We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Upscale Diner” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Plate Diner

Blue Plate Diner
2089 Atwood Ave, Madison, WI 53704-5353
(608) 244-8505
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 825 Restaurants in Madison
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Madison, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Upscale Diner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Blue Plate looks like a diner, but it's so much more. Delicious fresh food, wonderful chocolate shakes. But great selections for vegetarians as well. Wonderful food.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    44
    16
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sun Prairie, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
“Love Love LOVE!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

This is truly a diner experience but with gourmet food! Went here for breakfast & thoroughly enjoyed every bite. They were very accommodating to modify my meal to avoid allergens & not only didn't seem put out by it - almost welcomed the chance to make my food perfect for me. My only complaint is that it's a small restaurant & there's almost always a line. However they do have disposable cups & free coffee while you wait. And it's worth the wait!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Diner with vegan options!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

This is a fun and funky diner with traditional diner foods, but also an extensive list of vegan offerings. I had a hard time choosing between the tempeh hash and the French toast (made with almond milk), but ultimately went with the tempeh hash, which came with tofu scramble, toast, and fresh fruit. So tasty, fresh and full of veggie goodness. I cleaned my plate! My non-veg husband had the giant stack of (non vegan) pancakes and loved them. Our server was friendly and helpful, prices were reasonable, and it was an overall great experience.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern New Jersey
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Terrific Breakfast/Lunch Spot In Madison”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

This is a GREAT find in Madison for breakfast or lunch (while they also serve dinner). You will feel instantly welcomed with free hot mugs of coffee while you wait (and you WILL wait for a table as it always seems busy). The food could not be more delicious or fresh and is served by an extremely friendly and accommodating staff. You will not go wrong at the Blue Plate, a top shelf spot!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great breakfast!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We go to Blue Plate on week ends for breakfast. We've tried and liked nearly everything on their breakfast menu but we tend to stick with their Country breakfast for the great potatoes and the fresh made biscuit. The place caters to a wonderful slice of Madison, from refuse collectors to judges and physicians. Both decor and background music stir up wonderfully nostalgic feelings and the service is warm and friendly.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Plate Diner also viewed

 

Been to Blue Plate Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Plate Diner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.