We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place good location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel Madison

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel Madison to your Saves list
GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel Madison
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5317 High Crossing Blvd, Madison, WI 53718   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 63 Hotels in Madison
USA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great place good location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

I love staying at the Grandstay as it's close to things on the east side of Madison. The breakfast in the morning is fantastic! It was very quiet in my 3rd floor room. My kids love the pool and a hot tub.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph R, General Manager at GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel Madison, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
We are so glad that you love our east side location, and that your kids enjoyed the pool and hot tub area. we are looking forward to having you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    49
    34
    15
    11
See reviews for
115
32
9
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kingston, Tennessee
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

A group of us (4 rooms) stayed for several night but made it clear we were checking out one day early. When I got our credit card staement, there was the one night charged to the account.
I have left messages to have the manager call me concerning this to no avail. I called my credit card company and have had to put a dispute on the charge.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph R, General Manager at GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel Madison, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Thank you for your comment, After looking through the account to make sure the charges where in fact not accurate i have reimbursed the full amount of the one day charged back to the card. with any reverse transaction with a credit card it usually takes 5 to 10 business days to return to your card. Thank you so much for your business and we hope you return soon to visit us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
347 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

We loved this place! We had a two room suite with a kitchenette and breakfast table. The bed was very comfortable. The halls were well decorated and the service could not have been better. We asked for a quiet room and got what we asked for. There is plenty of parking allowing us to park about 20 feet from our suite. The breakfast was more than adequate but rather average for properties in this price point. We found the location excellent allowing east access and return to major highways and the interstate.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph R, General Manager at GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel Madison, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Thank you so much for your possitive review about our hotel! We are very proud of our property and the at home feel we provide for all of our guests. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you come see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

The manager does not help with any issues you bring to him, the hot tub was barely luke warm, and gave us horrible rashes, furniture in rooms are torn and worn out. You can NEVER find anyone at the front desk. There were a group of people from a company the took up almost the entire 3rd floor, they were up all night yelling at each other down the hallways, slamming doors, and cooking food with their doors open, so they could all come to each room and yell and laugh. When I addressed the manager about it, he told me they stay there a lot, but offered no other assistance at all.
Janet was the 1 helpful employee, who did a good job with the breakfast buffet.

Room Tip: stay away from the 3rd floor companies that stay there frequently
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph R, General Manager at GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel Madison, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Thank you for bringing some of this to our attention. We are currently updating our property with new carpet, furniture, and differant amenities. we are sorry that the hot tub was not as hot as it usually is due to draining it and refilling it to make sure it is clean it takes a little longer to get it to teperature. After speaking with you in person i had adressed the issue with our longterm guests and have resolved that issue. we hope that when you come back to the madison area you will choose us again as your hotel provider.
Thank you,
Joe Reinhart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
78 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

I'll start by saying I was able to get a rate that was about $30 to $50 less per night than the nearest competitors I also considered, which made GrandStay a good value. If the price difference would have been smaller I may have spent just a bit more to stay at one of the newer hotels within a mile. (In other words, it's a good choice if you can get a decent deal.)

The hotel itself is on the verge of starting to look worn and outdated and you shouldn't expect high-end granite in the bathroom or some of the other aesthetic 'perks' of newer hotels. However, it was clean and safe and conveniently located to where I was traveling for work. What stood out to me were the staff. The woman I spoke with over the phone to make the reservation was more friendly and helpful than most and seemed to genuinely appreciate my business. She made an excellent first impression. The front desk check-in attendant was also very nice and helpful, and the employee working in the breakfast area cared about doing her job well and you could tell. She stayed busy making sure the space was clean and well-stocked and even asked the guests how their stay and their breakfast was so far. Great attitudes by all the employees I encountered.

