We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh, delicious creative food. Mmmmmm.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of L'Etoile Restaurant

L'Etoile Restaurant
1 South Pinckney Street, Madison, WI 53703
+1 608-251-0500
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
L'Etoile Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #7 of 836 Restaurants in Madison
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: East Washington
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Fresh, delicious creative food. Mmmmmm.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

We booked a day ahead, but how many other restaurants use the information gathered to personalize the menu. This first thoughtful touch was the beginning of one of the most delicious meals I have tasted. THe food was fresh and the promotion of locally sourced ingredients was lovely. We enjoyed looking at the list of farms and suppliers on the back of the menu as well as the map that we spotted when we left showing the location of the restaurant's suppliers located throughout Wisconsin.
The delicate yet interesting mix of flavours was spectacular and each course was a treat.
The service was attentive. This

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    132
    33
    25
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Lexington, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Best meal since Paris”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Since my brother and his wife are celebrating their 40th anniversary just after Christmas he decided that we should all help them celebrate at this restaurant. Because he and I visited the Domaine Rouge-Bleu vineyard in Provence last summer this had special significance for us. Rouge-Bleu wines are the product of the winemaking skills of Jean Marc Espinasse whose wife Kristin has the blog French-Word-A-Day. All excellent. We like the Mistral and the Dentelle. There is also a rose which is very good in the summer.

The food here was absolutely top notch and memorable. Service was very attentive and included some special touches to mark the anniversary we were celebrating - a surprise gift of a glass of champagne for everyone at the table started the festivities with a toast before we ordered. The menus were prepared with a notation at the top congratulating the couple on their anniversary--a very nice touch. The steak was very memorable and even the vegetarian item on the menu was incredible.

This restaurant is right downtown in Madison directly across the street from the Wisconsin State Capitol. All lighted on a cold, snowy December night it was a beatiful view. I did not have an opportunity to visit the previous location which was much more cozy and traditional, but surprisingly, this traditionalist was very comfortable in the new soaring glass and steel space. Despite the openess of the space conversation was intimate and we did not experience the uncomfortable echo that is often found in such an large open space.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Worth a meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Our experience was wonderful, the food was nice to try at least once. Our first courses consisted of a pork belly dish as well as a duck confit dish. Both were flavorful and well prepared. Our entree was the grass fed steak. It was good- but all of the accompaniments were a bit overwhelming. We were so full after dinner that we didn't try a dessert- but they gave us a complimentary plate of peppermint meringue and caramel popcorn. It was delicious! the service and staff were all awesome--- when my husband mentioned how much he liked the popcorn, they even gave him some to go!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Living on Past Reputation”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Once considered the best restaurant in Madison, this place is not living up to its past reputation. Service is indifferent, food quality average and way overpriced. The location has moved from the one pictured in this page to a modern bank building environment.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Good, but not breathtaking”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

