, United States
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great place to take kids, but adults will enjoy the food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We brought our family here to celebrate a birthday. The kids had PLENTY to look at, as well as riding the carousel, and the adults could actually order a beer or wine, and enjoy their food. The menu is like a book...lots of deli standards, as well as other interesting choices. They have a vegetarian selection also. Desserts: the chocolate cake is great and the caramel apple crisp is delish! My husband had the salami and feta hoagie, and loved it! Fun place!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ella's Deli also viewed

 

Been to Ella's Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ella's Deli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.