We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible and unique” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Ruby Marie

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Ruby Marie to your Saves list
Hotel Ruby Marie
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   524 E. Wilson Street, Madison, WI 53703   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 64 Hotels in Madison
USA
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Incredible and unique”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

The Hotel Ruby Marie is a hybrid hotel and bed & breakfast. Don't expect the usual hotel perks like a pool or 24 hr staff. Instead you get a most unique experience with beautiful old rooms, excellent location, and wonderful dining/drinking options next door. This is the perfect place for couples wanting something different during a Madison stay. I would not recommend this property for families. Great people and funky flavor make this a must stay in Madison.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    35
    5
    4
    6
See reviews for
17
58
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

This is the second time I've stayed at the Ruby Marie and I will return. It is an old boarding house and full of history. The staff is very accommodating and helpful. Check in and out can be unusual during after hours as the front desk is only staffed during the day. The hotel is conveniently situated within a 5 minute walk to the square and several nice restaurants, among them, Sardine & Osteria Papavero. It also sits above four intertwined eateries. In fact, you'll have the opportunity to experience the Up Front Bar for happy hour, the Come Back In for weekend breakfast and the Sunshine Cafe for weekday breakfast. The fourth restaurant, The Essen Haus, is known for their boot of beer and polka dancing, a real midwest experience. I would recommend getting coffee at one the nearby local spots: Ground Zero, Bradbury's or Ancora Coffee. There is free parking in at the back of the building- which is also the entrance to the hotel.

Room Tip: The inner courtyard rooms are dark and on the smaller side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Crosse, Wisconsin
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

The pictures and reviews do no say enough about this hotel! The historic decor was a turn-off to me upon booking, but seeing it in person, it is nothing short of lovely. It's old decor with a modern take and is truly gorgeous, not gaudy. I stayed in room 12 and don't have a bad thing to say about it. The bed was comfortable, I definitely used the jacuzzi tub, and it had large windows facing out toward the lake. I also enjoyed using the drink tickets at the Up North (I think?) Bar. The bartender was friendly and the atmosphere was great. We met new people and had a blast!
The breakfast is from the local bakery so it is all pastries. However, there was a wide variety as well as savory pastries and everything was excellent.
The only negative I have is that it lies right next to the train tracks, and there is a train that comes by early... like around 6. However, I did not find it to be too loud and really all the wonderful benefits of this hotel easily outweigh that small inconvenience.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abilene
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

What a fun way to experience downtown Madison! The Ruby Marie made us feel like a part of the emerging West, but with convenient surroundings. It is also a different B and B experience, since we walked downstairs to the bakery and chose our own breakfast goodies. Our baker/manager/server there was a gem, and really the single individual we had most consistent contact with on this outing. Ruby Marie is nice walking distance from the Capitol, State Street restaurants, and just across from the bike rental shop. We loved riding around the city on its paths, as well as on one of the Rails to Trails. That was the purpose of our trip initially. Thank you Ruby Marie for enhancing our experience in Madison!

Room Tip: You might want to be aware of neighboring night-life and request a quieter room if that is your pref...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

We stayed in roon #23 which was a large suite with a hot tub. The room was a great location to celebrate Octoberfest as all the festivities were in our parking lot, Dylan and Joshua were awesone on recommendations and directions. The location puts you in the middle of Madison. The breakfast the next day was special. You could order anything you wanted off the breakfast menu including alcoholic drinks. We had a great time !!

Room Tip: top story rooms are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Outstanding boutique inn located in a great location on the lake in Madison. The inn is very cute and clean and would stay there again. Also, you cannot beat the deal - two comp beers and breakfast too. You have to stay there!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle on tyne UK
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

We stayed at the Ruby Marie for the second time whilst on an American road trip. The Hotel has an excellent position for visiting Madison. The rooms were excellent decorated in an 'old fashioned ' theme. Staff were friendly and helpful. breakfasts were very good and the drink vouchers for the downstairs pub were helpful. Excellent value and one of the best hotels we stayed in on our trip

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Ruby Marie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ruby Marie

Address: 524 E. Wilson Street, Madison, WI 53703
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Madison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Ruby Marie 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Ruby Marie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ruby Marie Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Ruby Marie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.