We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wonder Bar

Wonder Bar
323 E Olin Ave, Madison, WI
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 775 Restaurants in Madison
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Madison, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

My husband and I went to the Wonder Bar for dinner. I expected it to be good but I didn't expect to be blown away by the experience. We ordered dinner at the bar which is where we like to sit. The attention we got from the staff was unbelievable. They were witty and fun and attentive. I ordered the halibut which was simply the best in town. My husband had a filet that blew every other steak joint in Madison out of the water. We ordered a bottle of wine that we both enjoyed. I liked that there were a lot of choices in various price ranges. The atmosphere is and always has been great so to increase that enjoyment with the food & service--well...wow. We'll never go anywhere else!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    6
    5
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
2 reviews
“Excellent food and great ambiance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Amazing history and a very comfortable, relaxed atmosphere. Let's not forget that the food is phenomenal! Try the Cowboy Steak...a must have!! This is by far my new favorite Madison area restaurant!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest USA
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Quaint steak house with great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Our party of six visited the Wonder Bar in Madison, WI. The steak house is located near the Alliant Energy Center and is tucked away behind some other, larger restaurants. But what this place lacks in size, it makes up in quality. It's an old house that was reconfigured into a restaurant. There's a small bar at the entry and tables. We sat upstairs in one of the quaint turrets overlooking the parking lot and World Dairy Expo.

Drinks were well made. Our party ordered from the wine list, which is large, but not extravagant. Members of the party ordered steak, sea bass and shrimp. All were excellent. The special - a bone in cowboy style rib eye - was especially appreciated by one of our guests. My fillet was extremely tender and juicy. It was better than others I'd had at other, more "famous" steakhouses in Madison.

Highly recommend the Wonder Bar. This one of my favorites in Madison.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Outstanding Dining!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Madison friends chose this restaurant, and it was Wonder Ful! We had reservations for six in one of the upstairs turrets of this historic building from the Prohibition Era. The service and food were outstanding. Salads and sides were great. But the steaks were the highlight of the meal. Several froends indulged in the enormous Cowboy Steak. I loved my 6-oz. filet mignon. Liking to mix it up, my husband ordered fresh salmon; said it was fantastic. If you're looking for a delicious dinner in Madison, this is the place!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eau Claire, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good steakhouse, big portions, not for foodies, Crab Bisque was Great!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012 via mobile

After reading some local media we decided to give this steakhouse a try. We found it to be a nice typical steakhouse. If you are looking to satisfy a large appetite with a good steak dinner, then you will be quite pleased. The crab bisque was delicious. Not a place for being impressed by creativity. Host and waitress were great.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wonder Bar also viewed

 

Been to Wonder Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wonder Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.