We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wife's birthday dinner out...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of L'Etoile Restaurant

L'Etoile Restaurant
1 South Pinckney Street, Madison, WI 53703
+1 608-251-0500
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
L'Etoile Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #5 of 850 Restaurants in Madison
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: East Washington
Madison
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Wife's birthday dinner out...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Wow. Really nice. Oh yah, really expensive. White table cloth, multiple courses, small servings, distinctive flavors to each bite. Wonderful meal. Great service. Probably won't go again. Too expensive. If I want to spend over a couple hundred on dinner and a moderate bottle of wine, I'll do it in Chicago or San Francisco.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    142
    33
    24
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Pascagoula, MS
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Interesting but not outstanding”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

I went here for a solo dinner. I picked three small plates instead of an app and main. The pork belly was first and was the best, I would recommend. This was followed by the sweetbreads. They were the worst sweetbreads that I have ever had. They were tough and stringy and I felt the breadding was too thick. The meal ended with the pork tenderloin and this was just ok. This is the first time in quite a while that I was disappointed by a restaurant that was so highly rated

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in Madison”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

This is not your typical Wisconsin restaurant. It is heavy on the pocketbook and not heavy on quantity. So if you are looking for a cheap restaurant with loads of food, do not go here. However, if you are looking for a true foodie experience with local foods and expert wine pairings, please go here. This is our favorite restaurant in Madison especially for special occassions. The food and service is always wonderful. If you are fortunate enough to have Michael serve you, he is a master of pairing wine and food. Even if he does not serve you, you can ask for his assistance to match your wine and highly recommend you do so. His passion for the food and wine is unlike anything in Madison. The restaurant did move not too long ago and the ambience is different than the old location. The view of the capital is beautiful but you can feel like you are in a fishbowl particarly at the tables by the window.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Best food in Madison”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Hands down the best restaurant and best dining experience in a town with a lot of very good ones. You'll need to take out a second mortgage on the house, but you'll feel it was worth it.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Crosse, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Food Perfection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

A random trip to Madison, WI was topped off with dinner at L'Etoile. Make reservations ahead of time. They had personalized menus we got to keep and the view of the Madison Capitol at night was amazing. I recommend the wine paring with your meal. Everything was fresh and the perfect portions, and out-of-this-world flavors. I shared this dinner with someone very close to my heart which made it ever more special. I will have to return again.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Etoile Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to L'Etoile Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'Etoile Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.