We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy, Comfortable & Ideally Located B & B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mendota Lake House B&B

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Mendota Lake House B&B to your Saves list
Mendota Lake House B&B
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   704 E. Gorham St., Madison, WI 53703 (Formerly Collins House Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 9 Madison B&B and Inns
Maryland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Cozy, Comfortable & Ideally Located B & B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Mendota Lake House. It's a stunning historic arts and crafts style house with a lot of character and charm and, while it's very spacious and open, it also feels cozy and intimate. The view of the lake is spectacular, and the grounds are very pleasant. We stayed in the Gore Vidal room (all of the rooms have great names), which is described as a smaller room, but it still had a sitting area, and we found it more than spacious enough for our needs. The hosts, David and Bob, were very helpful, easygoing and interesting, offering restaurant recommendations and good conversation in general. David encouraged us to use the television and common area as well as the kitchen, which we really appreciated, and it was immediately clear that guests at Mendota Lake House are welcome to relax and make themselves at home. This is a friendly, lived-in place where you feel very comfortable, and it would be ideal for an extended stay. Breakfast was just fine for us; the website clearly states that a continential breakfast is served, so that is what we expected. The offerings, which included cheese, English muffins, cereal, oatmeal, fruit, scones and yogurt, actually exceeded our expectations of a continental breakfast. Parking is provided, and the location is ideal, with many places of interest within walking distance, or only a short drive away. We also thought the rates were reasonable. All in all, Mendota Lake House provided a very enjoyable and comfortable stay, and we definitely plan to return (hopefully when the weather is warmer so that we can really enjoy the lake).

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dpwaugh, Owner at Mendota Lake House B&B, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Thanks for this great review -- very well written and thoughtful! We really enjoyed having you and are especially happy when people use the space as their own. That is what we really strive for -- a place for guests to feel comfortable and at home. Thanks for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    5
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
12
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We booked for 2 nights at Mendota Lake House & were very pleasantly surprised. The lake house itself is stunning, it's like stepping back in time. The furnishings in the lounge, dining room etc were comfortable & beautiful. We liked the concept of one large table for breakfast but only met one other guest at breakfast whilst we were there. Breakfast was ample (for us anyway). Fruit juices, tea, coffee, cereals (recommend the granola), muffins, cheese, jam, fresh fruit & yogurts. We stayed in the Oscar Wilde room & this was huge. Triple aspect, great views of the lake too. Lovely bathroom with whirlpool bath which unfortunately we didn't get to sample. David & Bob, the hosts, are really welcoming & made us feel at home & that's the nice thing about staying here, you do feel like you're staying with friends in their home which worked for us. Would definitely recommend & wish we'd stayed longer. Thanks David & Bob & good luck with Mendota Lake House. Oh & the front gardens are stunning too !

Room Tip: Oscar Wilde room was comfortable & beautiful views but do not know about any of the other rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dpwaugh, Owner at Mendota Lake House B&B, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you for this great review. Every day I look out at the lake and feel so fortunate to be in this house and to be able to share it with so many wonderful visitors like you. Thanks so much for taking the time to review our B&B.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sycamore, Illinois
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Mendota Lake House B&B is in a fabulous location. The rooms are big, airy, and have comfortable beds. Some of the rooms have balconies that overlook Lake Mendota. Our stay there was comfortable and pleasant. However, where was the breakfast? We were told breakfast was served from about 7:30 to 10:00 Upon arriving in the dining room at 8:30 for "breakfast" I found three pieces of cheese, an English muffin sitting in a package near a toaster, a few bananas and peaches (same ones as on the table the night before). I kept waiting, expecting more food to be brought out. There were two containers of cold cereal sitting on a buffet table. But that was it!!
A few other amenities were also missing: no hair dryers in the rooms. Also, some cheese, cookies or some other dessert or sweet item would have been appreciated in the evening.
Bob, the host was extremely helpful, kind and welcoming.
If you want a comfy, pleasant place to stay in a great Madison location, this is great. Just don't expect breakfast. Expect a pleasant hotel.

