We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location but average quality” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Madison Monona Terrace

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Madison Monona Terrace to your Saves list
Hilton Madison Monona Terrace
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   9 East Wilson Street, Madison, WI 53703   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Now and Save 20%
Ranked #17 of 63 Hotels in Madison
Seattle, Washington USA
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
“Good location but average quality”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

This is my 2nd stay here for a business trip; this hotel is located in walking distance to many good restaurants and bars as well as attractions. The lobby and the hotel restaurant are airy, bright, and nicely furnished. The rooms I’ve stayed in on both visits, however, have not been so impressive. They’ve both been average and were not good value for the money. I paid $175 a night each time. Both times, my rooms were noisy mainly from the heaters that would just hum all night and unexpectedly make all kinds of loud, jarring mechanical noises. The in-room fridge seem to sing a duet with the heater too so, I just unplugged it. I can’t do the same for the heater unless I want to freeze in that unpleasant Madison winter. Then, there are no slippers or bathrobes; the toiletries are of low quality, and something you’d find in a much cheaper hotel. The pluses are: staff is friendly and professional; breakfast buffet is decent, free in-room wifi, and the convenient location. Overall, nothing charming about the hotel, it's a business/conference hotel. So, I’m not completely enthusiastic about recommending this place unless you get some screaming good rate.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

602 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    306
    177
    74
    27
    18
See reviews for
129
136
37
239
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Danbury, Wisconsin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

Beautiful hotel in the heart of downtown Madison with a great view of the lake. It was steps away from the scenery and lots of great restaurants. The business center had a free color printer. The rooms were very clean and quiet. The staff gave me high quality toiletries since I had forgotten some. The bed was very comfortable. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Great location!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norh aurora ill
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

Stayed Jan. 11 to celebrate my wifes birthday.We picked this hotel for it's pet friendly reviews.We could not have been more impressed.They had a message board at check-in counter and they had vip 4 legged guests for all guests to see.Our dog Kala was welcomed by hotel staff and guests at the hotel sure enjoyed her also.By allowing our dog at hotel made my wifes birthday more special.Hotel also gave us drink vouchers for birthday gift.Room was on a corner overlooking the lake.Would recommend this hotel to every pet owner.They made us feel special by calling her by her name when we walked by.Thank for a most memorable birthday.

Room Tip: Corner room with view of lake the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

we had ten rooms at a good rate. The rooms had wonderful views of the lake or the capital that many of our part commented on. The staff were very helpful and cheerful. Some accommodations we requested were met with "not a problem" and "we can do that for you". Overall we had a wonderful time and an excellent value for the price.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

We stayed in the Presidential Suite and found it to be very spacious. The bedroom, bathroom and living areas overlooked the lake. The bathroom was roomy with a walk in shower, double whirlpool tub, TV in mirror, separate toilet area with heated seat. The king size bed was very comfortable and the pillows were fabulous. The paint was peeling on the windowsill in the bathroom and one roller shade blind was missing in a window. Besides those two things, everything else was perfect.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wautoma, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

I travel extensively for work, and have an aversion to hotels as a result. However, I really enjoyed my time here, and would visit again. It was just as satisfying as being home. I would recommend this location to visitors of Madison, as it has great service and great view for when you are not carousing downtown. It has easy access for your vehicle, or traveling on foot.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

The windows leaked cold are really bad. Gaps between the window so large my fingers fit between them. There is no continental breakfast but a buffet for 17.50/person. No guest laundry. Parking is available but charged $13.00 a night. No true street level parking even though they say it is.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason_Havey, General Manager at Hilton Madison Monona Terrace, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Gary,

Thank you for your review! I can appreciate your comment on the cold, we definitely did test the capacity of our heat exchangers through this cold stretch. I'm happy to say that since your visit we have put another heat exchanger online to ensure the issue you experienced will not be a problem in the future.

Regarding the continental breakfast, we do offer upgrades to our club level which include a complimentary breakfast in our Capitol Club. If you are willing to try our property again I would highly recommend the club level.

Thank you again for the feedback and we hope that you will give us another chance to impress!

Best wishes,

Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Madison Monona Terrace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Madison Monona Terrace

Address: 9 East Wilson Street, Madison, WI 53703
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Madison
#11 Romantic Hotel in Madison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Madison Monona Terrace 3.5*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the beauty of the newly renovated Hilton Madison Monona Terrace. Conveniently located in downtown Madison along the UW Campus, this elegant property is connected by skywalk to the Monona Terrace Convention Center. Choose from a variety of guestrooms and suites with views of the State Capitol or beautiful Lake Monona. Recent upgrades provide an upscale, urban and residential feel to the rooms and public spaces. Check out the new carpeting, in-room safes, mahogany furnishings and multi-charging stations for in-room connectivity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Madison Monona Terrace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Madison Monona Terrace Hotel Madison
Hilton Hotel Madison
Hilton Monona Terrace Hotel Madison
Madison Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Madison Monona Terrace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.