We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hate to say it.. but terrible!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Magnuson Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Magnuson Grand Hotel to your Saves list
Magnuson Grand Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3510 Millpond Rd, Madison, WI 53718 (Formerly Grand Hotel Madison)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #43 of 64 Hotels in Madison
Minneapolis
1 review
“Hate to say it.. but terrible!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

I like to give anyone and anywhere the benefit of the doubt! When I checked in the staff was very nice and pleasant, so they are just fine, but the hotel is very dated and the most frustrating part is the internet connection, I would have connection for about 5 min then lose it and get it back. When trying to work, thats brutal. Also I called front desk to see if there was an internet connection issue and nobody picked up the front desk phone after 3 attemps, maybe they were busy but still there needs to be some sort of back up. Also there is nothing around here! Yes there is a casino, golf course and one restaurant but other than that good luck. I am sure the connection issue is not the hotels fault, its most likely their location. Overall the hotel is just ok, but for the business traveller, stay away!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    32
    9
    11
    6
See reviews for
33
16
8
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Santa Cruz, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Very nice hotel. I travel for a living and I am in and out of hotels weekly, six to eight months out of the year, so when I find something unique I like to mention it on here. The hotel is clean, the staff are friendly and helpful. I like that they have "real" coffee mugs in the room and in the breakfast room. They have nice breakfast spread which includes blueberries and raspberries. Not many hotels have berries, this was a big plus for me. The rooms are spacious and the bathtubs are nice sized. Indoor swimming and hot tub too. It is located near a golf course, I don't play golf but for those of you who do this may be nice. It is just a 10-15 minute drive into Madison. Hope this helps

Room Tip: If you are looking for hotels online, if you click the picture of the room and the picture shows the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Coast, Michigan
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We stayed here for two nights, by the time we got there it was 1AM, and the place was packed, we were told there were no King room left so they gave us the Jaccuzi Room with a King for the same rate. Room was Big and very quiet. Service was great, breakfast was good. I would for sure stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

I stayed for two nights this week. On the second day of our stay, the entire third floor smelled like a rancid, decaying animal. It wasn't until the following morning that I figured our where the smell was coming from. Millpond Rd is across from the Dane County Landfill.

While the service was satisfactory, they do try to nickel and dime you by hiding some charges on your bill. They charge you $1 per day for the use of the safe that they cleverly hide in the bottom of the closet. The charge on your bill that is for "S & W" is the charge for the safe. The first desk clerk didn't even know what is what for.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed for three nights just as a little get away. 24 hour pool and hot tub was a very big plus for us! The room was very clean. Comfortable bed, good sized room and nice furniture. Shower had great pressure! Great breakfast! Price of the stay was very reasonable. Overall it was a great experience and would recommend this hotel!! A++

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Canton, OH
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

I stayed here with my daughter on our way to and from Minnesota. The hotel could use a cosmetic update, but other than that it was great. We checked in late on our trip home and the front desk made us a pizza for dinner ($10) - even brought it to our room with plates and plasticware.

Room Tip: We stayed on different floors each time. It seemed like on the higher up floor you could hear the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockford, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

I wanted to plan a little getaway, in the Madison area. Like other people, I aslo read reviews. I was not firmiliar with this hotel but made my reservation based on the area and reviews. I was pleased when pulling in to the parking lot with the over all look. I was not prepared to hear the front desk clerk say she did NOT have my reservations on file, after driving an hour and seeing there was an obvious sporting event going on and the place was packed. I was alittle nervous but thanks to Stephanie (front desk clerk) she found my paper work from my online booking, which had been entered in for the wrong month stay. Stephanie was very professional in rectifying this problem. Luckily, there was ONE last room available. This hotel has all amenities you could want, nice clean rooms and friendly staff. I also appreciated Aaron (manager) for following up with me by phone. Nice hotel. I look forward to a future stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Magnuson Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnuson Grand Hotel

Address: 3510 Millpond Rd, Madison, WI 53718 (Formerly Grand Hotel Madison)
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 64 Hotels in Madison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Magnuson Grand Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A complimentary hot breakfast is served early each morning. In addition to the 24-hour indoor pool and hot tub, Magnuson Grand Hotel Madison provides 24-hour fitness room and business center with complimentary fax and copy service. Magnuson Grand Hotel Madison also features conference rooms and party rooms. Flat screen television in lobby. The property has a knowledgeable 24-hour front desk staff eager to help guests with any questions. Wine, champagne and beer available on site until 2am. Many packages available including golf packages and casino packages. Frequent stay program and discounts available upon request. Rate match guarantee program available upon request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Magnuson Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magnuson Grand Madison

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Magnuson Grand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.