We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classic Old Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Ruby Marie

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Ruby Marie to your Saves list
Hotel Ruby Marie
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   524 E. Wilson Street, Madison, WI 53703   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 64 Hotels in Madison
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Classic Old Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

The hotel had a older classic look and feel. It seemed a little worn around the edges, but not too bad, and was very clean. Access to the hotel was only through an elevator that could be entered either through the back by the parking lot or through the Up North bar, which was located below the hotel. Desk staff was very friendly. The trains were very loud, but there were only two of them during the night, so overall it didn't detract much from our stay. We were there on a weekend, so the breakfast was at the Come On In, and was nothing to write home about.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    35
    5
    4
    6
See reviews for
17
58
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glendale, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

We stay 4 nights. What a great hotel to stay at. The staff was super friendly. Room was nice and clean. The bed was like sleeping on a cloud. To top it off the location was a walk to down town. Don't miss breakfast at the bakery down stairs, great bake goods and even better staff. So if in Madison go for the cheese BUT!! Stay at Ruby Marie's!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wausau, Wisconsin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

Our third stay here, we enjoy the historic charm, wonderful beds and linens, fluffy generous towels, wet bar, fireplace and lakeview (some rooms), proximity to walking/biking trail along Lake Monona (across the street), interesting area restaurants and most certainly the welcoming, personable staff. Enjoy complimentary breakfast (hot on weekends), happy hour drink coupons at the on-site Up North Pub and homemade cookies upon arrival. Avoid rooms above the Up North Pub (the hotel fills these last by protocol). We now bring and use ear plugs at night, as the hotel is next to a functioning train track which may/may not have activity during the night. Ruby Marie is endearing, welcoming and fun. We'll be back ... again. Thank you, amazing staff!

Room Tip: Avoid rooms above the Up North pub, ask about lakeview rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhinelander,WI
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

While attending a concert at the Majestic Theatre we found the Ruby Marie a perfect place to stay as it is within walking distance of the theatre and several great restaurants. Clean comfortable rooms decorated in vintage furniture are charming. Breakfast served at the deli downstairs was lovely. We'll return here.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

This place was awesome. Very welcoming, very nicely decorated, etc. Loved getting free drinks at up north pub and breakfast at come back Inn. It was a tad noisy but definitely manageable!! I'd definitely go back to all three places!

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
U.P. Michigan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

I loved everything about this hotel. The old fashioned decor and style was a treat and the bed linens very posh and luxurious. The shower head was huge and water pressure fantastic. There was also a mini fridge and a wet bar. For only $102/night (stayed on a Sun & Mon) you get a beautiful breakfast selection of assorted pastries and some more hearty ones with meat and veges in them as well. The man at the cafe counter was a joy to interact with and made my wheat-allergic friend a beautiful salad as she could not eat any of the breakfast items offered. You get 2 free drink tickets for happy hour at the bar below the hotel for each night of your stay. Previous reviews said to avoid rooms over the bar and so I did request that - but management said they always fill those rooms last anyway. Our service was great and we really enjoyed staying here. The location cannot be beat. It's really close to downtown State St. and practically right on Williamson (Willy) St. Walking distance to lots of cool restaurants, pubs and shopping. We loved the Weary Traveler and Jamerica restaurants nearby. There are restaurants also attached to the same building if you don't want to walk or drive anywhere. We only had drinks there. Also, I realized on the way out of the hotel that they give business traveler discounts of 10%. Staff in all the establishments were friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Stayed in room 26. Large shower but no tub. No problems. The sink drain was a little slow, but I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, MN
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

Our group had 5 of the 7 rooms on the top floor for two nights. Rooms are great, spacious and well furnished, not as antique stuffed and frilly as many bed and breakfasts, which was fine. Parking is convenient, and while elevator access is somewhat confusing, it was such a Wisconsin experience to take the free drink tickets to the bar and to find that the elevator opens directly into the bar on first floor, seriously, door opens, you are in the great little bar with popcorn, wood floor and a long bar. Breakfast, midweek, was at the bakery in one corner of the building. Very casual but the baker is an artist and has pride in his product. Great stay. Easy walk to the convention center and Capital.

Room Tip: Might be noisier on 2nd floor, check others for specific room locations. There are also trains goin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Ruby Marie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ruby Marie

Address: 524 E. Wilson Street, Madison, WI 53703
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Madison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Ruby Marie 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Ruby Marie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ruby Marie Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Ruby Marie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.