We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel; loud party next door” 4 of 5 stars
Review of HotelRED

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added HotelRED to your Saves list
HotelRED
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1501 Monroe Street, Madison, WI 53711   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 63 Hotels in Madison
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel; loud party next door”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

We stayed one night at this beautiful hotel with great modern decor. The rooms are spacious and each have a balcony. However, there were very loud guests in the next room until well after 1am. I called guest services and they responded promptly but the noise continued for another 30 min. or so (til 2 am). Did not expect to have to deal with this in such an upscale hotel (and it was not a football game weekend where we would expect this).

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    51
    16
    14
    3
See reviews for
50
78
13
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

We had a group of 10 people that stayed here for a birthday party. Our room was a 2 bedroom suite and it was so great! You MUST try the shower!! It was one of the best showers I've ever experienced at a hotel. The design of the hotel is fantastic, industrial but modern and chic. I loved the balcony it was huge and could fit our entire party easily on it all at one time. The rooms were very large and exceptionally clean. The hotel staff was very accommodating and friendly. We took the hotel shuttle to dinner which was so convenient. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone that is looking for a place to stay in Madison.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012 via mobile

Stayed there for a badger football game. room over looked the stadium which was incredible. room was modern and spotless and i fell in love with the shower the second i stepped in it. had dinner there as well and chef john bauer does amazing things! It all was delicious! Service was amazing as well. top notch place for sure! Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

The only reason I can think of to not stay here is that you need to stay in a different city! This hotel is a top of the line, unique, modern hotel unlike anything I've ever experienced.

HotelRED is located directly across from Camp Randall stadium, a few blocks away from the downtown and in a neighborhood that has character. Parking is easy and doesn't cost anything, which is nice for a metro, downtown hotel. It is easy to walk 10 minutes in any direction and find unique restaurants, bars, shops, etc.

While the outside of the hotel looks of cold concrete and glass, the inside finishes warm it up. Everything from plush bedding to warm, thick rugs, to colorful artwork make the environment warm and pleasing to the eye. The rooms are fantastic. Beds are very comfortable, sofa is one of the nicest I've sat on and there is plenty of room to put luggage. The kitchenette wall is nicely done and I appreciate that while there is a stocked refrigerator, there is still room to put your own things in it and it is not a automatic sensor charge fridge.
I can't say enough about how nice it is to sit out on the balcony and watch people go by. It is next to a major intersection, but when the patio doors are closed, barely any noise can be heard.

You have to stay here to truly get a feeling for it's unexpected warmth and uniqueness. I really suggest it to anyone who has to travel to Madison!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

We arrived at Hotel Red after a 3 day cross country drive, ready to crash. And thankfully our 2 nights there were more rejuvenating, relaxing and luxurious than we could have hoped.

After having stayed at chain hotels for 2 nights on the road, where check in personnel were indifferent and rates only a smidge below HotelRed's, we were treated to pleasant, efficient and informative check in, and a first rate and immaculately clean suite with wonderful view of Camp Randall and University Heights beyond.

Details of the room are impressive. Bathroom has everything we wanted, multiple shower controls and water flow, good lighting for make-up, high quality (Aveda) toiletries and a separate lavatory. My one suggestion would be separate lighting control for shower/sink area, so that if one is using only that area the lav is not lit. Beds and bedding were extremely comfortable and clean. The sitting area/kitchenette is almost as impressive. TV is sharp, Keurig coffee maker is handy, coffee tasty, dishware welcome for breakfast snack in room after the drive. Seating is generally comfortable, though the larger chair a bit upright and not as slouchable as I'd prefer. Patio is large and was very inviting on our summerish days there. Patio chairs are substantial and very comfortable, even for added seating inside.

We loved the concrete floors for their cleanliness. Hard to tell sometimes what carpeting might be hiding.

We also loved our privacy, as we were most interested in relaxing, being able to take the elevator between our room and parking without going through the lobby was most welcome.

We had a great experience at this hotel, would and will stay there again and would recommend it highly to others.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

I recently had the pleasure of staying at this fine establishment for five days and nights and I must say that I was pleasantly surprised. Immediately on our arrival we were welcomed by Ray at the front desk who was extremely helpful in many respects. He helped us find locations for the photography assignments we were doing while we were there and put us in touch with some really interesting people. On top of the exquisite service, I was also taken back at how much the crew and myself enjoyed the food. At a very affordable price the room service food was a delightful and delicious convenience when working long days and the staff down in the kitchen had the same friendly demeanor as the rest of the team running the hotel. The rooms were amazing with private balconies and extremely comfortable living areas which were always clean and cozy thanks to the wonderful and kind ladies that were looking after our floor. I had an amazing experience at this hotel and would recomend it to anyone staying in Madison.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barronett, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012 via mobile

This hotel looks like it could be cold and uninviting from the outside and then you walk through the door and you find comfort throughout. From the bar to the restaurant to the most comfortable bed I've ever slept on in a hotel, this hotel is one I would like to revisit. The staff is friendly and accommodating and pleasant at any hour of the day. I would recommend this hotel to even the pickiest of people.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to HotelRED? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HotelRED

Address: 1501 Monroe Street, Madison, WI 53711
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 63 Hotels in Madison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — HotelRED 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay, work, and play in one of 48 modern guestrooms and suites at HotelRED, Madison’s newest and most contemporary full-service urban boutique hotel. With vivid colors and sleek Euro-design, HotelRED surrounds guests in absolute indulgence and comfort. Join us for a cocktail, Wisconsin micro-brew, and appetizers at our lobby bar and bistro TheWise, the smoothest place to chill in town. Business meetings, private parties, and banquet facilities are available. Enjoy the local color! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your HotelRED reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage HotelRED, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.