We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Bunch of Posers” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Concerts on the Square

Concerts on the Square
The Square, By Wisconsin Chamber Orchestra, Madison, WI
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 38 Activities in Madison
Type: Performances
Attraction details
Madison, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“A Bunch of Posers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

The Madison Symphony is pretty good, and their selection of music is pretty good too. On nice days the concerts are a great pass time. When its hot, forget about it... its a nightmare. If you really like the music it is great. My beef is so many of the people there are just posers who think that if they go there and are 'seen' then they are cool. They would not know the difference between a work by Mozart and monkey farting. Parking is beyond a nightmare, in general locals stay clear of the downtown area when the concerts are going on. Oh, and take sunscreen, bug spray. Lots of bug spray.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    11
    3
    6
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
madison
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“a great evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

a place to relax, a place to visit with friends, a place to picnic with a glass of wine, a place to hear great music...and it's free. can't ask for more than that

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“The best free summer event”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

You get to sit out on the Capital lawn, have a picnic and listen to a first class symphony, for FREE. Bring mosquito repellent if it hasn't been dry.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Classical music after work”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

This is within walking distance of my office. I was able to get a good place to listen to the music. It was fun watching all the different people who attended the event. This event helps make summer in Madison such a delight.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“don't bother to go unless forecast is for perfect weather”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

we look forward every year to the concert nearest July 4th for the 1812 Overture. The Chamber Orchestra always does it right, with cannons from the national guard, or I guess more recently sound effects. EXCEPT this July 3. There were scattered showers predicted, but we trudged up to the square at 3:30 for the 7 p.m. concert anyway to get good spaces. The concert started late because o a slight mist. I understand that. They have to protect the musicians and the instruments. They announced because of a late start, they'd skip the intermission. Because it was sprinkling again at 8, they did have an intermission. Okay. But when they come back, another Gershwin song, they do the tribute to the service members, present and past (to applause and cheers) and announce they're going to do an abbreviated version of the 1812. It amounted to the 2.99 Overture. Just under 3 minutes. They should have cut one of the Gershwin songs. Sometimes when "local institutions" read their own press clippings, they forget about the audience. Then after they cut the 1812, they do the Washington Post March! We won't bother going again unless it's perfect weather so they can perform what's listed, AND their signature July 4th piece. Oh by the way, another reviewer complained about not being able to talk with friends during the concerts, I think he or his ilk sits by us every concert. Yes it's a free concert, and not in a concert hall, but don't be a jerk and spoil it for people who want to enjoy the music. I've even had people leave their blanket and take a call, speaking loudly over the music and come over where we're sitting because they don't want to bother their own party!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Concerts on the Square also viewed

 

Been to Concerts on the Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Concerts on the Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.