It isn't the absolute nicest place I've stayed, nor is it the cheapest, but I think it's a very good value overall. I'd be happy to return the next time I'm in the area.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph R, Manager at GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel Madison, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. And yes we do have an amazing staff here who cares about each persons needs. This year we will be updating our hotel with new carpet and paint and i know when you return you will be impressed. thank you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barstow
Level Contributor
61 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Had a beautiful suite with large frig, dishwasher, cooktop, toaster, bartop/stools and a loveseat. It was clean, got a good nights sleep. Breakfast had waffles, sausage, eggs, yogurt, pastry and more. Outside the have a play ground for kids. Hotel is about a mile from resturants & shopping which made it very quiet. Yes I would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph R, General Manager at GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel Madison, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Thank you so very much for your kind words. We at the GrandStay hotel take pride in making sure every guest leaves happy. With more amenities than the next hotel and happy helpfull employees we are glad you had a grand stay. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for three nights in early May for a family event. We had stayed here twice in the past two years. We returned because it had a nice play area for the kids, bigger rooms, and was fairly priced. The first thing we noticed when we got into our room was it looked quite run down compared to our last visit. The entire hotel could use a good, deep cleaning, but our room really needed it. There was dirt, grime, and dust in all the corners. The walls were dirty, especially by the vanity and the bathroom door. It looked like someone spilled mouthwash down the wall and door. The windows need to be cleaned and the drapes vacuumed. The carpets need to be cleaned...my brand new white socks should not have looked the way they did after walking around the room. Light switches and door knobs were sticky and dirty. I always go back over all hard surfaces with disinfecting wipes and the wipe was dirty after I wiped a few things down. I had to scrub sticky residue off the counter. The refrigerator needs a good cleaning, not just a wipe down and the ice maker and ice bin need to be cleaned. I also question if the dishes in the cupboard are really cleaned because a glass and a coffee cup I took from the cupboard were dirty. The coffee pot was so dirty I wouldn't use it. An even bigger issue was the air conditioning. It was a warm weekend and I like a cool room. The room was very warm, 75º when we arrived, so I turned the air to 65º to get it to cool off quickly. The entire time we were there, we could never get the room to cool below 72º. As soon as the room cooled to 72º the compressor turned off. After a while the compressor didn't come on at all. The maintenance man even came in on his time off to check it. He did something that got the compressor to turn on, but as soon as it hit 72º, it shut off again. Sleeping was horrible. The first night the temperature rose to 76º and nothing kicked on. I don't know if it had a movement sensor or had an auto shut-off, but sleeping was terrible. We could open one window, but that actually made it worse because it was peak season for my spring allergies. I woke up every morning congested and swollen. We finally got two small, dusty, dirty fans from the front desk. No one even bothered to clean them up so I had to. One worked, one didn't. I complained several times about the room temperature, but except for maintenance coming up the first day, my complaints were ignored..no offer to change rooms, no apology, nothing. Breakfast was passable. Soggy french toast crammed into a small crockpot, a watery mishmash of egg patties, omelets, and scrambled all in the same pan, and rubbery, microwaved sausages. The breakfast attendant was a little short at first, but who could blame her. She not only had to keep on top of the breakfast, but take care of the front desk, handling all customers by herself. This hotel is not what it used to be. I don't know if it is understaffed or poorly staffed, but we will not be giving them another chance. It's too bad because this used to be a really nice place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph R, General Manager at GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel Madison, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
we our so so sorry that the room was not cleaned properly. I can assure you it is not a everyday thing here at the grandstay. we strrive to ensure that rooms are cleaned and preped for every guest. we are so sorry agian and hope you may give us another chance in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madison hotels
0.5 mi away
Cambria Suites
Cambria Suites
#5 of 63 in Madison
4.5 of 5 stars 312 reviews
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN East Towne Suites
0.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Madison American Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Madison
0.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Madison East
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Madison East Towne Mall Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel Madison? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel Madison

Address: 5317 High Crossing Blvd, Madison, WI 53718
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Madison
#6 Family Hotel in Madison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel Madison 2.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel Madison reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grandstay Residential Hotel Madison

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel Madison, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.