Room Tip: Tennessee Williams room has a great balcony and view along with a lovely sitting area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dpwaugh, Owner at Mendota Lake House B&B, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Thanks for letting us know we could spruce up the continental breakfast. Our current offering includes two kinds of organic cheese, plain english muffins, 3 fresh fruit offerings, home made organic granola, a commercial cereal, organic yogurt, juice, tea and coffee. My business model is to charge less in exchange for a light, self serve breakfast. Those looking for a big beefy breakfast will definitely not find it here. We do have wonderful places nearby that serve an excellent full breakfast. However, I really appreciate this feedback as it allows me to strive to do better!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrington, New Hampshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Before booking, we checked out all of the Madison B&Bs before settling on the Mendota Lake House, in part due to its great location and view of Lake Mendota. We were very happy with our choice. Our plane got in very early, so we called Bob to see if we could leave our car in their parking lot even though check-in wasn't until 3 PM. He graciously offered us both the parking spot--necessary for Madison--and an even earlier check-in if we needed. We stayed in the Oscar Wilde room, and the photos don't do the room justice. It is very spacious, attractive, and comfortable. It would be perfect for an extended stay. We appreciated the tempurpeadic mattress as well. The entire house is a lovely example of the prairie school of architecture and was a treat to see and experience. The yard and gardens are beautiful, very diverse, and inviting. The continental breakfast fit our tastes--homemade granola (yum!), good coffee, fruit, etc. Bob recommended the restaurant Fourquarter, just a block away, for dinner and we couldn't have been happier with that suggestion. Excellent! The only drawback--and this is out of the owners' control--is street traffic noise. But, given the choice location, that would be hard to avoid. We'd definitely stay here again, especially considering that the owners just moved in 9 months ago and are working hard at upgrades, etc.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dpwaugh, Owner at Mendota Lake House B&B, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank you for this great review! We feel very fortunate to open this great house to people who are away from home. So glad you chose to stay with us! And we are so lucky to have such a top notch restaurant as the Forequarter so close. Those folks really know what they are doing.

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

We recently spent a week at this B&B. If you appreciate staying in a heritage house you will no doubt enjoy this home and the surroundings. It's more of a "cottage" feel I would say, but quite comfortable and we enjoyed the hosts too. They have worked very hard to restore and beautify the home and gardens. Madison is a great place to visit for a holiday - this location has all the advantages of being right on the lake and beside a large park/beach, as well as being walking distance the the capitol and top restaurants. The best of both worlds! There is also a 24 hour self-serve laundry just half a block away, which we took advantage of during our stay, very convenient. There is quite a bit of traffic noise from the street on weekdays, but this is eased somewhat if you close the windows. The breakfast is continental - we didn't take much advantage of it in favour of the local bakeries, but the coffee was good (important!) and the breakfast items were made available for several hours each morning, which was convenient.

Room Tip: We stayed in two rooms - the Oscar Wilde, which is extremely spacious, but partly faces on to the bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dpwaugh, Owner at Mendota Lake House B&B, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Great having you folks staying with us. We often refer to our house as our little cottage on the lake. And at over 7000 sq. feet, I love that a house of that size can feel cozy like a cottage. Great description! Thanks for taking the time for giving us a review. Hope you'll come see us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Spacious downstairs rooms that exude a solid charm. I enjoyed the soft classical music playing in the background. Our room upstairs (Tennessee Williams) was also large with an antique tub and nice towels. The toiletries hidden inside the plain containers are high quality and natural. The owners are friendly but not imposing and seem happy to take the time to talk or leave a guest alone as to the guest's whim. The Mendota Lake House B&B is a historic property but newly opened by the present owners. Expect there to be a bit of peeling paint, and not every doily in perfect place. Also the continental breakfast, while tasty, is minimal. Downtown and the university are very close. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would happily return.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dpwaugh, Owner at Mendota Lake House B&B, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Great meeting you folks and thanks for this review! I have immediately inspected all doilies! It was great having you, we really enjoyed your visit. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We stayed here 3 nights as part of a months holiday crossing USA by bus and train.It was a perfect place to stay,a lovely old (for USA!) house on the shore of the lake.It is nice to see older properties which haven't been spoilt by modernisation, retaining the features and atmosphere but still being a very comfortable place to stay.It is a great situation with public transport right outside the front door though is walkable to and from downtown.We had a lovely 3 days and thanks to David and Bob for everything.Keep up the good work!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dpwaugh, Owner at Mendota Lake House B&B, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Great having you folks. I really appreciated how much YOU appreciated the public transport. Thanks for the delightful visit. AND, I will look you up when I make it to Scotland!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mendota Lake House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mendota Lake House B&B

Address: 704 E. Gorham St., Madison, WI 53703 (Formerly Collins House Inn)
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Madison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mendota Lake House B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mendota Lake House B&B is perfectly situated in downtown Madison on the shore of Madison's largest lake, Lake Mendota. We are within walking distance of the state Capitol (15 min.)and the University of Wisconsin campus (1 mile.) The stunning 1911 arts and crafts home was built in the prairie school style by local architects Louis W. Claude and Edward F. Starck. Hosts and owners Bob and David have lived in Madison for more than 30 years and offer a wealth of information about the area. Guests enjoy a hearty continental breakfast with fresh and organic products. We have free parking and free wifi. Don't expect a fancy B&B. We are plain and simple. We will provide you with what we look for in our own travels -- a clean room with a comfy bed at a reasonable price in a great location. Languages spoken include French, Italian and Spanish. The house is in great shape but we are doing restoration work as time permits. Hope to see you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Mendota Lake House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mendota Lake House B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.