L’Etoile (French meaning “The Star”) is situated in center of Madison. Restaurant occupies the ground floor of the modern building with glass walls and a spectacular view of Wisconsin State Capitol which is only 3 feet shorter than the nation’s capitol in Washington D.C. The restaurant is run by executive chef and co-proprietor Tory Miller who was named, along with 4 other chefs, the finalist for Best Chef of Midwest region 2012 James Beard Foundation Award. Midwest region (in definition of James Beard Foundation) includes Iowa, Kansas, Minnesota, Missouri, Nevada, North Dakota, South Dakota and Wisconsin. As a matter of fact, Chicago restaurants are not competing in this region. We were intrigued by nomination of Chef Tory Miller and made a reservation for Saturday evening. The interior of L’Etoile, a spacey hall with modern décor, resembles luxury New York style restaurant. The bar with a friendly barman is in the center of the hall, tables for small companies are in the front and tables for bigger groups are located at the back on some kind of mezzanine. That is where the table was prepared for our party of 10 (ranging in age from 11 to 57), which was fine. Both exterior and interior of the restaurant are impressive and receive highest marks.
In L’Etoile you are given a menu with the name of the party printed on it. It is a nice personal touch which I have not seen in any other restaurant. Good idea!
The meal began with canapés, small decorative food. And there occurred the first serious slip allowed by the restaurant team. As it common in high top food establishments, we were contacted in advance to inquire about possible allergies or food restrictions. We duly warned that one member of the party has a severe allergy to nuts. Nevertheless, everybody was served with the same type of canapé with nuts as one of the components. It is a serious oversight, since, if it would not be caught in time, it could very well ruin the whole evening. When we attracted waiter’s attention to this matter, canapé was quickly replaced. But what is the point of inquiring in advance about allergies, if you do not inform the waiter about it?
Canapés were followed by Amuse Bushe with asparagus (must be from Priske’s Asparagus farm) and cheese as main elements. Amuse Bushe were very delicate and enjoyable. Was it creamy cottage cheese? Anyway, the presentation was excellent; the food was unusual and tasty.
Next the first courses came.
Fountain Prairie beef carpaccio, grilled asparagus, hard boiled hen egg, pickled mushrooms, maple brioche croutons, truffled shoestring potatoes, Bleu Mount Dairy Havarti, pea shoots ($14). Carpaccio was very gentle, the flavor of vegetables added to the balance of the dish and display was nice. However hard boiled eggs did not work for me in this set up and seemed to be out of place.
L’Etoile emphasizes its enthusiastic support for local farms and even includes the farm names in menu, adding originality to the already quite sophisticated menu. It was our first time in this restaurant, but it appears that there are obligatory seasonal changes and the menu is continuously transforming. I personally do not share the passion for local organic and naturally-raised ingredients, but many people do.
House-smoked sturgeon, oyster mushroom-green garlic bread gallette, Jones Valley Farm mache, Meyer lemon-herb crème fraiche, fried capers ($15) The dish was nicely arranged and, according to those members of our part who ordered it, the sturgeon was excellent.
This was followed by Midcourses.
Stinging nettle risotto, Wild Alaskan King crab, rock shrimp, mushrooms, asparagus, SarVecchio, lemon zest ($17). Risotto was stunning.
Braised Fox Valley Beerkshire pork belly, corn bread puree, spring vegetables, bourbon jus, blackberry gastrique ($17)
Black Earth Valley baby lettuce soup, smoked ham, spring garlic, 15-yr cheddar cheese, buttermilk fried chicken, dill, tarragon ($16). The soup looked very nice and tasted amazing. As you see the majority of the dishes in L’Etoile are rather complex with multiple top drawer local ingredients. In this case it all contributed nicely to impressive flavor.
L’Etoile has an extensive wine list, but it is where the second slip happened. We ordered a bottle of Barbarescu 2006 from Giuseppe Nada Winery ($62) and were not impressed. The second bottle however was amazing. It was 2006 Montepulciano d'Abruzzo Spelt ($51) and everybody loved it. It is a delicious wine coming to maturity in 2012 (91 points in Parker scale). So we ordered one more bottle and were told that we bought the last one. Not good, but it happens sometimes. In this case the restaurant should offer another wine of similar type for the price of first one, even if it is more expensive. We made our selection, the order was taken and everything was fine. However, five minutes later our order was refused on the ground that the ordered wine was too expensive. Well, that should not happen. Surely, the restaurant suffers some loss in this case, but they need to think about saving the face, not the bank account. Anyway, the bottle of 2006 Montepulciano d'Abruzzo Spelt can be purchased for $15-20 on the internet, the profits are remarkable for wine serving, and therefore restaurant would not lose too much by meeting our request. Our party paid more than $2,000 this evening and the restaurant was trying to save $20. L’Etoile is positioning itself as a high-end restaurant worthy of comparison with the best ones, but in this case they behaved like newcomers to the restaurant business. We were taken care of and got another wine (Mascarini Barolo La Serra 2007) which was actually very good (wine list price $82, sold to us for $51). By denying us our first choice the restaurant at the end saved $20 and spoiled its reputation. Astonishingly, it was not the end of it. Few days later, looking through the itemized receipt we discovered that the restaurant still charged us the full cost for the Mascarini. It took two phone calls to convince them to retract this decision.
Next came entrees
Pan roasted MacFarlane lamb-rack, marcona almond, dried fruit & pine nut couscous, Priske’s saparagus, Garam Masala date jus ($39). Couscous prepared with dried fruit and pine nuts was delicious, probably the best couscous I ever tasted. Lamb was nothing special. I am not a big fun of lamb rack, and this entree did nothing to change my mind.
Wild Alascan halibut, truffled Butter Mountain purple Viking potato puree, house-cured bacon lardons, grilled Egypian walking onion, wild ramp & mushromm ragout, herb salad, beurre rouge ($38). Halibut was served without the sauce and beurre rouge (butter based emulsified sauce) was added already at the table. The dish was pleasant and ingredients were of good quality (as in all dishes) but it was nothing extraordinary.
Grilled Dayboat scallops, Sprouting Acres cranberry beans, spicy Italian sausage, Canopy garden cherry tomatoes, red onions, braised baby kale, endive salad, pistou ($39)
John & Dorothy Priske Fountain Praire Farm dry-aged, grass-fed steak, gruyere-potato latkes, Snug Haven spinach, copra onion confit & mushroom ragout, blue cheese & bone marrow compound butter and Cabernet jus. 9 oz NY Strip ($54) was of good quality.
Deserts menu offered a number of interesting possibilities ($9 each). Lemongrass crème brulee, sesame lace cookie, polvoron. Crème brulee was quite ordinary and I did not like sesame lace cookie at all in this combination. Maybe it was supposed to contrast with its salty taste the sweetness of crème brulee, but it did not work for me.
Raspberry stuffed crepes, peach saffron sauce, apricot frozen yogurt. Again it was a nice desert, but nothing extraordinary. You can get similar desert in less ambitious places.
Port Flight was a collection of three high quality ports (1 ounce each): Quinta do Infantado 20-year tawny, 2005 Quinta do Noval Late Bottled Vintage Port and 1994 Dows Vintage Port ($16) served with some Wisconsin blue cheese.
With the check came caramel corn and the last slip. For some reason the dish which was $39 in menu was billed $45. How that could happen in a good place –beyond me. When mentioned to the waiter, it was immediately corrected, but still it shows the lack of attention to details (presumably the reason was the confusion with seasonal change of the menu), which should not happen in the restaurant aiming to be at the top.
In summary, L’Etoile is seeking the status of top restaurant and thus has high standards to meet. It is not there yet. The food is solid and ingredients are high quality, but the dishes are not breathtaking. Prices are high. L’Etoile is not eligible to Michelin rating (since Michelin currently is not looking at this region), but in any case it probably does not deserve it yet. The food preparation is inferior to such one star Michelin Chicago restaurants as Blackbird and Vie. The service and management are really second-rate. The interior and exterior are great. The wine list is excellent, but is downgraded by poor management.
In May the news came that Tory Miller was awarded the Best Chef of Midwest region 2012 James Beard Foundation Award. We congratulate the Chef and wish him to take the restaurant to new higher level.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Etoile Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to L'Etoile Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'Etoile Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.