We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service at its best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Madison

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Madison to your Saves list
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Madison
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   400 River Place, Madison, WI 53716   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early and Save 15%
Ranked #18 of 63 Hotels in Madison
Elgin, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Service at its best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

Could not ask for a better more friendly staff at an excellent location in the Madison Wi area. It seems they thought of everything to make for a really nice stay. Quick check-in, nice room and then off to enjoy a concert at the Magestic Theatre. Returning at 01:00am and finding cookies and hot beverages available was a nice surprise! Great breakfast in the morning. Group of college track athletes were there and even though it was officially time for the breakfast to end , it was kept open to take good care of this group and even had breakfast bags to go. Quality customer service at its best. Will stay here whenever we can.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CISMadison, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Madison, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us. I'm thrilled to see you enjoyed the room and the late night cookies and beverages. Glad you were able to enjoy the hot breakfast and took notice of the to-go bags!
We look forward to accommodating you on your next visit to Madison.

Sincerely,
Erica Waller
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    43
    9
    7
    2
See reviews for
32
14
10
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Des Moines, Iowa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

My family and I recently stayed at this hotel for two nights. We arrived just after Halloween so there were still many Halloween decorations up which delighted my wife and children. The hotel and room were clean and well-appointed--no musty or undesirable smells or sights. The heating/thermostat worked well and the bed was comfortable. The staff we encountered were friendly and professional--all the way from the front desk staff to the housekeepers. The free breakfast was well-stocked and yummy. My family especially enjoyed the hot foods such as the Belgian waffles, scrambled eggs, omelets and sausage. The hotel was in a safe, convenient location right off of the Madison Beltway. Parking was ample. We were pleased with our experience at this hotel and will give it serious consideration the next time we are in town.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CISMadison, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Madison, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
I'm glad to hear that your family enjoyed our Halloween decorations. More importantly, I'm happy your room was clean, the bed was comfortable, and the breakfast was yummy! I appreciate your comments about the friendly and professional staff and will be sure to share them with everyone.

Thank you for sharing your experience with other travelers. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Madison!

Sincerely,
Erica Waller
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Englewood, Florida
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

We were greeted by friendly staff which mirrored the patern of other staff duribg our stay. The attitude was relaxed and we honestly felt like valued guests. I have never stayed at Country Inn and now would like to try more. The lobby, room and breakfast area were clean and pleasant. The room was spacious and comfortable. Those traveling will appreciate the straightforward access and exit.

Room Tip: I don't think there are bad rooms, but make sure you choose the kind of bed you want in advance...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CISMadison, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Madison, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
I'm thrilled to read that your first experience at a Country Inn & Suites was satisfactory. We pride ourselves on having clean and comfortable accomodations, so I'm glad it did not go unrecognized. I'm also glad you found the location to be easily accessible.

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay. We hope to see you on your next trip to Madison. If you haven't already, enroll in our rewards program, Club Carlson, to start earning points today!

Sincerely,
Erica Waller
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Two women traveling together much appreciated having a separate bedroom with twin beds and a king bed in the living area. However, the door between the rooms was glass, with no curtain, which might not be private enough for couples traveling with kids. I like that this chain will often offer an upgrade when booking online. The hot breakfast was especially good.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CISMadison, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Madison, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Thank you for reviewing our hotel. I'm happy to see you enjoyed the spacious king suite. I noticed your comments about the separating door and I will have maintenance intsall curtains to provide more privacy. I'm also glad you enjoyed the hot breakfast options!

We hope to see you on your next visit to Madison!

Sincerely,
Erica Waller
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheboygan, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

We stayed here over the weekend for a family getaway. Hotel was located in a nice, quiet area of town. It was within miles of nice restaurants, shopping & entertainment. The room was slightly outdated (not as nice as some of the other Country Inn & Suites we've recently stayed at), but it was very clean & spacious. The front desk staff was pleasant & accomodating. The pool area was great for our small children. Great continental breakfast that was constantly stocked by the attendant! We would definitely stay here again when in the area. We prefer to stay in hotels slightly out of the heart of the city, as they usually are more quiet.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CISMadison, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Madison, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Thank you for the feedback on your recent family getaway with us. I'm glad to see you enjoyed the convenient location and our clean, spacious rooms. We are almost complete with our renovation - just have a couple things left! I appreciate the comments about the front desk and breakfast staff. I will be sure to share your review with them!

We hope to see you on your next visit to Madison. Happy Halloween!

Sincerely,
Erica Waller
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Clean, comfortable and nicely appointed - a good value.

Better than average breakfast - with REAL plates!

Walking distance to grocery, coffee shops & restaurants. Easy interstate access.

Complimentary coffee bar, cookies & "Read it and Return" library. Attentive customer service.

Room Tip: The southern side of the building faces the interstate - the north side faces a quiet courtyard over...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CISMadison, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Madison, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and your recent stay. We are happy to see that you enjoyed everything our hotel offers -- the attentive staff members, our convenient location, and the REAL diningware at our breakfast buffet.

Hopefully this means we'll see you in the near future!

Sincerely,
Erica Waller
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Virginia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

we stayed here for a family event, and the location was perfect for our needs. the staff was friendly, efficient, and helpful. the breakfast was fine, and much better than the usual "continental breakfast" fare -- with eggs, oatmeal, and healthy options including fresh fruit. (it was also nice to have fresh cookies at night)
the bed was comfortable, and the room was quiet and clean. the temperature control was a little erratic, but nothing uncomfortable.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CISMadison, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Madison, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Thank you for rating your recent stay with us. I'm glad to see you enjoyed our comfy beds and complimentary breakfast buffet. Our staff members will be thrilled to hear you had a wonderful experience.

We hope to see you on your next visit to Madison!

Sincerely,
Erica Waller
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Madison? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Madison

Address: 400 River Place, Madison, WI 53716
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 63 Hotels in Madison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Madison 2.5*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Carlson, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Madison reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Madison Hotel Madison
Country Inn And Suites By Carlson, Madison
Country Inn Monona
Monona Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Madison, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.