We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty little restaurant, mediocre food” 3 of 5 stars
Review of T. Sushi

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
T. Sushi
214 N Henry Street, Madison, WI
Improve this listing
Ranked #562 of 821 restaurants in Madison
Cuisines: Japanese
Restaurant details
Appleton, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Pretty little restaurant, mediocre food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

I saw this restaurant one day while visiting State Street, and made a trip back at a later date just to try it. From the outside looking in, it looked classy enough; Relatively modern decor, great mood lighting being dimly lit, and romantic. We dined there in the evening and sat next to the window. The experience itself was enjoyable; the service was friendly, helpful and prompt. The menu offered a nice selection to choose from. We ordered a roll or two at a time, and ordered a few times after each roll. A great deal of running for the server, and she still remained attentive and happy. Unfortunately, the food itself was "Meh". Very bland, nothing to write home about. The seaweed salad had an "extra" ingredient (as compared to normal seaweed salad) creating a weird texture. I can't remember anymore what it was- but I remember trying to convince my friend that this wasn't how seaweed salad normally tastes. The rolls were a bit overpriced and flavorless, but were visually attractive.
All in all, I felt the quality of the food did not match the quality of the restaurant. I will chalk it up to an "experience" and will not return. If given the opportunity, don't get lured in based on what you see. The food is not worth it. Try a different restaurant.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5 reviews from our community

20% Recommend
    0
    1
    1
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“T is for terrible”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Overpriced and disappointing. They need to hire an actual sushi chef. If you want sushi, head to Muramoto or Takara or Wasabi.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, WI
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
“great lobster bisque”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

My boyfriend and I ate here on his birthday. I am not a fan of sushi, but he likes it. He enjoyed his sushi and I loved the lobster bisque. It was very good. The restaurant is a little expensive for State Street, but the lobster bisque was definitely worth the 8.00 they charged for it.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Not the place for sushi”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

We heard mixed reviews of this place and thought we would give it a try before a show at Overture. Nice atmosphere, great start with a flavorful bowl of miso soup. Then the sushi rolls came. Our group had 7 different rolls. Ick. The rice was pasty and stuck to my teeth. The cucumber mint sauce should not be allowed near sushi. I couldn't scrape it off and it made a bad situation worse. And strawberry's don't work in a roll. I was hungry so I managed to get most of the food down - but it was overly chewy and a chore. With wonderful places nearby like Wasabi, Red, Takara, and Muramoto. There is no need to eat at this place. It did have a cool back lounge room that would be nice for an after show drink. But still no reason to go near the overly riced, pasty sushi. And it was really expensive. Similar rolls are several dollars less at other downtown sushi places.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Overpriced & Bland Sushi”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

There are some decent sushi places in Madison, but this isn't one, and it's sad because I live right around the corner. The rolls are overpriced (like $14-16 each) for Madison, and the place tries to be fancy, forgetting that it's on State Street in Madison, Wisconsin. Plus, the rolls aren't even good. Bland and stuffed with filler, rather than fish. Went once, and won't go back. Will stick with Muramoto or Red Sushi.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed T. Sushi also viewed

 

Been to T. Sushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage T. Sushi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.