We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nicely Restored” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Ruby Marie

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Ruby Marie to your Saves list
Hotel Ruby Marie
524 E. Wilson Street, Madison, WI 53703   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 63 Hotels in Madison
Saint Augustine, Florida
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
“Nicely Restored”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2008

We stayed at the Ruby Marie the last weekend in December. We had a deluxe room, which was very spacious, extremely clean, and beautifully furnished. The room had a huge, comfortable bed, a hot tub, a fireplace, a small kitchen area with a microwave, small fridge and a sink. The owners did an outstanding job restoring this hotel, which had to be quite a project considering the size of the building. Yes, it is true that no one is at the front desk after 7:00 p.m., but guests are told about this in advance. Also, there is a phone number to call if an emergency were to arise. The staff we did meet were very friendly and helpful. Madison is a decent size city, and cell phones definitely work here. Breakfast was served at the Come Back In, which is located two doors down from the hotel. You are given a menu by the waitress and told that you may order any breakfast item. I believe that a continental breakfast is served in a different location during the week. Our breakfast was very large and delicious. If you are a light sleeper, the Ruby Marie may not be for you. The hotel is located on a busy intersection and there is some traffic noise, plus there are trains that go by a couple of times. We had a corner room just above the intersection, so its possible that if you stayed in another room the noise would not be as loud. We're used to city noises, so it wasn't a problem for us. As far as noises from other guests or patrons at the saloon downstairs, there was none. The Ruby Marie is conveniently located close to downtown Madison, and is within walking distance to restaurants, shops, State Street and the Capitol. I would recommend this hotel. Oh, and if you eat at the Essen Haus, be sure to try the German chocolate cake. The best I've ever had!

  • Liked — Comfortable, beautifully furnished room
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    33
    5
    4
    6
See reviews for
17
56
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
MN
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2007

I had to be in Madison to take medical boards. The reviews of the place were pretty positive. I have two kids at UW and am always looking for a better place to stay.
The room was very pretty and like a bedroom in a home. The courtyard below was charming. The place was clean.
After the bar closed a group sat in the courtyard all night drinking, smoking, yelling, and laughing. It was like they were in the room with me. All night.
There is no one on site after the bar closes. The "manager" gives a home number only to be used "in dire emergency".
No sleep, medical boards. hmmm.
I emailed the manager upon my return home and her response was that I should have called 911. ???.
Anyway, a beautiful place, totally mismanaged, and maybe dangerous (if there really was an emergency during the night).

Stayed July 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tempe
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2007

I've stayed at the Ruby Marie one night in the past for a wedding. Decided to give it a try again as I was looking for something that wasn't a typical chain. I appreciated the historical value of the building, and the rooms have been updated to present day standards. Don't expect the staff to be at your beck and call - this isn't a typical Bed & Breakfast. Also, there are some issues with rooms facing the street. Plenty of traffic early in the morning, and also a train that blares it's whistle around 6am. But overall, it was comfortable and a little like staying at home. We stayed during a Badger home game - the place was completely booked - but didn't have issues with any of the guests.

Stayed January 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waukesha, WI
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2006

Nice building in a nice location, but... The staffing is VERY limited so you are pretty much on your own. Worst of all, when the bar on the ground floor closed for the night they must turn off the exhaust fan because the stench of cigarette smoke became so strong that it woke us up from a deep sleep. In the morning there was only the maid there to complain to. Too bad... this place could be a jem but sorry to say... it's a bust.

  • Stayed October 2003, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2006

Although a lovely little hotel, you had better hope no one is trying to reach you during your stay. The front desk attendants are there sporadically and no one can contact you directly in your room, so they are at the mercy of the delinquent front desk to get through to you.

Stayed May 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, CA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2006

I use tripadvisor for much of my travel planning throughout the US and Europe and was very impressed with this hotel. We stayed in a double room which was tastefully decorated and had a decent sized bathroom - although it just had a shower and no tub. I was with my mom and sister and there was plenty of room for us to get ready and keep all of our stuff. The location is good - just a walk away from the capital. Brenda at the front desk is very helpful and will do anything to make your stay more enjoyable. We were celebrating my mom's birthday and she brought in a bistro table from downstairs so that we could sit and have a glass of wine and not be slouching on the beds. I've stayed at other chain hotels in Madison but if you are seeking more charm this is the place. There is also a German restaurant bar next store that is very fun. Good beer and polka dancing - very entertaining and the noise never bothered us. We did get to see room 23 before we left which is their suite and it was beautiful. Definitely a deal for the price with a large jacuzzi in the room as well as 2 seating areas and a separate bath/toilet. Breakfast is included with the room at a restaurant a few doors down. The food was a little greasy but didn't change my feeling on the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago, illinois
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2005

Had a very difficult time finding a hotel room in downtown Madison for the weekend we needed to be there, turns out it was homecoming at the University of Wisconsin and nearly everything was sold out. Although the major sites (travelocity, orbitz, expedia etc.) said that the Ruby Marie was sold out, we took a chance and called the hotel directly and lucked out to find one last room available. What a stroke of luck!! We usually prefer staying at small, individually owned hotels/b&b's over chain hotels anyways and the location of the Ruby Marie well suited our business needs downtown. It is located only a few short blocks from the capital and has free parking in their lot (not a huge parking garage). The hotel is a vintage delight featuring fifteen rooms on the second and third floor of an 1870's building. We stayed in room 24 as it was the last available and it was a huge room! It was beautifully furnished with Victorian furniture, fireplace, wet bar, lovely bathroom, and huge in room jacuzzi. The ambience and atmosphere of the hotel is truly outstanding. We were treated to a full breakfast at the attached Come Back In two doors down. They simply give you a coupon and you go to the restaurant and can order any breakfast you want between 8am and 2pm. We are very frequent travellers and the Ruby Marie is one of the best places we have stayed at. We will definitely stay there the next time we go to Madison.
Note--The innkeeper is only on the premises until 7pm, so if you check in later than that or need something after that time, you need to speak to the bartender at the first floor tavern, the Up North Saloon. Just a heads up.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Ruby Marie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ruby Marie

Address: 524 E. Wilson Street, Madison, WI 53703
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Madison
#4 Romantic Hotel in Madison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Ruby Marie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ruby Marie Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Ruby Marie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.