We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Splendid hotel with superb staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of HotelRED

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added HotelRED to your Saves list
HotelRED
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1501 Monroe Street, Madison, WI 53711   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 62 Hotels in Madison
Certificate of Excellence
Guelph, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Splendid hotel with superb staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

I stayed at HotelRED for a personal getaway of a few days in Madison. This boutique hotel was everything I had hoped it would be, and even a bit more. I had a king executive room, which was extremely spacious, and had a well-equipped kitchenette and a fantastic bathroom. The multi-jet shower really is worth raving over. The bed was very comfortable, and the wifi worked with no problems. The little extras are what makes it worth coming to this hotel. The bathrobes were plush, and the hotel staff ran a pair of slippers up to my room to keep my feet warm on the cold floors. There is a hotel shuttle that will take you where you need to go within about a 3 mile radius (you do need to pre-book it), which was nice on an evening when I wanted to go downtown for a meal. The one drawback is that it is a bit of a hike to downtown - it is about a 30-40 minute walk to the Capitol building, and about 25 to the UW Madison Union or State street. But there are nice amenities nearby, including Indie Coffee and a Trader Joe's (good for stocking up the in-room fridge). Parking is included, and I never had trouble finding a spot. The chocolates they provided on arrival (from a chocolatier a couple of blocks away) were delicious!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MatthewH77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
STILLWATER
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Don't be deceived by the exterior. This boutique contemporary hotel is delightfully warm. We were greeted by charming staff who treated all four of us to local gourmet chocolates. The rooms were quiet, and perfect location for us to explore the campus. I imagine during a football game the ambience is different as it sits next to the stadium.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 2012travellingmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason I, General Manager at HotelRED, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Thank you so much for staying with us at HotelRED. I’m happy to hear you enjoyed the Maurie’s chocolates. We’re very lucky to have such a great local chocolatier so close. I also hope your exploration of UW was successful.

If I can ever help with anything in the future please let me know. Thank you again and I hope you have a wonderful summer.

Sincerely,
Jason Ilstrup
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, IL
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

We (two couples) came to Madison for the weekend and stayed here. What a great find. The staff couldn't have been more welcoming and helpful, including Ethan, one if the chefs, who helped us with our bags and gave us some yummy strawberry cake to sample. Free biking and boating. Comfortable rooms.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank jrmsw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason I, General Manager at HotelRED, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Thank you very much for your kind review of HotelRED. We are very thankful for both the review and your choice of hotels.

I was very excited to read the nice comments about Ethan. We are very luck y to have him as part of the team. He has been with us since opening and his joy has not quite since.

If you’re ever in Madison again please let me know. I’d love to try and make your stay even better.

Thank you again and I hope you have a wonderful summer!

Sincerely,
Jason Ilstrup
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Nice staff, nice room, great shower, good location...if only the room didn't smell like a damp basement. Not sure if it was due to the rainy days, or the fact that the shower opened to the room, but there was a definite musty odor. I thought maybe it was just the price of staying in a concrete room, but the housekeeper confirmed it wasn't the norm. When I mentioned it to the desk clerk she said she'd have maintenance check it out. Maybe the next guest will have a better experience.

Room Tip: If it smells musty, ask for another room, apparently they don't all smell that way.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gandbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason I, General Manager at HotelRED, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Thank you very much for staying with us at HotelRED. We are very appreciative you stayed with us. Thank you as well for letting me know about the smell in your room. I am personally sorry. Every room should smell fresh.

With the help of your comments we have checked all possible causes including our AC units and possible leaks from the heavy rains we’ve received. We are already making changes in several rooms to ensure a more fresh experience.

Again I am very sorry your stay didn’t meet our expectations. If you ever are in Madison again please let me know, I’d love to help make your next stay much better.

Thanks again and I hope you have a wonderful summer.

Sincerely,
Jason Ilstrup
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

This was my second stay and decided to get a one bedroom capitol suite this time as I was staying for a few days. The upgrade was worth the extra money. Had a nice kitchen area but with so many good places to eat in Madison did not use it. Great sun-filled room with modern furniture that not only looks good but feels good. Hear some traffic noise sometimes but this place is not in a cornfield people. Used the large in-room tub every night I was there.
Several people on this site have complained able the "complicated" shower controls. Anyone having trouble using the shower needs to be supervised and not travel alone. Service was unobtrusive,and the location is close to what makes Madison Madison. (except Willy St) There are several fine places to stay in Madison but this is the best.

Room Tip: Check out the various room options before you make your reservation, the basic rooms are fine but an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank john r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago, IL
Level Contributor
56 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

Great hotel, great location. Staff is so nice and helpful. Great location. Free parking and internet. Loft style hotel. Very contemporary. Super clean and bed are very comfortable. I would go back. We were visiting the University.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chicagofamily04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason I, General Manager at HotelRED, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Thank you so much for staying with us while you were visiting the university. I also want to thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are very appreciative. I will certainly pass on your kind words to the entire team.

If you’re ever in Madison again, please don’t hesitate let me know. We’d love to help make your next stay even better.

Thank you again and I hope you have a wonderful summer.

Sincerely,
Jason Ilstrup
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

Booked the HotelRED for two nights this past week as part of a short vacation from Chicago. Below find the text of my message to the hotel after checking out:

"Please allow me to thank you for a particularly excellent stay at your property...The warmth of the staff, fantastically user-friendly and luxurious room layouts, and overall intelligently thought-out design made my stay a delight. When you travel a lot you come to appreciate the finer points within a hotel: Excellent shower pressure, clean glassware, meticulously clean bedding, and graciously expedient service. Your hotel delivered on all fronts and I look forward to returning when I am in Madison next."

I can't think of any major downsides to the property. Ideal location equidistant to both campus and more local activities, complimentary shuttle service, perfectly laid-out comfortable and luxurious rooms, and so on. The restaurant was rather mediocre; I was told it's going through a renovation. But, given the wealth of options within walking distance, I'm hard-pressed to discount any points from the hotel on that basis.

Room Tip: Booked into 303. 403 is probably the ideal room in the hotel--private balcony on top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NA1090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason I, General Manager at HotelRED, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Thank you so much for your review of HotelRED. We are truly appreciative that you took the time to write about your stay. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed yourself.

I’m sorry to hear about your restaurant experience being mediocre. We are on track for some major changes in the next few months. We recently hired a new chef and are about to being a renovation of the space. These changes will bring some great change.

Thank you again for both the review and your stay. If you ever need in anything in the future please let me know. I hope you have a wonderful summer.

Sincerely,
Jason Ilstrup
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madison hotels
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Madison Downtown
1.4 mi away
The Edgewater
The Edgewater
#6 of 62 in Madison
4.5 of 5 stars 393 reviews
1.4 mi away
Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison
1.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Madison
Hyatt Place Madison
#12 of 62 in Madison
4.5 of 5 stars 435 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hilton Madison Monona Terrace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HotelRED? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HotelRED

Address: 1501 Monroe Street, Madison, WI 53711
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 62 Hotels in Madison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — HotelRED 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay, work, and play in one of 48 modern guestrooms and suites at HotelRED, Madison’s newest and most contemporary full-service urban boutique hotel. With vivid colors and sleek Euro-design, HotelRED surrounds guests in absolute indulgence and comfort. Join us for a cocktail, Wisconsin micro-brew, and appetizers at our lobby bar and bistro TheWise, the smoothest place to chill in town. Business meetings, private parties, and banquet facilities are available. Enjoy the local color! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your HotelRED reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing