We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not impressed” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Outback Steakhouse

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Outback Steakhouse
279 Junction Rd, Madison, WI 53717-2615
608-829-0505
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #182 of 838 Restaurants in Madison
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: Steakhouse
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Madison, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Not impressed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We arrived later in the evening on a Friday night. There were no tables available in the dining area, but we were able to be seated at a very small table in the bar. There seemed to be a large number of customers waiting - either waiting for food to be boxed or for their bills. Though our server tried to be attentive, service was slow. There were only 2 bartenders, which was not enough for even a moderately busy restaurant. In contrast, there were 4 or 5 people standing around the hostess stand. The beer and wine selections were uninspired - from the big breweries and wineries that produce quantity, not quality. The menu included the statement to ask about their local beers, but they only had one. The dirty fork I received was a turn off. The food was average. I had a mixed seafood grill. The seasoning made it tasty, but it was not high quality seafood. We usually eat at local restaurants rather than chains, but a coupon lured us to try this chain. It was very much a standardized chain experience. Madison has many better local restaurants.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    17
    6
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Always Grand”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Visited on a busy Saturday night and still seated quickly. The Lobster and Steak specials were our choice. The steaks were done to perfection and the lobster was not over or under cooked. The best part of any meal is the service and Phillip K was an excellent server. He was attentive and made sure we were taken care of. We will return to this restaurant.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

My husband and I were given a gift card to Outback for our 40th anniversary. I had only been once and my husband never. We had a great meal! It was a Friday night and they had a delicious fish fry; fried tilapia with made in house tartar sauce. The fish was flaky and tasty with a lovely light breading that enhanced the fish without overpowering it. The service was beyond compare. Our waitress made sure we were well taken care of and the manager stopped by a couple of times. We will certainly be back...on a Friday night!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Very nice service and menu!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012 via mobile

We have been to outback many times and always have a good experience. The menu selections are extensive, the food is served very well, and service is always good. My most recent visit utilized the Drive up Carry out service. Ordering online was a breeze and very complete. They give you a ready time to the minute and they meet it. Because you give them the make, model, and color of your car, when you drive up the Wait staff person is out the door to greet you with your food and a smile before you can turn off the car! You pay at the curb, so weather is never an issue. This is almost delivery! Can't wait to go again.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Outsanding Outback!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

First of all the astmosphere is fun, yet upscale. The food & service we've had at Outback is OUTSTANDING. Wish we had one in our back yard. The potato soup is thee best, absolutely delcious. The salads, crisp & homemade dressing divine, fresh bread & butter - it doesn't get much better than that. The shrimp & steak, all of it has always been delicous, cooked just right . It's a little pricey but well worth the money & visit. My mouth is watering just thinking about Outback. Highly recommend it & now anticipate our next visit, as I've talked myself into going there again shortly.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Outback Steakhouse also viewed

 

Been to Outback Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Outback Steakhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.