We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location with friendly hosts and lots of potential” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mendota Lake House B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Madison
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mendota Lake House B&B
704 E. Gorham St., Madison, WI 53703 (Formerly Collins House Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 8 Madison B&B and Inns
Peoria Heights, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great location with friendly hosts and lots of potential”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012 via mobile

Fun new inn right near downtown Madison. Recently opened so still figuring out the ropes, but great promise for the future. Awesome room layouts, still in need of some updating. Two person jacuzzi is a nice touch; would love a working fireplace to make the experience complete. A little high priced in the current state with a fairly basic breakfast, but would happily come back in nicer weather to enjoy the location right on the lake. Would recommend for people who want to experience downtown Madison and the rich architectural history of the city.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dpwaugh, Owner at Mendota Lake House B&B, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Thanks for staying with us and providing us with great feedback! We strive to have a good selection in our continental breakfast but we do realize the ideal is a full breakfast. It is our goal to move in that direction and maybe at this time next year we will be there. I hope you'll think of us again when you visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    15
    3
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
10
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Barre Mills, Wisconsin, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

New B & B in Madison, WI. A wonderful old craftsman mansion on Lake Mendota. It was warm, inviting and very comfortable. Close to UW campus and the state capitol. The room was well appointed with a king bed, soft large towels, bathrobes and wonderful views. There no televisions in the rooms which I love but there is Free Wi Fi. Plenty of parking a nice continental breakfast and fantastic coffee. The owners were wonderful hosts and I would highly recomend their beautiful home for a stay in Madison...we will be back many times!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dpwaugh, Owner at Mendota Lake House B&B, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Thanks for the review! It was great meeting you and hope to see you this summer. If you have any questions about events in Madison, please get in touch.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, Minnesota
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

This new B & B is in a 100+-yr old mansion on Lake Mendota, with great views of the lake (and sunsets) from most rooms, easy access to the capitol and UW campus, access to a nice walking path on the lake, and friendly and interesting hosts. Our party had the Whitman and Wilde rooms, both of which were spacious and comfortable. We appreciated nice touches like extra large towels and bathrobes, and whirlpool tubs. All in all a great Madison home away from home.

Room Tip: The Wilde room is more like a luxury suite, with a large sitting area and windows on three sides.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dpwaugh, Owner at Mendota Lake House B&B, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Hi Karen, thanks for this nice review! Bob and I really enjoyed having you and Don, Gretchen and Cooper staying with us. You have a great family with many interesting things to talk about.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mendota Lake House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mendota Lake House B&B

Address: 704 E. Gorham St., Madison, WI 53703 (Formerly Collins House Inn)
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Madison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mendota Lake House B&B is perfectly situated in downtown Madison on the shore of Madison's largest lake, Lake Mendota. We are within walking distance of the state Capitol (15 min.)and the University of Wisconsin campus (1 mile.) The stunning 1911 arts and crafts home was built in the prairie school style by local architects Louis W. Claude and Edward F. Starck. Hosts and owners Bob and David have lived in Madison for more than 30 years and offer a wealth of information about the area. Guests enjoy a hearty continental breakfast with fresh and organic products. We have free parking and free wifi. Don't expect a fancy B&B. We are plain and simple. We will provide you with what we look for in our own travels -- a clean room with a comfy bed at a reasonable price in a great location. Languages spoken include French, Italian and Spanish. The house is in great shape but we are doing restoration work as time permits. Hope to see you soon! ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mendota Lake House B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Mendota Lake House B&B to your Saves list