We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed bag” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Madison Monona Terrace

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Madison Monona Terrace to your Saves list
Hilton Madison Monona Terrace
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   9 East Wilson Street, Madison, WI 53703   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Now and Save 20%
Ranked #20 of 64 Hotels in Madison
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Iowa
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Mixed bag”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

This was my third visit to the Hilton in Madison. The other two stays were pleasant, and I would have rated it a 4-5. This past visit was not so great.
The good: Great location, friendly staff, and nice views of the lake if you have a room pointing that direction.
The bad: This last visit I was given room 316. The amount of noise coming from the water pipes was ridiculous. I don't think I've ever been awakened by the sound of water pipes before. A new experience that I don't wish to repeat.
I'm guessing some rooms are good and have no such noise (my prior two stays I did not experience it) and some rooms aren't so good.
Unfortunately, I can't tell you which rooms do and do not have loud pipes. As I don't like to leave my quality of sleep up to chance, I'm probably going to stay somewhere else next time.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

655 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    336
    191
    81
    29
    18
See reviews for
136
148
39
268
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boulder Junction, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

We were trying to dodge nasty winter weather "up North", and had to hit the road before the storm set in, so we tried to make an on-line reservation (Expedia)...this was one of the "masked" 3.5 star hotels where you pay the money and THEN find out where you're staying. (In our experience, this is usually worth the risk) VERY pleased to stay at this Hilton - comfy beds, well appointed room and facility, and a short walk to State Street and all the delights that are downtown Madison. All staff helpful and courteous. Hope to stay here again soon! Thanks.

Room Tip: We had a room with a State Capital view. Really nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael W, Manager at Hilton Madison Monona Terrace, responded to this review, April 12, 2014
I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us! I hope to have you stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ripon, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

My wife and I had a wonderful stay at this hotel despite the fact that the room advertised a King size bed and in fact, it was only a queen. (but we paid for a king). We had a corner room with wonderful views of the lake. Breakfast was decent. We would stay again, despite the problems we had here.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael W, Manager at Hilton Madison Monona Terrace, responded to this review, April 12, 2014
I am sorry about the confusion with your room type. Our hotel does not have any rooms that have Queen beds, I can promise you that the bed you had during your stay with us was a King bed. While you were not satisfied with your bed I am very pleased that you enjoyed the rest of your room. Thank you for giving us the opportunity to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

Don't get me wrong- this hotel is beautiful. Very upscale, excellent views, and very clean and updated. That being said, I still think comparatively I've stayed at equally nice hotels that have been a better bargain. When we stayed, we had trouble parking. The lot was full and we were directed to park in the Hilton's spots in the Monona Terrace parking garage. However, none of the staff seemed to know which spots were actually for Hilton guests, if we'd be charged, what the parking rules were for overnight, etc. So we took our chances and luckily didn't get ticketed or towed. We had the breakfast buffet in the morning. Usually when I travel I'm used to hotels providing a complimentary breakfast. So we ended up paying 40$ for what I would consider just your average breakfast.
It is right in downtown which is a huge plus for convenience and the pool was a nice amenity. Overall would I stay again? Possibly, but not before shopping around first. It was just sort of eh for the price.

Room Tip: ask for a room overlooking Lake Monona. Excellent view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael W, Manager at Hilton Madison Monona Terrace, responded to this review, April 12, 2014
I am sorry that you did not find our hotel a bargain compared to other hotels you have stayed at but I am happy to hear that you found our location to be a huge plus. Our pricing may be a little higher than some other hotels in Madison because we are the only hotel in Madison with such a convenient location. I would also like to apologize for the confusion with parking. The only parking we control is the parking garage directly under the hotel. While guests can utilize other parking options around the hotel they are required to follow the guidelines of whichever location where they choose to park. I will be speaking with our Front Office Manager to ensure that we are training our staff properly in explaining alternative parking options to our guests. I hope to have the opportunity to have you as our guest again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

I spend a fair amount of time in Madison for work and I prefer to stay at the Hilton due to 1) location 2) brand and 3) level of service. The staff is extremely helpful and often times I can get away without having to rent a car and the shuttle service both too and from the airport as well as to the office has been great. I plan on using the Hilton as my home base while I continue to work in Madison for the next 9 months.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael W, Manager at Hilton Madison Monona Terrace, responded to this review, April 12, 2014
Thank you for the great review and thank you for choosing to make us your home away from home for the next 9 months! I am sure that you will continue to receive the same great service that you have experienced thus far.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhinelander, Wisconsin
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

Top notch hotel. Quick check-in, clean rooms, super comfortable beds, beautiful views and excellent food from room service! Alot of nice touches. If you plan to use a laptop be prepared - there is an extra charge for WI-FI.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael W, Manager at Hilton Madison Monona Terrace, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us! I am pleased to share that we just began offering free WIFI earlier this year. I hope you get a chance to stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

The hotel was very nice and clean. Since this was a business trip, I did not really concern myself with costs, however, I would not be able to afford this if it were leisure. I had dinner in the Hotel restaurant, and for me, by myself, my bill was $80.00. Now this is 1 drink, soup, and a steak. Don't get me wrong, it was very tasty, but a bit overpriced for my preference. Anyway, if you can afford it, I would totally recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael W, Manager at Hilton Madison Monona Terrace, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
I am glad that you found our hotel to be nice and clean! Our housekeeping staff does a great job in keeping our hotel clean. I am sorry that you found our onsite restaurant to be expensive but I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your meal. Thank you for the recommendation and I hope you get the chance to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Madison Monona Terrace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Madison Monona Terrace

Address: 9 East Wilson Street, Madison, WI 53703
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Madison
#11 Romantic Hotel in Madison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Madison Monona Terrace 3.5*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the beauty of the newly renovated Hilton Madison Monona Terrace. Conveniently located in downtown Madison along the UW Campus, this elegant property is connected by skywalk to the Monona Terrace Convention Center. Choose from a variety of guestrooms and suites with views of the State Capitol or beautiful Lake Monona. Recent upgrades provide an upscale, urban and residential feel to the rooms and public spaces. Check out the new carpeting, in-room safes, mahogany furnishings and multi-charging stations for in-room connectivity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Hilton Hotels so you can book your Hilton Madison Monona Terrace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Madison Monona Terrace Hotel Madison
Hilton Hotel Madison
Hilton Monona Terrace Hotel Madison
Madison Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Madison Monona Terrace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.