We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice venue for sports or other events” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kohl Center

Kohl Center
601 W. Dayton St., Madison, WI 53715
608-262-1440
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 122 things to do in Madison
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Home for the University of Wisconsin Basketball and Hockey teams seats 17,142 for basketball games and between 15,000 and 17,000 for live concerts.
East Troy
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Very nice venue for sports or other events”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

A nicely designed facility, easy to get around, however there are no escalators for the upper levels which can be an issue for those who have trouble with stairs. Limited elevators. Poor access to parking.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    22
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lehi, Utah
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Area was good, but fans underwhelmed--I was there during Christmas break though”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

The atmosphere for the Illinois-Wisconsin men's basketball game was extremely disappointing, but the arena was new and well kept. It's probably unfair though because the game was during Christmas break during the coldest winter in the Midwest since mammoths lived here. The fans, including the students that were there, seemed mostly disinterested. I had high expectations because I had heard good things about the Kohl Center crowds. I hope I get another chance to seem a game with some more excitement.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“State Basketball!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

A great venue to watch the high school games. As with all facilities like this the food/drinks were expensive - nothing different than any other arena.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahomet, Illinois
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“No bad seats”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

We went to the Big 10 wrestling tournament there, and got great seats with our general admission tickets. I don't think there were any bad seats in the arena. Very nice.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Webster, Wisconsin, United States
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great time but lots of walking”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

Enjoyed our time at the Kohl Center for State High School Wrestling Tournaments - great seats, good variety of food, plentiful restrooms.
As a person with knee issues, I found it a bit unfriendly. Having been there before, I decided to take a taxi, as I knew the parking would not be nearby. There are no taxi stands, so I had to be dropped off on the road. Later that night, there was an icy-snow mix, and maneuvering the slope from the Center to the road for my taxi was nerve-wracking. Saw quite a few people slipping. The other issue was the lack of elevators, or at least signage for them.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kohl Center also viewed

 

Been to Kohl Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kohl Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.