We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Madison Monona Terrace

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Madison Monona Terrace to your Saves list
Hilton Madison Monona Terrace
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   9 East Wilson Street, Madison, WI 53703   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Now and Save 20%
Ranked #20 of 64 Hotels in Madison
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Nice location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014 via mobile

Location was the best.. walking distance to the capital,Saturdays farmers market, and state street. My complaint is with the elevators in this hotel. We waited on average 15-20 minutes to get from the parking garage to the hotel lobby. We had a stroller so needed to take the elevator. We actually left our little one with our oldest as an employee took my husband and I to the parking garage through the staircase. Our door to our room was stuck too..hard to open. Definitely need to work on elevator situation!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael W, Manager at Hilton Madison Monona Terrace, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Thank you for the review. We recently experienced a problem with one of our elevators that required us taking it out of service for about 36 hours. This situation is not typical, this is the only time that an elevator needed to be taking down for an extended period of time in the last year and a half. Should you stay with us again you will not encounter the same issues.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

668 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    344
    193
    82
    31
    18
See reviews for
139
149
39
277
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Avon Lake, Ohio
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

This is the fifth time I have stayed at this hotel. Each time, it exceeds my expectations. The location is awesome. Three blocks from the state capital building and 300 feet from beautiful lake Monona. Each night of my three night stay, I walked the covered walkway to the roof top patio on top of the convention center. I position myself so I can view the lake to my left and view the capital building to my right. After dark, the view becomes even more spectacular! Highly, highly recommend.

Room Tip: Rooms either face the state capital or they face the lake. Can't lose either way.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael W, Manager at Hilton Madison Monona Terrace, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Thank you for the recommendation! I am glad that we continually exceed your expectations. I hope to have you as our guest on your next trip to Madison!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsborg, KS, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

The staff and accommodations at this hotel were great! The location of the hotel to the Monona Terrace Conference Center and to the downtown shopping and restaurants was an added bonus. I hope our convention chooses this hotel again next year.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael W, Manager at Hilton Madison Monona Terrace, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Thank you for the review! Hopefully your convention chooses us again so we can have you back as our guest!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thorp, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

The Hilton is situated right next to beautiful Lake Monona in downtown Madison. One block from the Capitol building. The hotel room was quiet and peaceful for the busy area of town it is located in. The Monona Terrace convention center is available to the Hilton through a skywalk. This is a definite plus, as I was there for a convention and the humidity was very high. The only reason I gave it a very good instead of a excellent was the room smelled slightly musty and the air conditioner didn't want to quite keep up. The room was beautiful with new furniture and flat screen television. Bathroom average with tub/shower. Elevator access in the rush hour of morning was a slight wait, but that is to be expected, I planned ahead.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael W, Manager at Hilton Madison Monona Terrace, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Thank you for the review! The skywalk to Monona Terrace provides our guests easy access to the convention center. I hope we have the opportunity to have you as our guest again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Richmond, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Went to Madison for an awards banquet. Stayed 1 night. The lobby was clean and inviting. The check-in process was smooth and quick. The rooms were clean and the bed was comfy. We'll be back to stay again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael W, Manager at Hilton Madison Monona Terrace, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Thank you for the review! Thank you for making us your home when you visit Madison.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Hotel was lovely. Bed was comfy (especially the pillows). Room was large and inviting. Bathroom was nice sized. Great access to the conference center and Olive's was wonderful every morning for breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael W, Manager at Hilton Madison Monona Terrace, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
I am glad that you enjoyed your stay! Olive is a great option for breakfast and evening drinks because it conveniently located off the lobby and next to the sky bridge to the Monona Terrace. I hope to have you as our guest again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neenah, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Stayed at Madison's new Hilton hotel that's connected with Monona Terrace, adapted from Frank Lloyd Wright's vision for the city, and was very pleased with the accommodations, location and staff. The new structure is tastefully sandwiched in between two historic structures with tight but ample parking underground. Like most of the city it pays to plan your route because of all the one way streets, but the location offers great lake views, access to the terrace, and close proximity to some of the finest restaurants Madison has to offer. The lobby decor is minimalist but classic, which makes it look like something Nick and Nora Charles might frequent. Our room was ample, but the location by the elevator made it a little less than quite, an important consideration in a party town like Madison on the weekend. But with that exception we heard nothing from neighboring rooms or other floors, which was a plus. The staff was genuinely friendly, even when passing by while I was getting ice by the vending machine.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the lake will be sunny, and those removed from the elevators will be essential for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael W, Manager at Hilton Madison Monona Terrace, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Thank you for the feedback about your stay. One of our best assets is our location. We are centrally located in downtown Madison giving our guests easy access to the Monona Terrace and all that downtown Madison has to offer. I am very glad that you found our staff friendly, I look forward to sharing your review with our team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hilton Madison Monona Terrace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Madison Monona Terrace

Address: 9 East Wilson Street, Madison, WI 53703
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Madison
#11 Romantic Hotel in Madison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Madison Monona Terrace 3.5*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the beauty of the newly renovated Hilton Madison Monona Terrace. Conveniently located in downtown Madison along the UW Campus, this elegant property is connected by skywalk to the Monona Terrace Convention Center. Choose from a variety of guestrooms and suites with views of the State Capitol or beautiful Lake Monona. Recent upgrades provide an upscale, urban and residential feel to the rooms and public spaces. Check out the new carpeting, in-room safes, mahogany furnishings and multi-charging stations for in-room connectivity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Hilton Madison Monona Terrace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Madison Monona Terrace Hotel Madison
Hilton Hotel Madison
Hilton Monona Terrace Hotel Madison
Madison Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Madison Monona Terrace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.